We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent marriott on riverbank of Neckarriver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Marriott Heidelberg is located on a riverbank of the Neckar River, 1.6km/1 mile downstream the old city (Altstadt). Stayed here 3 nights (august 5 – 8) for a bargain price of 95€/night for 2 persons including American breakfast (Visa advance payment).
The room was very comfortable, 26 square meter, bathroom rather small (2.2m x 1.7m), most of the rooms have a bay window, other rooms have a balcony. Extremely good bed. Some reviewers finds the room “dated” or “tired”, I find the room “Marriott classic”. Small fridge, large flatscreen, no coffee/tea in room. Airco was not cool enough.
Breakfast buffet was great … you can take your breakfast outside with a view on the river. Good indoor pool, fitness centrum and sauna. Parking : 19€ per day, Wifi : 12.5€ per day.
Roomtip : ask for an even room number (odd room numbers brings bad luck) : all even room numbers have river view !!
How to get to the old city : go from Marriott 200m to bus/tram stop “betriebshof”. You will find a ticket vending machine (german and English version) on each bus/tram stop. Buy a single “city ticket” for 1.10€ or a ticket24 (5.30€) or a ticket24plus (9.30€ for max 5 persons). See www.vrn.de . Now you have 4 possible options : tram 21 via bahnhof to bismarckplatz, tram 22 direct to bismarckplatz, bus 35 to bismarckplatz and alte brucke, bus 32 to bismarkplatz and centrum altstadt. You have to wait maximum 5 minutes for your bus or tram and drive 5 minutes !! OR walk along the river 15 minutes to Bismarckplatz.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ludovicvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 905 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

Everything about this hotel is perfect. Beautiful lobby, magnificent room and rich breakfast. Wifi isn't free but it had acceptable prices. If I come to Heidelberg again I'll definitely stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Lake view is perfect you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xmNz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The hotel is on a noisy ring road and a very ugly building, even the 'balconies'facing the river are not really balconies and you cannot sit out. If you want corporate business fine (I stayed in Durham UK in one last month) but personality and aesthetics of this place, , none, no info about heidelberg, they could have had a few displays, a few local prints in the rooms or public spaces but none we saw. 20 mins to town on a dangerous road or across the river through a nice park. Character 3/10 but for business I'd guess 8/10.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesmondP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I took my family to a Germany for almost 3 weeks and Heidelberg was one of the stops. What a wonderful city, one of the best I went to.

This hotel is located slightly outside from the old town but perfect if you drive. Just 15 mins walk to the old town, 5 mins drive. They might recommend to walk, I would say drive and park right on the middle and walk, it is beautiful.

The Hotel staff is fantastic, the restaurant is overpriced (like in any other hotel), the rooms are excellent. The parking is expensive like in all Germany, and the common areas are well kept.

Above everything, I would recommend this hotel. The view of the river is wonderful and if you ask or get a room at the ends you might get a walking balcony, great for a glass of wine at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms with the best view of the river and with walking balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alexander013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

If you are used to Marriott properties, this will not dissappoint. Front desk was friendly. Beautiful jogging / walking path. Great breakfast, but pricey at 21 Euro ($30pp). Wi Fi worked but was 49 EUR for 4 days. 3rd floor room was quiet, overlooking the Nekar River, nice to see all the crew boats practicing on the river. Gerlind is ready to take care of you in the lobby bar. Free self serve cappichino/espresso in the lobby. Don't underestimate the walk to 'old town' from the hotel- a full 15 minutes. You have to know where to catch the cabs...they will take you to the old bridge for 10EUR or the Train station for 8 EUR. Not everyone speaks English, but we never had an issue with a cab driver not knowing "Marriott". Dinner establishments in the old town pretty much shut down after 10pm during the week.

Room Tip: 4th floor has been remodeled, do try for a river view, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guild6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
6751
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed at the Marriott for 2 nights. Our room was very tired, though friends said their room was recently updated. There are no tea/coffee facilities nor a mini bar. The beds were comfortable. We expected one being the Marriott Hotel. The Hotel is a long way from the old town. You can walk, but its a real LONG WAY. Reception staff were "snowed under"...only 2 working the desk, hence, when I inquired regarding a day trip from Heidelberg, they were most unhelpful. I had to demand they please help me...it only took them a phone call, but it was like I was asking them to organize me a whole holiday! The staff in the hotel bar were the opposite and quite friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Demand an updated room if you stay there. Some rooms have views of the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

What a stay! The hotel, the service by the staff ,buffet breakfast and dinner was EXCELLENT!. We stayed at the hotel as part of a tour group and after visiting the breathtaking Heidelberg Castle I thought that nothing could beat the experience ... but I was wrong. The overall service,cleanliness and quality of food at the Marriott Heidelberg was excellent.
We stayed at numerous hotels during our European tour and my husband and I both agree that the Marriott Heidelberg, was the best.
Compliments to all staff for the running of the hotel and thank you for an awesome stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRS1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.5 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#11 of 75 in Heidelberg
1,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#7 of 75 in Heidelberg
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 75 in Heidelberg
530 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Heidelberg Suites - Small Luxury Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Marriott Hotel

Address: Vangerowstr. 16, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#9 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range: $124 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heidelberg Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Neckar River, the Heidelberg Marriott Hotel offers a seamless blend of traditional elegance and modern comfort. Located in one of Germany's most scenic cities, we boast ideal access to Heidelberg Castle and the streets of the Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heidelberg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Heidelberg
Heidelberg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing