We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fantastic visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Another fantastic visit!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband, son (age 23) and I just enjoyed two wonderful nights here. Check in was very fast and smooth, the rooms were ready and immaculate. The next morning, our son was feeling quite sick. The lounge staff was very gracious with ginger-ale and crackers and housekeeping came in as soon as I asked to freshen up so that he could rest uninterrupted. That evening, we enjoyed dinner in Grill 16, even being allowed to choose offerings from Pinte's menu. This hotel has a terrific staff that is dedicated to the guest's comfort! The location is great, we had a pleasant walk to Old Town and our rooms had a great views of the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOarmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear GOarmywife,

Thank you very much for once again choosing the Marriott Hotel for your stay in Heidelberg, and for rating us on Tripadvisor.

We are glad and very proud to learn that you and your family truly enjoyed your stay and will definitely share your very positive feedback about our service with our associates.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel.

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    398
    137
    41
    15
See reviews for
147
251
39
283
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The check in process was efficient once you got to the desk. It is a busy hotel yet well staffed. The steakhouse serves great food for breakfast and dinner. The room was clean and comfortable although the bed was a bit too firm after a few nights.

The fitness center was big and had various equipment to select from. There is a nice walking trail just outside along the river.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eldelil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Eldelil,

Thank you very much for staying at the Marriott Hotel while in Heidelberg and sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to read that you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed our food offerings in our restaurant “Grill 16”.

Should your travels bring you back to Heidelberg, we would be more than pleased if you would make the Marriott Hotel once again the hotel of your choice.

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not very modern from outside, but the quality inside this hotel is good.
Located at a beautiful place, just near the Neckar river with a great view.
City center is on walking distance, not very close, but duable.
Friendly staff, nice food and one I will never forget: WONDERFUL BEDS!!!
Definitely coming back when visiting Heidelberg as leisure destination next time.

Room Tip: Request Neckar view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 89Lucas89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear 89Lucas89,

We were very pleased to read your positive feedback in regards to your recent stay with us and would like to thank you for making the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel the hotel of your choice.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel.

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This Marriott is a nice one. Has a pool and a gym with good equipment. Beautiful setting on the Neckar River. It is not outside of town. It is in Heidelberg. A 20 minute walk to the COMMERCIAL district. You can choose a c ity route and look at the old world architecture or the river walk and have a more pastoral (romantic) experience.

I welcomed the walk into the busier area. The exercise was welcome on my business trip.

I would gladly return. I enjoyed the river view from my room.

The hotel is not dark and cavernous. It's fine. A very good hotel. Great servcie from Ricardo and Steffan.

The breakfast buffet has lots of choice. German breads, smoked salmon, fruit. Made to order omellettes. I found out that Germans don't do fried eggs well. Skip those.

I never ate dinner there. Might be good, but I suspect you will find better fare on the outside.

Nice bar with German pub atmosphere. Had a different draft beer eevery night. The bar menu could be improved. Nothing struck me as worth ordering.

Down side:
1 no safe in my room. I find this unacceptable.
2 One computer in business centre not working and not fixed promptly.
3 Lots of American clientele. I was surprised to be in Germany and no Germans staying there.
4 Charge for water. Give guests a couple of bottles of water a day, please. Without charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChipBarkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear ChipBarkel,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
We also appreciate that you did provide us with additional information directly by responding to our Guest Satisfaction Survey. This really helped us to effectively address all items you have kindly brought to our attention.

Your detailed description of the hotel and its surroundings is certainly very helpful to other travellers who are planning a visit to Heidelberg.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate your feedback. Should your travels bring you back to Heidelberg we would be more than happy to welcome you once again at the Marriott Hotel.

Guest Relations,
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
574 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a very nice hotel located right at the Neckar river.
The breakfast is served at the restaurant room which faces the river and even has some places for seating outside in case the weather cooperates.
During the summer months the restaurant is very crowded during breakfast, so I suggest you go early to avoid the crowd.
If you decide to dine in the restaurant and opt for the lamb, make sure you clearly specify how you want it cooked since the waiter may not ask like it happened to me the other night and I got a completely raw piece of lamb chop, which was kind of disgusting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Creek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Bob_Creek,

Thank you for staying at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel and for rating us on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is much appreciated and we were very sorry to read that the food preparation during dinner has not met your expectation.

We can assure you that your comment has been discussed with the Executive Chef and we would be glad to welcome you for another stay at the Marriott Hotel in case your travel will bring you back to the area.

We wish you safe travels and many great Marriott stays.

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We reserved a room and when we settled into it we were stunned that it did not have a safe. When I requested a different room with a safe, I was told it was available but was 50 euro per night more that the room I had. I was stunned that this hotel just doesn't include a safe in every room.

At check-in our room was not ready which was also disappointing.

Otherwise it was a typical Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musteau W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We Just needed a room to sleep after a road trip to Heidelberg. The hotel is a bit old, need refurbishment. The location and view is nice. Staff were ok, food need improvement. Parking is expensive.Club Lounge food was desapointing and not up to the level of Marriott

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Elisabeth D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel.

We are very sorry that you have been diappointed by our food offerings and would be glad if you would send some more information in that regard to guestrelations.heidelberg@marriott.com.
That would help us to review this issue with our food & beverage management and get back to you.

We are looking forward to hearing from you.

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.5 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.4 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Property: Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Address: Vangerowstr. 16, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heidelberg Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Neckar River, the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel offers a seamless blend of traditional elegance and modern comfort. Located in one of Germany's most scenic cities, we boast ideal access to Heidelberg Castle and the streets of the Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Heidelberg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Heidelberg
Heidelberg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing