We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with a great river view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel, I asked for a quiet room with a good view and that is exactly what we received. Price was around $225 euros per night but the Marriott quality we expect when traveling in Europe was there. Excellent bathroom, bed, linens, pillows, TV, air conditioning/ventilation, etc.
couple of small caveats. - parking is underground lot, extremely tight and the front desk did not give me my parking pass when I checked in, so I couldn't get out without walking back to the front desk.
we were given the advice by the front desk to take the water taxi into town. This is ok for a site see, but the walk back is 45 minutes and can be a pain. We drove into town the next day and parked in one of many underground lots in old city and had a much better experience.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room with a river view ask for your parking pass when you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easyrider_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 905 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed for two nights. The hotel was clean, the staff was polite, the executive lounge was average. We were expecting more for the price but it was fine. It is 5 minutes from the castle and old town. Be sure you know where you are going in German or the taxi drivers will not get you there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sshamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

good location at the end of the highway not to far away from the city you may use the tram
hotel good average but not extraordinary
breakfast good and complet but overpriced rooms small front desk polite

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We are on holiday for 2 weeks traveling central Europe. Now let me say by way of disclaimer, I am a lifetime Marriott Platinum, and I have made a living out of staying in M properties and know what good service looks like. The front desk is polite and professional but not overly prone to great over the top service. I asked for a list of local restaurants and the answer I got was try old town. Now granted old town is why we come to Heidelberg, but it was raining and I didn't want to walk or drive. The in house steak restaurant is grossly over priced for the value so we ended up driving to old town. If possible get a room on the river side and have a dinner game plan before you arrive.

Room Tip: Ask for river side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwalken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Pros:
location, right on the river with it's own water taxi stop.
room sizes are pretty big for Europe.
service is excellent

Cons:
Breakfast buffets are overpriced somewhat (22 euros) and if you want eggs, forget about it, there is one station, with one pan, and a cook is at that one pan only randomly! Saw people wait there for 10 minutes to get a fried egg :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

LOCATION - the hotel is located at the western entrance to Heidelberg, a few minutes off the main highway, so is very convenient if using Heidelberg as a hub for day trips. However, it is a good 20-25 minute walk to the pedestrian mall, but one block away is the tram which is frequent and easy to use. There are no restaurants, shops or services in the area of the hotel at all and it is quite deserted at night, but we felt secure.
PARKING - EUR 19 per day. We easily found free parking on the street very close to the hotel.
ROOM - as expected from a Marriott - good size room and bathroom, spotlessly clean, good curtains to keep out light, small sitting area with desk, lots of electric points to charge devices, very comfortable beds, linen, pillows and duvet. (It was also the only hotel in Germany that we stayed at that a "double bed" is really a double bed and not 2 singles pushed together!)
TV - big flat screen, clear picture, good channels in all languages. Pay-per-view not available.
INTERNET - The hotel does not have its own WIFI, but uses a HOT-SPOT of "My Cloud". This means that ONLY ONE DEVICE CAN BE CONNECTED AT ONE TIME. In addition, if you use a smartphone you have to wait 15 minutes before you can sign in with your laptop. As we were 2 people, each with a smartphone and a laptop it was EXTREMELY UNSUITABLE AND INCONVENIENT that we could not each our devices simultaneously. It is also expensive, so would expect full service internet as in most hotels today.
RESTAURANT - we did not eat at the restaurant. If not included in rate breakfast is EUR 21 per person so was not suitable for us. We did not eat dinner. The restaurant has a beautiful outdoor eating area, overlooking the river.
STAFF - EXCELLENT - every single person we talked to spoke excellent English, were extremely friendly, very helpful with suggestions for restaurants, shopping, sightseeing, etc. Check-in and check-out was easy, fast and pleasant. A real pleasure to do business with them.
SUMMARY - would highly recommend this hotel if you don't mind not being in the very center of town. Except for the internet issue, it was a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HZW007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

As a member of Marriott's reward program, I always try to stay there when going to cities where I am unfamiliar with hotels & attractions. The Marriott in Heidelberg is not geographically convenient to Old Town. It is dated and looks kind of run-down. The service means well, but when I was there, it was full of trainees who didn't know what they were doing.

The rooms were small, had a horrible view and the bathroom had a strange smell. It was a very uncomfortable night, and I am glad it was a 1 night stay.

Hate to write bad reviews, but they need to put some money into this hotel to bring it up to standards.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esfesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.5 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#11 of 75 in Heidelberg
1,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#7 of 75 in Heidelberg
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 75 in Heidelberg
530 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Heidelberg Suites - Small Luxury Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Address: Vangerowstr. 16, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#9 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range: $123 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heidelberg Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Neckar River, the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel offers a seamless blend of traditional elegance and modern comfort. Located in one of Germany's most scenic cities, we boast ideal access to Heidelberg Castle and the streets of the Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heidelberg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Heidelberg
Heidelberg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing