We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Falke
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The reviews I read here on TripAdvisor were correct: the Goldener Falke is an excellent value. You get a lot for your money, especially when prices go down in winter. My room was modest but adequate, tidy, and cleaned & mopped daily. The staff are exceptionally friendly, in a genuine way (not the "I'm paid to be nice" way). Cleaning staff always greeted me, the staff in the restaurant always chatted pleasantly with me in the morning, and check-in and check-out were a breeze.

I stayed here in the winter and found the room bright and cheery during the day due to all the windows. It was a little too dark in the evenings because of poor lighting, but I didn't really care all that much. When closed, the curtains covered the radiators, so I just made sure to heat the room before closing the curtains.

Breakfast is splendid: fruit, three sorts of Muesli, cheeses and cold cuts, yoghurt, rolls and jam, pretzels, three sorts of sliced bread, boiled eggs, OJ, tea, a whole pot of hot coffee on each table.

The restaurant itself is underrated: I ate dinner here only once, towards the end of my stay, because I didn't recall its showing up on the restaurant reviews. It was one of the best meals I had all week, far better than some of the more tourist-laden restaurants towards the Bismarckplatz end of Hauptstraße.

You can't beat the location, on Marktplatz near the Rathaus and Heiliggeistkirche, 100m from the Alte Brücke and right on the Hauptstraße. Everything I wanted to see was within walking distance: the university, the castle, the Alte Brücke and Philosophenweg, the whole length of Hauptstraße. Also good access to public transportation: bus stop is 3 min walk away; S-Bahn station 5-10 min walk.

I've stayed in nicer places, but not for these prices. The hotel provides a lot for the money.

Room Tip: In winter, try to get a room with lots of windows. Otherwise go for a room on the Marktplatz side.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottWindham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Goldener Falke
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 245 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

I do like small hotel rooms, especially if cozy and well organized - and if they get me a good price for a good location and service. Be sure you like them, or ask for larger ones.

Here I got one, and was very happy: bed quality and size are basic, the bed is against the wall with a narrow passage on the other side to get to the window and desk (less than 40 centimeters wide), still all basics are there, the place is spotless and well organized. Even more importantly, the choice earned me a great location in the main square in the old town - Marktplatz days before Christmas, with lights and market stalls in full swing - at a very, very reasonable price.
The one shortcoming was some noise from the refrigerator in the night - I just unplugged it.

Service was simple and still very friendly and careful. (The restaurant acts as hotel reception, so personnel will have to cater for diners first, and still assist you in full, with few seconds or minutes' wait.)

Food looked good and well prepared, if I had meals elsewhere with friends so missed it. Breakfast was included, abundant and diverse.

And yes, internet connection is included and works very well.

Room Tip: Small single rooms are available at a reduced rate. Be sure you know what you want: they are small...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GianlucaMarcellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is a gem, located across from a beautiful town square. We got to enjoy the Christmas theme being put up all around. The Hotel itself is PERFECT. The restaurant is on the bottom floor, while rooms are above. We ate a late night snack at the restaurant and it was delightful, service was friendly and food was good. Room was big with a lot of windows to enjoy Town square. Breakfast was also served in the restaurant and it was another home run. This place is a HOME RUN.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful experience at the Goldener Falke. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included, and featured a nice range of choices - everything we sampled was tasty. Our room (in the "attic") was beautifully appointed and very pleasant - thoroughly modern and comfortable with a gorgeous bathroom. We also ate dinner at the hotel restaurant and were pleased with our food and the accompanying wine. The location is also a big plus, as it is right on the main square of the Old Town, within walking distances of shops and restaurants and right around the corner from the funicular which takes you up to the old castle. We will definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaluci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel was beyond of my expectations. First of all it is located on the hot square of the old town. The area is for pedestrians but you can unload your car in front of the hotel and then to park it in the public Garage, 90mt away. The building is some... centuries old but it is beautifully
renovated. It has an elevator. The staff is very-very helpful and clever. The room was big as well as the bathroom.Very comfortable, clean, modern overlooking the square.
The breakfast was one of the best we had.Excellent material, diversity, service and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Corner rooms 1-2nd floors
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goumaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for tour the old city of Heidelberg. Unfortunately we were there only one day but this hotel offers old charm and great food. We had room # 45 which was on the top floor- we did have to walk up a small set of stairs from the elevator but the room was spacious-large bathroom with amenities, fridge, lots of cupboard space, sitting area and a great bed. Our meal that night was without a doubt the best snitzel I have had and my husband had pigs cheeks that were recommened by the waiter. They were excellent. I would gladly go back there again. Benjamin was most helpful in arranging an early morning taxi to the train station and even came out to say goodby at 6 am. and wish us safe travels.

Room Tip: Room # 45 on the top floor-sloped ceiling but great comfort.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duck7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a very nice hotel place in Heidelberg in a beautiful location. The people in the hotel are absolutely friendly and the room I had was really nice (third floor). The hotel offers free wireless. The restaurant is nice and the service is great. The breakfast offers a sufficient variety and quality. The bathroom had rather four than five star quality.

Room Tip: Room 35 is nice.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lerche35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
#13 of 76 in Heidelberg
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#11 of 76 in Heidelberg
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
582 reviews
1.4 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zur Alten Brucke
Hotel Zur Alten Brucke
#20 of 76 in Heidelberg
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Falke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Falke

Address: Hauptstr. 204, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#17 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range: $161 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Goldener Falke 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Goldener Falke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Falke Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing