We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hilltop hideaway”
Review of Parkhotel Atlantic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkhotel Atlantic
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We decided to stay here to avoid the noise of the Old City where we had stayed before. The hotel is perched up on the hill overlooking the river and a pleasant walk from the castle. We had a 3 person room and it was beautiful corner room with windows on two sides looking into the woods and a pleasant cross breeze which s fortunate because it was hot. Breakfast was quite good, with great bread, usual collection of meats and cheeses and vegetables, and good collection of cereals. Pleasant staff, and a nice patio where you can sit and have a beer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 159 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

big rooms in "new"buidling which is already a bit agead. However, the surrounding and outside park is nice. Breakfast is not overly bigbut has all that makes it worth to pay 10 Euro extra per person. If you want more ask for it!
Bad experience we made with direct call-in to hotel - stuff was not able to manage to connect people calling from other country to our room ( 2 days- bit strange so). From train station heidelberg altstadt about 1200 m walk, uphill.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hein2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Heidelberg has been a destination of tourism since the 19th century. Its secret is that you can have had - in the Altstadt (historic center) and some traditional parts of the city (Handschuhsheim, Neuenheim) - the feeling that you see the place as your grandgrandparents would have seen it (and as your grandchildren will). Recent developments might work against this. Since I left Heidelberg in the 1990s, the major part of the Altstadt has been transformed in a big beerhallcoffeeshopsouvenirstalls and masses of people are in vain looking for the atmosphere of academia/romaticism.

In order to avoid the Altstadt we booked therefore in the Atlantic which is beyond the Castle in a green and quiet neighborhood. We were happy there and I appreciated the quiet surroundings to do some work and than have a short drive down to the Altstadt.

The hotel is comfortable, not very modern (but you have everything you need) with big spacious rooms (ours with a view over the Neckar Valley). Friend is very friendly and helpful and breakfast is of good quality.

You should have a car/taxi if you want to go down to Heidelberg. The walk is beautiful but takes some 20-30 minutes (through the parl of the Castle and down the steep hill). There is no restaurant in the hotel which is not a problem (provided that there is enough in the Altstadt and around).

Room Tip: Superior rooms are spacious. I would prefer those towards the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoachimBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

After reading earlier reviews, I had second thoughts about choosing this hotel, but in the end it worked out ok and we were pleased with our choice. Our main reason for choosing the Parkhotel Atlantic was the peaceful location, just the sound of the birds in the morning.

We stayed for just the one night as a stopover from the ferry to Austria. The room was large, light and airy, I felt that the photos didn't do it justice. The bed was very comfortable, we had a good nights sleep, there was also a sofa and chair in the room. Our room (11) had a bathroom off our private hall way, there was another room off it, but this is never let out at the same time, unless it's to families. The bath had a handheld shower that was a bit awkward to use, without spraying water all over the place, but we managed for one night. The water pressure was very good though. Complimentary slippers are provided and we both used them for the rest of the holiday.

It is a bit of a walk or drive if you need a meal in the evening, we walked down to the Kulturebrauerei, a brew house/tavern which is below the castle, the beers were very good and the portion size of the meals far too generous. Be warned though from the castle level there are a lot of steps to walk down and back up again - so not for the faint hearted.

Breakfast was continental, and a fair amount of choice.

In all a good start to the holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llanarmonlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Comfortable accommodation in a really natural scenery. A little far away from town (returning on foot gives you a hard time as the hotel is situated up on the hill, near the castle). No AC maybe would be a problem on hot summer days....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houzolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a comfortable, classic (and "classy") hotel that is not pretentious. It is out of the noisy part of Heidelberg, up near the castle and about a mile or 1.5 mile walk. The drive up to the hotel is twisty and narrow, but worth it. Our room was large enough for our bags and the bed was quite ccmfy. The breakfast room is lovely and the food choices excellent.
Our only disappointment was that on the morning of our departure we needed a very early wake-up call, but the hotel staff would not provide it. Hmmmmm...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I don't think many cyclists stay here! It's a good haul up the hill to above the castle, but worth it. The large rooms and outlook into trees all around make this place beautiful. Our one night was too short a stay.
Staff are very good, and the half hour walk to and from the town via the castle is no trouble.
WiFi was excellent.
And the bike trip down the hill? Fantastic.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jones499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
1.2 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#12 of 75 in Heidelberg
230 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Heidelberg
Hotel Heidelberg
#16 of 75 in Heidelberg
247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 75 in Heidelberg
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
#58 of 75 in Heidelberg
16 reviews
1.8 mi away
Exzellenz Hotel
Exzellenz Hotel
#18 of 75 in Heidelberg
128 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Atlantic

Address: Schloss-Wolfsbrunnenweg 23, 69118 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range: $95 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parkhotel Atlantic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parkhotel Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Atlantic Heidelberg
Parkhotel Atlantic Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing