We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel am Rathaus
Ranked #51 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great location and nice staff BUT.....

You cannot sleep in this small hotel until 3 or 4 AM due the nightclub that operates under the hotel, (the hotel's basement). The noise form the music and drunk Germans hanging out, pretty much all night, make sleep an impossibility.

Don't stay here!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank louishar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 59 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is located right off the market square and convenient to everything in town. The hotel is old, but charming. Our room was clean and comfortable, and it had a wonderful shower. The bed was quite comfortable. The view out our window was identical to one of the personal pictures shown above, with quaint houses and mountains. There isn't an elevator, but luckily for us, we were only on the second floor. The breakfast was ample, with fruits, cereals, yogurt, rolls, and soft-boiled eggs. The coffee was excellent. The staff was very helpful in guiding us to the most advantageous place to park, helping us find where we could buy Heidelberg cards, and recommending restaurants. The only downside was noise from a nearby club that played loud music until late at night. Other than that, though, it was a nice place to stay for a reasonable price in a great part of town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Spending three or four times a year one night in Heidelberg, I am well acquainted with this small hotel (as with others hotels of the same owner, "Hotel am Schloss" and Hotel "Perkeo"). The hotel is located midst of the old part of Heidelberg. The building, certainly not designed to become one day a hotel, has a relatively small surface and, above the ground floor, three considerably high storeys with the rooms for guests. You should have a good constitution since the wooden stairs leading upwards are long and steep -- the maximum being three staircases when your room is under the roof. Every room has been equipped with a bathroom (toilet, shower and lavabo). The building is full of corners, nothing is orthogonal, not even the floors are horizontal. This means that no room will be similar to another -- some of them are quite charming, though, and the higher you get, the better the view. For all rooms you may buy an access to wifi.

All is clean and proper, breakfast is OK. The reception desk is open until 11 pm only. In case you return too late without your key, you will be lost. If you demand high standards, you better avoid this hotel. For one or two nights it will do, though, since it is not too expensive given the rates of Heidelberg hotels in general. If you wish a hotel of the same category (and the same owner) with an elevator, go to the nearby "Hotel am Schloss" (in the building giving access the Bergbahn). There all will be orthogonal, walls in concrete, some rooms have a wonderful view, too, but they tend to be quite small. For the rest, all is similar, even the opening time of the reception desk.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lahjakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Older hotel but very comfortable. Our room sloped so we ended up sleep with our heads where our feet would have been on the bed! Worked great! Our girls were on a sofabed they found confortable. From the reviews I read I knew the location (in the main square) would be noisy so I asked if they had a fan we could take to the room. They were kind enough to lend us a fan and we cranked it and it provided a lovely white noise that drowned out "most' of the bars letting out in the wee hours. Breakfast was great and the proximity to the castle, shopping and main attractions couldn't be beat. Would definately stay here again but ONLY with a fan.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandnsun4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Second hotel of my stay in Heidelberg. I had a "double" room on the 2nd floor (beware, no lift). Very small room with scuffed paintwork and outdated furniture/fittings. Tiny bathroom, with toilet facing a tiled wall, which it was impossible to stand up from without swivelling sideways. On the second night my room was absolutely infested with small flies! They didn't seem to bite but there were hundreds of the blighters, which had been attracted by the (opened) window in my room when I was out during the day. Breakfast OK but charged as extra, and I was unlucky to get a) the bin lorry at 6am followed by b) a hydraulic "cherry picker" working outside my window from 7am onwards. WiFi also costs extra, and there is no check-in before 2pm. Overall OK, and I cannot blame the hotel for the outside noise, but another hotel relying on its location for trade I think, and not trying that hard.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaveyDavey61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

The hotel is adorable, clean, and in an amazing location. The staff was wonderful and the breakfast (included) was delicious and plentiful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Heidelberg.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Stayed here in May of 2010 with my sisters. We arrived late in the evening to Heidelberg and were directed to this hotel. The young man at the front desk was very friendly and kind. Granted, the spiral steps up to our room were a bit daunting, but that's Europe. Our room had 3 beds, a clean, bright bathroom with a shower and hairdryer, and a great view of the town square.

Things got a bit noisy outside that night. There were revelers up until nearly 3 in the morning. We later found out the following day was a holiday, so people were partying it up. I would hope this was just a fluke and not an every-night experience. The young lady at the front desk the following morning was most helpful with my lost luggage debacle and spoke to the airlines for me. Breakfast was wonderful.

The view was great. The room was clean. The staff was helpful, kind and spoke perfect English. The location was perfect for those wanting to explore the old town. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelilng to Heidelberg.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadlesstraveled76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zur Alten Brucke
Hotel Zur Alten Brucke
#22 of 76 in Heidelberg
137 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Goldener Falke
Hotel Goldener Falke
#21 of 76 in Heidelberg
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am Schloss
Hotel Am Schloss
#30 of 76 in Heidelberg
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hip Hotel
Hip Hotel
#29 of 76 in Heidelberg
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weisser Bock
Weisser Bock
#36 of 76 in Heidelberg
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Rathaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Rathaus

Address: Heiliggeiststr. 1, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range: $101 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Rathaus 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel am Rathaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Rathaus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing