We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
213 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

I used to stay often in this hotel, though my last 3 nights stay was truly disappointing. when I arrived, I noticed that I made a mistake in the reservation (my mistake, not Marriott). They gave me a room anyway at standard prices (160 Euro without breakfast) and there were only smoker rooms available. To my big surprise is still half of the rooms in this hotel smoker rooms. I got a room which smells like the smokers lounge of an airport. The whole bathroom was full of brown spots of people putting their cigarette on the bath or on the washtable. Very unpleasant. I am a Platinum member and I do not recall any Marriott Smokers hotel. Really bad, Marriott. I guess the GM must be a smoker :)

The next morning, I was in the gym. Though, half of the equipment was either not connected or out of service. I still found a running belt which worked but all other people left quite disappointed. The place looked like a museum of fitness machines. Not good, Marriott.

I have to say that the people are doing their best and the service as such is really good. also the terrace of the exec lounge is great. This motivates me to give 3 stars, though I am really generous here. I stayed here many times, but this is not anymore matching my quality standards.

As a Platinum member, I never got a room at the exec floor which is quite surprising. When I walked to the exec lounge early in the morning, I saw at every door "USA Today". Do you need an american passport to have a room at the exec floor here ? Or did I have the wrong impression ?

I am a faithfull Marriott customer, but this experience was a truly negative one. I guess this hotel has a management issue.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tk100964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    393
    132
    40
    14
See reviews for
146
247
39
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

This is a good business quality hotel, but make sure your room doesn't face the street. Despite the double glazing, noise from the street still penetrates the room.

The hotel's location is away from the old town where most of the visitor attractions can be found, although its an easy 15-20 minute walk, which is OK if its not hot, unlike last week, when the heat was high. Access to transport is easy, with a tram stop (Betriebshof) five minutes away, and the main train station another five minutes again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Syd2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

STRENGHTS: Sleeping comfort, breakfast, cleanliness. Located close to Neckar River- not far away from Old Town
WEAKNESSES: Bathrooms could be slightly renovated but it is still OK.

General opinion: Good choice for reasonable "tourist" price

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Collector582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siegen, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

I had been invited by one of our customers to attend a conference in Mannheim and was at first slightly worried about commuting when I received information on the hotel being located in Heidelberg.

Fortunately the hotel is easy to find and quite close to the Heidelberg train station (about a 5 minute footwalk or 5 minute drive by taxi). The S-Bahn commuter train takes you to Mannheim within 15-20 minutes.

The hotel is located right next to the Neckar with a lot of rooms having a spectacular view (I guess, as my standard room was located on the street side). Unfortunately the hotel´s good traffic connection I mentioned above turned out to be one of the downsides of my room. The street in front of the hotel is ...veeery... busy with lots of cars & trucks till 11 pm and again from 5 am. Keeping a window open was a mistake I only made in the first night, even though I prefer an opened window at night.

The service was impeccable, staff was very friendly & helpful. The breakfast buffet was impressive and sufficient enough to cause havoc with your blood lipid levels. Additionally, if you get up early or take a run towels, juice and ice water are provided in the lobby from as early as 5 am.

As is often the custom, both wired and wireless internet access is way overpriced (I don´t remember exact figures, but it was > 10 € / day).

Unfortunately I did not have any time to explore Heidelberg at all, as the hotel´s location is a well-located base to explore all of Heidelberg´s attractions.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
466 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

We chose the Marriott as it had a good rate over Easter and offered parking, which elsewhere in town could be problematic. As always, the Marriott staff is well trained and multilingual. They offered good sightseeing advice and information on public transportation (the tram to the city center is your best bet, but be careful late at night when you return as the wait between trams can be quite long). Our room was comfortable, well maintained, and the whole hotel in good shape. On Easter Sunday morning we came out of the room to find a chocolate bunny and American news excerpts waiting for us. Breakfast was a ridiculously large selection! But get it included in your room rate, as otherwise it's terribly expensive. The parking garage was convenient but, like most Marriotts in Germany, on the expensive side.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EC13091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

The hotel was of average quality. Bed was comfortable and room was big. Location was a 5-8 minute walk to the train station and about a 10 minute walk to the trams and buses. There is not really anything to speak of around the hotel except a park which is about a 10 minute walk away. The hotel is directly on the Neckar river which is pretty but not awe-inspiring. The hotel didn't go out of their way to make us happy even though we're platinum with Marriott. Overall a decent experience.

The restaurant that faces the river was however a different experience all together. We decided to eat out on the patio and have an early dinner for European standards. We were one of only 3 tables there so we thought we'd have a quick meal. The service was OUTRAGEOUS! We cancelled our food order after waiting for an hour (not exaggerating!). The wait staff appeared to think that cancelling was a ridiculous idea and was completely rude to us.
Overall I would recommend this hotel if you don't mind walking a bit to get to transportation but steer clear of the restaurant :)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

Was a little unsure after reading some unfavourable reviews from the past, however the Mariott was a fine hotel with everything taken care of professionally. Excellent staff, service and good rooms. Location is a little out of the way but a very easy walk to the old town area along the river. Close to trams, and easy car acsess. Room was very hot (as are most hotels in Germany for some reason) and the only way to cool things down was by leaving the window open - unfortunately the traffic noise (from the busy road outside) was the only downside. Car parking was expensive.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Moonduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.5 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
1.6 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Property: Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Address: Vangerowstrasse 16, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heidelberg Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Neckar River, the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel offers a seamless blend of traditional elegance and modern comfort. Located in one of Germany's most scenic cities, we boast ideal access to Heidelberg Castle and the streets of the Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Heidelberg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Heidelberg
Heidelberg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing