We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice choice outside of City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you are not determined to stay in the city center area, the Marriott is a solid choice.

Points to note:
1. Parking is 20 euro per day. I agree this is expensive but it is not actually dissimilar to other hotels in Germany and Heidelberg. The underground parking is convenient to get to elevator into the hotel with in/out privileges during the day.

2. Location is definitely a hike to the Bismarkplatz/Marketplatz areas but options to get there are easy and plentiful. Aside from buses and a tram which I know are available, we took a taxi to Bismarkplatz one day (10 euro one way) and parked at the #12 parking garage another day (5euro). This is especially convenient if you want to visit the castle as the funicular departs from the #12 garage.

3. The service was great. All of our requests were met with quickness and a smile.

4. I did not find the hotel run down. I thought it was well decorated and clean.

5. If you have a club room, the executive lounge is worth it. It provides a very filling breakfast (normally not included in the room rate), cakes in the afternoon, and appetizers/liquor in the evening. Free drinks are also available all day.

6. I do agree that the price of 12 euro per day for wi-fi is poor. Throughout my 10 day trip throughout Germany, this was the only hotel that did not provide wi-fi for free. The Marrioitt should reevaluate this.

All in all, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfoolIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear travelfoolIndiana,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback on your stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your trip to Heidelberg, and your kind words about our service are very much appreciated.

Your description about how to get from the hotel to the city center will be certainly of great help to other travellers, and your comment about the cost for an internet connection has been shared with the management.

We look forward to welcoming you once again whenever you and your family will be back in the area.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 905 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed here as part of a tour. Check in staff were very pleasant.The room was a good size and very comfortable. The bathroom, though reasonably sized was a little dated. Everything was clean. The breakfast was very nice and had a lovely view. The hotel is located reasonably close to the train station but not very close to Heidelberg centre.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thewearyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear thewearyone,

Thank you for staying at the Marriott Hotel. We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay in Heidelberg.

We appreciate the time you took for rating us on TripAdvisor and would be glad to welcome you back whenever you may be in this area again.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations,
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in January 2013 towards the end of a five week European holiday. To be frank, this hotel may have been considered modern and impressive thirty years ago but it is a long way from that now. It is run down inside and out and not at all conveniently located to the old town, shops or restaurants. Despite this, the room prices are very high and parking in the hotel's own underground car park costs a whopping 20 euros per night. Unlike every other hotel we stayed at with a pool in Europe, this hotel provides no bathrobes nor slippers in the room. Instant coffee and a kettle was provided but not replenished with plastic stirrers instead of spoons. The hotel does have a restaurant, which we didn't eat at given the menu was so limited it didn't offer one vegetarian dish. On top of every other disappointing aspect, the hotel charges 12.50 euro per day just to access it wireless network. Despite all of the above, the hotel does seem to attract many many persons of Indian origin for reasons that are unclear to us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear sdawson,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your insights on your stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel.

Though our hotel is located directly on the Neckar river and about 5 to 10 minutes by public transportation from most of Heidelberg’s beautiful sights, including the city center and the castle, we are very sorry that neither the hotel building nor it’s location has been up to your expectations, and that our pricing has not been up to your liking.

Of course we appreciate your feedback and wish you for the future many safe travels.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed there a short stay for business travelling by car. The hotel is clean, the hotel staff tries to be friendly, even they look unexperienced. The club lounge experience was so so. I've seen already better and more modern lounges. There was nearly no service personell.
The room was a bit old fashioned and standard. The hotel is very spacious and is located outside the centre, but easy to find.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mba4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear mba4u,

Thank you for staying at the Marriott Hotel while in Heidelberg and for sharing your opinion.

We appreciate the time you spend on rating us on TripAdvisor and would be glad to welcome you back for another stay.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations,
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great place to stay. Staff is friendly. Hotel was very clean. Right outside the Restaurant, which had great food and service, there is a Dock for a boat going to Heidelberg. To bad the staff did not realize that it had shut down for the winter the night before we came. We purchased a Heidelberg ticket, which gave us access to the public transportation and the Castle Rail going up to the Castle.

Room Tip: On the river side looking towards the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eek556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear eek556,

Your kind words are very much appreciated and we would like to thank you for making the Heidelberg Marriott the hotel of your choice.

We are sorry that you did not get the opportunity to use the ferry boat to go downtown, but we are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time in Heidelberg.

Whenever your travels might bring you back to the area, we would be more than happy to welcome you back again at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Just back from Heidelberg, stayed in the Marriott hotel for one night. Hotel was clean and comfortable and staff on reception all spoke English and were very helpful. This hotel is a 15 minute walk along the river from the old town ie the place you will want to go. A taxi to the old town costs between 8 and 10 euro, so if you are not a walker, factor in taxi costs! There are no coffee shops in the immediate area, however there is a service station across the road, advertising a deli to go (did not try it) and a short almost ten minute walk, brings you to a bakery that has limited eat-in facilities. A coffee and pastry was about e3 and they were delicious!

My room rate was good and with breakfast for e3 in the bakery, my stay was very good value for money. I was lucky with the weather, cold and sunny, so the walk into town was refreshing and pleasant, maybe not so if it had rained or been snowing!

There is a shuttle bus from terminal 1 in Frankfurt airport to the Crowne Plaza hotel in Heidelberg, you can book online before you go and it is so easy to use.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007Elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear 007Elle,

First of all we would like to thank you for staying at the Marriott Hotel during your trip to Heidelberg. We also appreciate you taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor.

Your kind words regarding our staff and service are very valuable. Of course we will share them with our team, and we are sure that your description will be of help to any traveller planning to stay in Heidelberg.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your however short stay in Heidelberg and would be delighted if we might welcome you back for another stay in the near future.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel was great and the staff were very friendly. it's a little expensive but we went in Dec which is a high season. However if you plan on spending a lot of your time in the Old Town it's better to book a hotel in that area as it's a long walk to make every day and especially in the Dec cold weather. the hotel was located close to the river and so we enjoyed the walks for couple of days but going to old town walking every day was tiring so we ended up taking the bus on the 3rd day plus it was raining.
the breakfast at the hotel was really good compared to other hotels i've stayed at but then again the price was higher but i guess that's how it is in europe. My only take on the breakfast was that it was the same every day. we stayed there for 5 days so it was getting tiring eating the same food every morning.
There are no resturant in the hotel. there's a bar that serves snacks and drinks. The one disadvantage of the location is there are no food outlets close by. There's an indian restaurant within 4 minutes walk but aside from that there's nothing else.
we liked the hotel though and it was a 10 minute walk from the train station which is always convenient for us

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shatha77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Shatha77,

Your kind words about our hotel and our associates are very much appreciated.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and have shared your comment about the missing variety of the breakfast buffet with the Chef and the Restaurant Management in order to review the set-up.

Should your travels bring you back to Heidelberg, we would be more than pleased if you would make the Marriott Hotel once again the hotel of your choice.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.5 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#11 of 75 in Heidelberg
1,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#7 of 75 in Heidelberg
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 75 in Heidelberg
530 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Heidelberg Suites - Small Luxury Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Address: Vangerowstr. 16, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#9 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range: $123 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heidelberg Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Neckar River, the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel offers a seamless blend of traditional elegance and modern comfort. Located in one of Germany's most scenic cities, we boast ideal access to Heidelberg Castle and the streets of the Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heidelberg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Heidelberg
Heidelberg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing