We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in the middle of town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weisser Bock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Weisser Bock
Ranked #45 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the middle of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Only arrived late at night and the staff were very helpful in showing us to our room. Also gave us advice on where to head out for the night.
We were late checking out and they were completely ok with it.
Clean and tidy rooms
Free WIFI

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ikdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    23
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
23
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Finding the hotel on 9/16/2103, was a bit difficult. Finally we found it, dropped off our bags and had to find a parking garage 3 blocks away. The staff was very friendly but the room, on the third floor, left me with the feeling "it's a small world after all". Couldn't stand up straight in 80% of the room, including bath and I'm only 6' tall. No Internet connection and half of the TV channels were scrambled. I called the front desk on the eve of our stay and was informed there was nothing they could do. Next morning at check out, when the manager asked how my stay was, I informed him of the events. He was kind enough to refund 15 euro of my price but I have to say, I wouldn't stay there again. Just giving honest feedback.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The location of the hotel is great--right downtown with all the cafes and shopping and close to one of the bridges crossing the river. There are parking garages just a couple of blocks from the hotel, so you don't have to tote your luggage too far. The room was clean. The staff was friendly. Check in and out was easy.

What's not so good: breakfast was not included in the rate (most German guesthouses include breakfast) and had a cost of 12.50 Euro per person. Instead, we went to a bakery around the corner and had coffee, croissants, fruit, and such for 9 Euro for both of us. Also, the room was incredibly hot but offered no air conditioning or fan.

If you don't mind the heat or the breakfast, the hotel was in a great location and had great staff.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I searched the web for our first trip to Heidelberg. We settled on the Weisser Bock because of the location and great restaurant review. We were not disappointed, the room, a bit small but very comfortable, the staff displayed wonderful customer service and were truly interested in our comfort and helpful in making our visit memorable. The restaurant was a bit expensive but the meals were absolutely grand. We could not have had a better vacation. I highly recommend this hotel which helped me understand the rich culture of this city.

Room Tip: Top floor away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights Monday & Tuesday - didn't appreciate Monday was a public holiday so Heidelberg was pretty quiet!
Hotel is very quaint and "olde worlde" German but our room at the front was quite elegantly furnished a nice size and was spotlessly clean. We ate in the Restaurant on our first night, taking advice from Trip Advisor reviews and the food was fantastic. This is not a cheap restaurant (120 euros for 2 with wine) but was 90% full on a Monday night so something must be right. The service was attentive and helpful without being overbearing as so often is the case in hotel restaurants and the dining room is like a quaint folk museum.
This is more a restaurant with rooms than a hotel - the reception desk is in the kitchen! The weather was not good on our trip so there was not much street activity at night but we had to keep the windows closed nevertheless to enjoy a quite night. We had a room on the first floor with a lovely friendly chamber maid, another small touch which contributed to an enjoyable stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GroverNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
491 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The location is somehow perfect.
First: Right in the romantic old town from which we did quite a lot of exploring on foot in the mornings and afternoons (do not forget the “Philosophenweg” on the other side of the river Neckar). The bus stop is very close with direct connection to the main railway station (about 10-15 minutes on bus). The room was lovely, the bath room ok and the whole property is a charming old building.
Little minus: The elevator’s space is tight and the stairs are steep.
Never experienced before: The reception desk is somewhat special: It's in the kitchen which is - great!
Much appreciated: The staff is friendly and welcoming, professional and somewhat typically efficient. Great restaurant both for breakfast and dinner. The bar is superb: atmosphere and drinks (try the local sparkling …).
Needless to say, for the price you pay, and the fact that is very centrally located, I would say it is worth a try. Try the special arrangement: We will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BURGWIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hof, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Weisser Bock is basically a good restaurant with additional rooms to stay overnight. The location is in the centre just one street away from the main "Hauptstrasse". The rooms are quite noisy, as you either have a window to the back courtyard, where you can hear (and smell!) the kitchen, or to the street, which is very noisy in the night from tourists.

I would visit the Weisser Bock only for a good lunch or dinner. The hotel rooms do not make sense, as they are too small, quite outdated and too noisy. When we stayed there, there was a larger (male only) group singing and screaming till 3:30 in the morning.

The service is also a bit "hectic" as the staff is mainly busy serving larger groups in the restaurant, and not hotel guest "minded". We always felt we were disturbing them in managing the dinner groups.

Really not, what you want in your holiday. So if you want to enjoy Heidelberg, stay outside the old town, and go there only for dinner or a nice wine.

So visit the Weisser Bock for dinner - they have great wines, good fish and wonderful meat. Unfortunately, they only have two larger restaurant rooms, which makes it quite a noisy place.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room in the top floor - this might be a bit less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomundjerryPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hecht
Hotel Goldener Hecht
#44 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#12 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dubliner Hotel and Irish Pub
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perkeo
Hotel Perkeo
#26 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weisser Bock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weisser Bock

Property: Weisser Bock
Address: Grosse Mantelgasse 24, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Weisser Bock 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Weisser Bock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weisser Bock Heidelberg
Weisser Bock Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing