We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Ranked #12 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome, nice room, plenty of space. Shower had great pressure, always a plus. Easy to locate not so easy to get to, had to drive up a one way street only other alternative would have been to drive along the busy shopping street which seemed to be pedestrian only at the time. Good location would stay again without a doubt.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebbiesamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    86
    22
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
106
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place was easy to find (except the arrow on the the sign is hiding behind a rose bush - just keep going up the street until you find the sign sticking out of the side of the building).

The room was large with plenty of room for luggage. It had air conditioning, bless the lawd baby jesus, because it was 98 degrees when we were there. The bathroom was also large.

The breakfast was delicious and included in the price.

We bought wifi, but we couldn't ever connect to the internet. We didn't have to pay it when we checked out. They do have a computer to use in the lobby.

It is close to Old Town and close to the shopping areas.

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week while attending a conference at the Heidelberg convention center (the Stadhalle). We chose it based on the already excellent reviews on TripAdvisor, and were happily surprised to find it better than expected. The free breakfast buffets were incredibly good. Tons of freshly cut fruit, honestly the best pastries I've ever had, coffee, juice, tea, yogurt, etc. It was delicious! The close proximity to all the Heidelberg attractions and restaurants along Haupstraße was great too! The only con was the crummy internet connection. It worked the first day or two, but then wasn't working. When we complained to the clerk at the desk, they simply said too many people were connected. Other than that, this place was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was a wodnerful plcae to stay and I loved it. It was surprisingly quiet considering that it is int he heart of Heidelberg. Everything was within walking distance, except work. The parking was limited, but doable. The rooms were nice, but the wi-fi was a bit slow when I got it to work. It was a great stay and Iw oudl definitely stay there again. I did not see a swimming pool or fitness center.

Room Tip: My oom overlooked a back alley and the windows could open to get a nice breeze at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OuagaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was worth the stay. The double and single rooms were spacious by European standards. Other reviews stated problems with the wi-fi, but that was not the case for us. We also had dinner downstairs at the restaurant, also very good! The parking area was small but so was our rental. The proprietor allowed us to leave our car parked at the hotel after we checked out while we walked about Heidelberg that morning. I especially liked the little bags of Haribo gummy bears on the pillow instead of mints. It seemed more fitting! Breakfast was better than expected.Overall, I would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_addict_2142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lovely hotel - Old World charm with modern facilities. Great German reakfast. Quiet location, but still in the center of old town. Wonderful and helpful staff. My only complaint is that the Wi-Fi in the room was very undependable - almost not useable; worked fine in the lobby. They suggested using a cable connection but that never worked. No safe or fridge in room. Otherwise - GREAT! Make sure, if you are traveling solo, that you so request - rate is lower, even for a double room

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob4378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#7 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
1.0 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde

Property: Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Address: Schiffgasse 11, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#9 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthaus Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing