We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cosy nest under the castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Am Schloss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Am Schloss
Ranked #30 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
tradate
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A cosy nest under the castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hotel am shloss heidelberg

I would recommend Am schloss hotel for a stay in lovely heidelberg. The location is perfect, 3 minutes from the center and yet so close to the castle you'll think you can touch it from the terrace!
The building is not so charming, provided the hotel is on top of a city garage, but once in you'll forget a bout it. Indeed you can park your car for 8€/day just beneath you and take the funiculaire directly from the hotel to the castle
Breakfast is good, with fresh fruit. Forget about coffee.
There is no air conditioning, so it can be very hot...
Wifi is free and quick
A nice experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    35
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
21
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

It is in a great spot and rooms have excellent view.
We had bad luck with the person on shift when we checked out (morning the 20th of July).
She was very rude and extremely unfriendly with us (non German speakers)... very different attitude with a native couple checking in at the same time... (someone who doesn't like foreigners should be working in a hotel)
If it wasn't for this person (and perhaps the lack of air conditioning) I would have rated this place with a 10/10.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank germancarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel with it's free wifi and parking onsite was ideal. The castle was a short wall up the hill to the front entrance and has a great view. From the terrace we had a spectacular view of the city. The room was very clean and neat. The staff were very helpful and frendly. Breakfast was good for a continental...at least there was coffee. The altstadt was very closer and everything was walkable. Very nice hotel in a very nice city.

Room Tip: you can get either a castle view or a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Javamang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice location (on top of the parking and as a guest you can have free parking slot), funicular railway station is on the ground floor, nice restaurant there as well. Spectacular view on the Old Castle! Small yard on the roof available for you. Breakfast was included, with small but quite enough choice of food. Staff is friendly.
The only thing - I left one night earlier and they've said that they are unable to cancel my last night, so they charged me for this despite I left the hotel already. Sounded a bit strange for me and sort of ripping... Anyway, room prices were not high, so it didn't bothered me too much.

Room Tip: You may wish to ask for the room with the view to Old Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed two nights here on business. Weirdly situated on the 7th floor of a multi-storey car park/funicular station. Accessed by the same lift as the carpark, this is more of a guest-house than a hotel, and I think some people would be put off by the entrance to the hotel via this small elevator. Receptionist was friendly and helpful, breakfast was fine, and WiFi €5 per night. The room was clean and comfortable, if a little small and quite dated in style - 60s/70s decor with a fresh lick of paint here and there. Nicely located just off the old town squares and University area, although quite a long walk from Bismarckplatz. Plenty of shops and restaurants in the vicinity. Go to the ground floor and take the funicular up to the Schloss. Some noise from the elevator early in the morning as the first cars arrive at the car park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaveyDavey61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Location was fab, hotel was very comfortable, breakfast surprisingly good, views of snow-topped roofs were magical and in all was excellent value for money though the overall look of the place was quite dated and the room was smaller than I expected. Staff were helpful and efficient and, in the main, friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubmumof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel has a great location to walk around the sites in Heidelberg, including the castle. It sits right below the castle, but it is 300+ steps to walk up to it! You can also take the funicular, which is in the same building as the hotel. The hotel is at the top of a car park and the funicular, so convenient if you have driven here. A bit difficult as you are looking for a hotel, but you really need to find a carpark. The hotel website explains how to get there. It met our expectations after reading other reviews on tripadvisor. It was clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and breakfast was included. Breakfast was average buffet style, with only cold items. There was some noise at night, but if you shut the windows you couldn't hear it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cacollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
#16 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Falke
Hotel Goldener Falke
#19 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt
Hotel Garni Am Kornmarkt
#43 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#12 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Schloss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Schloss

Property: Hotel Am Schloss
Address: Zwingerstrasse 20, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Schloss 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Am Schloss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Schloss Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing