We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bloody Lamb” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
574 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Bloody Lamb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a very nice hotel located right at the Neckar river.
The breakfast is served at the restaurant room which faces the river and even has some places for seating outside in case the weather cooperates.
During the summer months the restaurant is very crowded during breakfast, so I suggest you go early to avoid the crowd.
If you decide to dine in the restaurant and opt for the lamb, make sure you clearly specify how you want it cooked since the waiter may not ask like it happened to me the other night and I got a completely raw piece of lamb chop, which was kind of disgusting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Creek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Bob_Creek,

Thank you for staying at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel and for rating us on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is much appreciated and we were very sorry to read that the food preparation during dinner has not met your expectation.

We can assure you that your comment has been discussed with the Executive Chef and we would be glad to welcome you for another stay at the Marriott Hotel in case your travel will bring you back to the area.

We wish you safe travels and many great Marriott stays.

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    393
    132
    40
    14
See reviews for
146
247
39
272
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We reserved a room and when we settled into it we were stunned that it did not have a safe. When I requested a different room with a safe, I was told it was available but was 50 euro per night more that the room I had. I was stunned that this hotel just doesn't include a safe in every room.

At check-in our room was not ready which was also disappointing.

Otherwise it was a typical Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musteau W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We Just needed a room to sleep after a road trip to Heidelberg. The hotel is a bit old, need refurbishment. The location and view is nice. Staff were ok, food need improvement. Parking is expensive.Club Lounge food was desapointing and not up to the level of Marriott

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Elisabeth D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel.

We are very sorry that you have been diappointed by our food offerings and would be glad if you would send some more information in that regard to guestrelations.heidelberg@marriott.com.
That would help us to review this issue with our food & beverage management and get back to you.

We are looking forward to hearing from you.

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way through Germany. We have stayed at many Marriott hotels and have always been very happy. I have to say that my first impressions when we arrived here were not that positive. The hotel felt cavernous, old, dark and heavy. This may have been due the fact that our previous nights had been in the South of France and Italy with plenty of sunshine and as we got further away, the weather got worse.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and quickly got us settled into our room. Then my partner and 3 yo son went off for a swim, but as we had found in Europe, heated pools are usually lukewarm and not like what we are used to, so the swim didn't last for too long. We had a car so thought about going out for dinner but were too tired, so we ended up eating at the little bar to the left as you enter the hotel as there was a soccer match my partner wanted to watch. It was a great decision. The bar was intimate, casual, warm and very inviting and the food was delicious. The barman/waiter was provided great local information and was also enjoyable to talk to, making sure my son was occupied and happy during the meal.

Our sleep was very quiet that night and as we are used to in Marriott hotels, the beds were very comfortable.

We skipped breakfast at the hotel, instead choosing to go to the centre of town and have a look around, walking along what we were told is the longest mall in Europe. Having walked most of it, I'd agree. We drove and parked close, but I'm told that you can catch the tram and it's quite easy. The shops in Heidelberg were great and I wish we'd had more time to have a look. We did end up buying a couple of presents in the Villeroy and Boch shop for a great price though. The Church of the Holy Ghost is amazing and definitely worth seeing. I wish we had made it to the castle. The homes along the Neckar River are beautiful and definitely worth a look.

By the time we had left Heidelberg, I had warmed to the city and felt that although the hotel was a little far out, it had its own charm also and was a bit majestic. I could have stayed a few more days to really enjoy our stay further.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all rooms look onto the river, but if not, get one. It's worth the view to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank culturaltripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidelbergMarriott, Guest Relations at Heidelberg Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear culturaltripper,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Marriott Hotel for your visit to Heidelberg. Your detailed review is very much appreciated and will certainly be of great help for anyone travelling to Heidelberg.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back for another stay if your travels should bring you back to Heidelberg.

We wish you safe travels and many great Marriott stays.

Guest Relations
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel, I asked for a quiet room with a good view and that is exactly what we received. Price was around $225 euros per night but the Marriott quality we expect when traveling in Europe was there. Excellent bathroom, bed, linens, pillows, TV, air conditioning/ventilation, etc.
couple of small caveats. - parking is underground lot, extremely tight and the front desk did not give me my parking pass when I checked in, so I couldn't get out without walking back to the front desk.
we were given the advice by the front desk to take the water taxi into town. This is ok for a site see, but the walk back is 45 minutes and can be a pain. We drove into town the next day and parked in one of many underground lots in old city and had a much better experience.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room with a river view ask for your parking pass when you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank easyrider_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed for two nights. The hotel was clean, the staff was polite, the executive lounge was average. We were expecting more for the price but it was fine. It is 5 minutes from the castle and old town. Be sure you know where you are going in German or the taxi drivers will not get you there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sshamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonderange, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

good location at the end of the highway not to far away from the city you may use the tram
hotel good average but not extraordinary
breakfast good and complet but overpriced rooms small front desk polite

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.5 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#7 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
1.6 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Property: Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Address: Vangerowstrasse 16, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heidelberg Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Neckar River, the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel offers a seamless blend of traditional elegance and modern comfort. Located in one of Germany's most scenic cities, we boast ideal access to Heidelberg Castle and the streets of the Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Heidelberg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Heidelberg
Heidelberg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing