We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat below Average”
Review of Hotel Classic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Classic Inn
Ranked #73 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here despite somewhat low published ratings due to low availibilty of rooms when I was visiting Heidleburg. Reception desk and breakfast server were both somewhat cold and mildly hostile The hotel is dated and a bit run down both in appearance and in fact. While meeting basic standards of cleanliness, the hotel gives off a somewhat depressing aura. WIFI was not free and the fee per diem fee was among the highest encountered in a month of travelling in Germany. Breakfast was adequate but I would have preferred self service rather than the slow coffee server.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamiltonbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 52 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed here one night this week booked via the local Heidelberg Tourist Office over the phone on my way from Munich to a whirlwind tour of Germany. I didn't have time this occasion to do my usual research (ring around, etc) to hostels/hotels. And i did ask them for an inexpensive place, it cost me €66 breakfast included whether you like it or not (and it was ok).
I arrived late (after 10pm) and the reception was closed; i was not aware of this, partly because the email from the tourist office was not received. Partly because the girl at the tourist office neglected to tell me that. It was a free service by tourist office, some of these offices charge €3 for this service. However, I called the telephone number on the board near the entrance to this hotel and explained to the man who answered the situation i was faced with. If I had a booking number it needed to be entered on the after hours automatic room key dispenser, which i could not obviously. However the man gave me the number over the phone and the machine dispensed the keycard.
The room itself was ok size-wise and beds were ok, 2 single beds put together. But the room was a bit cold (it's winter in Europe now and it's very cold), and the heater was up to its maximum setting. The shower's drain was partly clogged and the water was backing up a bit. The location is reasonably good, near the main railway station (Hauptbahnhof)' although Ibis Hotel is nearer to the station and for €10 more Ibis is generally a better option (better standards, free WiFi, 24 hour reception) although breakfast is at an extra cost.
I checked out the next day, and stayed in one of the hotels at the Altstadt (old town) called Gasthaus Goldener Hecht, for the same price €66 (but breakfast is extra), great location as per The Lonely Planet (Goethe was turned away once from here apparently because he had not pre-booked)!

Room Tip: Arrive before 10pm or have your booking number handy. Consider nearby Ibis Hotel at a slightly highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeyandMeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room was one of the smallest we have been to in Germany. Neither was there a fridge, nor was there a coffee maker. The advantage is that it is located close to the train station and the breakfast there is amazing! The sheets were clean and it was about an hour walk to Heidelberg castle. There was a supermarket nearby. Next time, I hope they buy better pillows. The ones we stayed on went almost flat. The positive thing is that it had an elevator (we had heavy suitcases).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M0nica25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The worst and dirtiest hotel I have ever been. Extremely rude and aggressive man is in the reception who also by the way cleans the hotel. When we enetered the room, it was like we were in a motel in 80s time. All the furniture were old. The most horrible thing was blood stains on our bed sheets which was extremely disgusting. There were old and roten chocolate bars and plastic cultery in the closets left from a guest long time ago. There were porn magazines under bed, and god knows what else there was that we haven't seen. When we complained about the room, the receptionist said our rooms are always clean in a very impolite manner, and when he saw the blood stain on the sheets just said probably that is from some "red chocolate". And he not only didn't apologize but also acted with unacceptably rude manners while changing the sheets. He didn't give us another room either. NEVER GO THERE, unless you wanna sleep on blood or other dirts.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sepideh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Not so cheap prices but very cheap design!
Really basic rooms (a bed, a wardrobe, 1 chair, a micro table and an old crappy tiny TV).
No place to move around ... tall or large people, just pass your way.
On the positive side, the rooms are clean and the breakfast is correct(you get at least that for the price ...).
Don't take a room at the ground floor if you have a light sleep! Noise from outside is just like having the people in your room !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Rooms are clean but very basic (a bed, a wardrobe, two chairs and a TV) and a bit small. People at reception were always smilling and nice to us. The breakfast was good.
I would however highly recommend the hotel manager to change the towels that were obviously very old and not soft anymore!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilly074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Located very near the train station and about a 10 minute walk to the old town, the location is good.
The room we had was supposedly a triple, but the extra bed was only suitiable for a small child at best. The room was clean but basic.
The breakfast was good, as too the service. Free Internet would be appreciated.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back, especially if it is warm and you need to open the window. It tends to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juanita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
#53 of 76 in Heidelberg
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
2.6 mi away
ISG Hotel Heidelberg
ISG Hotel Heidelberg
#31 of 76 in Heidelberg
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#68 of 76 in Heidelberg
81 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Neu Heidelberg
Hotel Neu Heidelberg
#35 of 76 in Heidelberg
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Krokodil
Hotel Krokodil
#51 of 76 in Heidelberg
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Classic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Classic Inn

Address: Belfortstr. 3, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range: $90 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Classic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Classic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing