We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel with period features”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Parkhotel Atlantic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkhotel Atlantic
Ranked #44 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Tallinn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel with period features”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with family on our way from Austria to Belgium. It is in a very nice and quiet residential neighbourhood on top of a hill. Very easy to access the schloss and take the funicular to downtown. The main building, art nouveau villa is combined with an extension from later period, perhaps 1960. This extension where we stayed, looked very stylish, with many delightful features representing better design of its time, but fresh and recently renovated. The triple room was large and comfortable, with pleasant furnishings. Breakfast in the main building was fairly generous. Parking on site very limited, but possible in museum courtyard across the street. The street is also safe for parking. Seems to be a business hotel, so weekend rates probably more favourable. The only problem - walls in the extension not very soundproof in case you have noisy neighbour. Service very nice and friendly. Only issue here - they could have known that the funicular to downtown was closed for renovation during our visit. Overall positively memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOI_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    67
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
37
69
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Clean comfortable rooms, very good continental breakfast. Limited parking, relying mostly on-road. Great rates through online booking site - euro 118. Located on the hill above the Schloss/castle, with easy access to the town. Opposite the bosch museum (not so interesting).

Room Tip: No elevator, so best to ask for a ground floor (not basement)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in March. The young man who works the desk was great; we were given rooms 11 and 12 on the top floor- these rooms connect to create a family apartment (there is an exterior door that locks) which is why we chose to stay here. The bigger room had a small couch, writing desk and a big bed (typical European style of two singles pushed together) which was very comfortable. The pillows were great, compared to what we are used to. The smaller room had a true queen bed, which was also comfortable, an en suite toilet and shower (separated). There is another bathroom which had a very large bathtub. Hair dryers are provided, as are slippers! Both rooms had a hot water kettle and a mini fridge, which we were happy to see. Wifi worked great (the code is in the book in the room) and breakfast was good- classic German breakfast (yogurt, cereals, meats, cheeses, breads, coffees/cappuccinos, hard boiled eggs and fruit). Light snacks (soups, salads etc.) are available until 9. The closest place to eat is maybe a 1 or 2 minute drive, but is not ideal for toddlers (think linen and candles!).

Parking, as noted in other reviews, was a little tight- we luckily scored one of the four spots in front of the hotel- but, were given a key to the lot across the street in the event that we would did not get a spot.

Note that our GPS had no trouble getting to the location, but the road we initially took to the hotel was closed due to construction, so we had turn around, go down the mountain and back up again. It may be worth asking the hotel about that. Hotel is about a 3 minute drive to the parking for the castle- we opted to drive as we had a toddler in a stroller.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tripchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed here one night in October 2010. Our room was almost unbelievably large- likely the biggest room I've ever stayed in anywhere. And it was very clean and comfortable, with an entire wall of windows to let in the natural light and a nice view of the wooded neighborhood. There is satellite TV and free Wifi, plus a minibar with reasonably priced options. Free parking is available.

The breakfast was truly outstanding- a great spread of wonderful, fresh foods. I wish I had been able to eat more!

We were treated very well and would definitely stay here again. The only downside is that the hotel is not in the main part of Heidelberg, but is instead on the side of a mountain above the castle. However, the location is beautiful and a minor inconvenience unless you must walk everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJeffW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

Lovely calm old villa. We were upgraded to a wonderful room with its own conservatory extension. Excellent outlook over forests. Very comfortable bed. Bathroom fine, but looking just a little faded. Excellent breakfast. Good welcome.

Only downside is the access on rather tortuous narrow roads behind the castle. Hard to find, as not signposted until the last minute if you come in the "back way", i.e. not from the town centre, as we did.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

We spent one night here on the recommendation of a friend who lives in Heidelberg - as she promised, the setting is gorgeous and they had a family room in the new wing that was convenient for us (one big room in the top floor, like an attic). However, the extra bed can be a little short for teenagers and it was warm at night, although they provided a fan (no a/c). Nice bathroom and kitchenette so probably good for young families. Sporadic wireless access and basic continental breakfast. Parking across at the Carl Bosch museum is fine - we didn't get to see the museum as it was closed on Thursday's but looked like a neat building. As others said, the location is peculiar, so if you want to be in town, this isn't the place. We liked it, though - there is a very nice German/int'l restaurant about 15-20" walk away - 'S Kastanje, excellent food, traditional decor but with a modern twist, and great value for money - the four of us ate a lot of food for 60 euros.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

This visit makes my third stay at the Parkhotel Atlantic. The location is a bit difficult to find, but once there you cannot beat the location or the view. We were treated to a wonderful suite on the second floor. Breakfast is excellent, and the staff are extremely helpful. The wonderful old schloss is within easy walking distance and you can take the funicular into downtown Heidelberg. Definitely worth the drive up the hill!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Heidelberg
Hotel Heidelberg
#14 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#12 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Auerstein Heidelberg
Hotel Auerstein Heidelberg
#48 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
3.3 mi away
ISG Hotel Heidelberg
ISG Hotel Heidelberg
#36 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
#52 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Atlantic

Property: Parkhotel Atlantic
Address: Schloss-Wolfsbrunnen-Weg 23, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parkhotel Atlantic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parkhotel Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Atlantic Heidelberg
Parkhotel Atlantic Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing