We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice comfy beds! Wifi free in lobby only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice comfy beds! Wifi free in lobby only”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Lots and lots of pillows, the bed was so comfortable, hotel is in a great location, close to walk to a gas station for drinks and snacks.

Don't eat at the hotel restaurant...service is HORRIBLE. (Go look for my review).

Free wifi in the lobby only and it is pretty slow.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikechik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Nikechik,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry that you experienced so many troubles in our restaurant and we kindly ask you to accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that occurred. Please be assured that your feedback has been discussed with the restaurant management and will put a focus on training our associates in the areas mentioned.

We are glad that apart from your unfortunate experience in our restaurant you apparently enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our typical Marriott bedding as well as of our beautiful location directly at the river side.

We thank you once again for your feedback and wish you many further enjoyable travels.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    397
    135
    41
    14
See reviews for
147
250
39
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

The only downside to this hotel would be the location... About 6 km from the old town but that is compensated with a boat ride on the hour down the river on a small ferry.
This Hotel has wonderful views, a good restaurant and exceptional staff. The bathroom is small but very functional and clean . Good to have tea and coffee facilities too

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive club room for access to breakfast happy hour tea and coffee with a great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollyddraws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear dollyddraws,

We are pleased that you had such a nice experience at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel and would like to thank you very much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

The boat ride is definitely worth a try and we are glad to read that you did so. Your commending words in regards to our staff, especially at the Front Desk are very much appreciated, and we would be delighted if we might welcome you back again for another stay in the near future.

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Level Contributor
317 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Typical of Marriott properties, this hotel is clean, comfortable and located convenient to nearby attractions. Although there are a handful of smaller B&B-type hotels nearer the old town, the rooms are not nearly as nice and the noise level is annoying. So, rest assured that you will not get a better all-around deal. The only negative, which could be easily fixed is that smokers congregate at the entrances/exits. One of the key perks of all Marriott hotels is that they are non-smoking. To have to pass the gauntlet of carcinogens and stink reduces the hotel's appeal. Similarly, the lounge (small but comfortable) has a lovely balcony that was often taken over by smokers.If this hotel would send smokers away from places where they hurt others, this hotel would be closer to a 5-star.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms nearer the river side. The street side (city side) can be riddled with ambulances blar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRWMETMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear DRWMETMAN,

Thank you very much for choosing the Marriott Hotel for your stay in Heidelberg and for taking the time to review that stay on TripAdvisor.

We were pleased to read that you had a nice time in Heidelberg enjoying the location of the hotel and the comfortable rooms as well as the friendliness of our staff, of whom we are very proud. We are sorry that you have been troubled by smokers smoking close to the main entrance and on the terrace of the Executive Lounge, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. Please be assured that your concerns in that regard have been certainly shared with the management.

We truly hope that we might welcome you again to the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel whenever your travels might bring you back into the area.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

The Marriott is in a great location for a business stay. Great area to walk along the river or into town. A lot of great resturaunts in the area. Including the dining at the hotel itself. Good gym and general historical area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jmke062880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear jmke062880,

Thank you very much for rating your recent stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and our restaurant “Grill 16”.

We hope that we might serve you again in the near future, maybe for a leisure rather than a business stay, and we wish you many further enjoyable trips in the meantime.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giessen, Germany
Level Contributor
184 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed in the Marriott Heidelberg in January 2014, for two nights, for business. Overall, a pretty average stay. My biggest irritation was the price! €240 per night, for a very small room, and access to a very small executive lounge! The staff were very friendly, and kind, and the beds, like all Marriott beds, were glorious. But this was tempered by the cost. Additionally, the rooms, even the executive rooms, are tiny! Any (mine at least) entirely without a view of the river. The executive lounge was very small, and quite cramped at mealtimes. The snack and drink selection was quite limited. I had an irritating end to the stay: as asked the check-out staff if I get any discount on internet access with my silver Marriott rewards card, and got told yes, and had the charge removed form the statement. Then I got an angry email, stating that I had not paid the charge, and that the charge was not being charged to my credit card. This irritated me, since this was a mistake by the hotel staff, not me. I did clarify by email, and the charge was waived, but nevertheless, this was a waste of time, and on top of the €240/night charge, a bit much to swallow.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryMorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear RoryMorty,

Thank you very much for your detailed description of a stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel in January this year.

While we are pleased that you enjoyed our great Marriott bedding and the friendliness of our associates, we are very sorry that you were unhappy in regards to the equipment and the location of the room, as well as with the services provided in our Executive Lounge.
We also apologize for any inconvenience caused due to the misunderstanding and miscommunication in regards to the internet charges.

Please be assured that we have addressed all of your concerns with the appropriate associates and management. We would certainly like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations,
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed as a family requesting our 2 rooms to be next door. How please were we, when we checked into our interconnecting rooms, complete with balcony overlooking Heidelberg and the river. The front office staff were so helpful and accommodating I felt compelled to treat them to some local chocolate as a thank you. We stayed for 2 nights and ate breakfast on both days, a relaxing breakfast with a great view. As I expected from previous reviews I had read, the town was quite a walk from the Old town, but we managed it on both days along the river. Too tired to walk into town on the last night we decided to eat in the small German style bar area. Nice to see German dishes on offer at reasonable prices. Only one negative the boys went for a swim but didn't stay long as the water was too cold. WE thoroughly enjoyed our stay and shall return at some point. On reaching our next hotel, my son realized he had left his adapter and phone charger in the room. It arrived this morning, boxed up safely .Thank you Heidelberg Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Sue G,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for choosing the Marriott Hotel for your stay in Heidelberg and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to read your commending words in regards to our staff and services, and we are glad that you truly liked the rooms we have assigned. While we are very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the water in the pool being apparently too cold, we are very happy that you had such a nice time in Heidelberg and that you enjoyed the food in our “Pinte” bar.

We hope that we might welcome you back soon and wish you many further pleasant travels in the meantime.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the old part of town, but it is right on the river, and the walk is a pleasant one. The hotel itself was quite clean, and the staff was very friendly. The restaurant inside was quite good, and the prices were fairly reasonable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Jason C,

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel and we thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again whenever your travels might bring you back to the area.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.5 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.4 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Property: Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Address: Vangerowstrasse 16, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heidelberg Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Neckar River, the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel offers a seamless blend of traditional elegance and modern comfort. Located in one of Germany's most scenic cities, we boast ideal access to Heidelberg Castle and the streets of the Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heidelberg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Heidelberg
Heidelberg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing