We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Am Schloss
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel am Rathaus(Heidelberg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Zum Seppl(Heidelberg)
View Hotel
Kulturbrauerei(Heidelberg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Scheffel's(Heidelberg)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
28
46
12
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
46
12
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking garagesame buildingcable carhotel location isgreat locationstaff was friendly and helpfulold townaverage sizethe breakfast areaminute walkper daystay there againschlosscastleelevatorkonigstuhlventilation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 94 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I don't know what they were thinking when this building was allowed to be built in the old part of Heidelberg, but it is a great spot for a hotel! The location is excellent - right above the furnicular to the castle, walking distance to everything else in Heidelberg, and parking at reasonable rates in the multi-storey carpark below. The building, however, is ugly!! We booked this room on the recommendation of the Heidelberg Tourism Centre, and were not disappointed.

We stayed here for two nights with our two toddlers in a very spacious room with plenty of space for the sofa bed and a cot. The bathroom (with a bath) was also very spacious. There was also a fridge in the room (with a well-stocked minibar). The breakfast was your normal German breakfast which was enjoyed by all. There was also a bowl of fruit near reception where you could help yourself.

The nearest park was a good 15mins walk away (wonderful directions were provided by the young fellow at reception), but the kids had an amazing time once we were there. We stayed in Heidelberg for the Heidelberg Castle Illuminations - a fireworks display over the castle and river, which is held three times a year. From our hotel we were able to easily walk to the other side of the river to find a great vantage point to see the light show.

We would definitely stay here again were we ever to return to Heidelberg. The service was very friendly and very helpful, and the location and facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusFamOf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at the Hotel am Schloss. This was not our first time in Heidelberg but was the first stay at this hotel. It was unexpectedly nice, quiet, friendly staff, good accomodations and breakfast. Also had an English language newspaper. We would return again to the hotel. It is as written in other reviews,: near the castle, Hauptstrasse and restaurants.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with view of castle and old town
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodsyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

I stayed here while traveling with my Grandmother. We had not made any reservations upon arrival in Heidelberg, and this place had one of the last room's available in the city. I'm so glad fortune put us here! This is a cute little hotel - not really a looker from the outside, but nice, basically furnished rooms. It's main attraction is the location. Views from our bedroom window were outstanding - we could see the castle and the hillside with lovely home/town views. Out the door of the hotel were the big marketplace, old church, and the old bridge. We walked everywhere, it was so close. Really friendly staff who didn't make me feel stupid trying to use my high school German, and the breakfast in the morning was perfectly adequate - nothing fancy, but good food.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabineOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

If you're looking for an easy short stay in Heidelberg, then you could do a lot worse than the Am Schloss. Easy parking in the adjoining multi-story car park. Great location a few steps from the main restaurant and shopping area. Simple, basic rooms. Internet access for 5 euro per day. Good simple continental breakfast included.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Derek Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2008

The view and location are great. At first I was turned off by the fact that the hotel was above a parking garage and the funicular. The curb appeal isn't great but don't let that stop you. The hotel was a perfect spot to tour the city. You were on the path to the castle or at the funicular to ride up the hill. It was less than 5 min walk to the old bridge. The view from the terrace is fantastic; not only of the castle itself but the hill and surrounding homes. It was winter and cold so we weren't able to sit out and enjoy it but for summer it would be great. Our double room was huge, not sure if it was standard size or we were upgraded (last room open) but it was twice the size of most european hotels. The front desk personnel were extremely friendly. In particular, the gentleman when we checked in was great, answering many questions, giving ideas for dinner and places to go. He alone made it a very enjoyable stay. Many of the rooms have views of the castle. The suite room had an incredible view of the whole castle and at night with it lit up made for an almost unreal view. I'm not sure I'd pay extra for the rooms with a view over the terrace. I'd just go sit on the terrace for the view. We found the best rate of 90 euros using the search on this site but weren't sure we would make it that evening so we didn't want to book in advance. We showed up and at the front desk the rate was 115. I explained that I could have booked it online (booking.com) for less and they went ahead and gave me the room for 90. Parking was discounted in the garage below - 8 Euros for 24hr. The breakfast was more than enough, typical german breakfast: cereals, cold cuts, fruits, yogurt, eggs and drinks, all very well stocked and friendly service. Overall I would recommend it and stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank d2deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews