We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and very nice for a hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jugendherberge Heidelberg International
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value and very nice for a hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have stayed in a hostel in New York City before that gave me a very bad impression of hostels in general - overcrowded rooms, dirty shared bathrooms and showers. Not so here. Jugendherberge Heidelberg is a pretty high-capacity hostel with very large and impeccably clean rooms, with in-room bathroom and shower. There is a bar (with TV for the World Cup!), seminar/conference rooms, a music room, and a few other rooms (kitchens and storage rooms) scattered around the hostel. There's supposed to be a swimming pool too but I didn't look for it. Lots of spaces to sit and chat with others. The included breakfast was probably my favorite part of the stay - a full German spread with various types of bread, great jams, hams and cheese every morning until 10am. The staff were a little overwhelmed by our group of 300 but they handled it well. They also freely provided me with plasters when I rubbed my heel raw wearing new shoes, which was nice.

Drawbacks: no free wifi - 2 EUR for an hour, and you can only use it in the lobby. It can be a little confusing to get to as the area around is mostly university research buildings and the Zoo - it's not extremely clearly marked and the entrance is a small path off the main road. The bus stop outside the hostel is currently closed but if you walk about 100m down the road, there is a "H" sign that marks a temporary stop that is serviced by the same buses. Getting to the Altstadt (touristy downtown) is about a 20 minute ride by bus.

These are really minor drawbacks in comparison to how nice the hostel is for the rates they charge per night. I'll definitely be back if I return to Heidelberg.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krysjez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    29
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
2
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Fantastic hostel, easier to get to than it seems there are signs at the bus stops. Large clean rooms, from some you can even see the animals in the zoo next door. Very nice and helpful staff. The breakfast and other meals are fantastic, lots of great food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opava, Moravskoslezsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Disappointment. Forgot it if You are with car or bike - I asked and ordered parking place for oldtimer, they says they have parking, BUT didnt said is only 8 places for 500 guests!!! so NO PARKING, only expensive parkhouse nearby or expensive on street. On reception says I can choose parking place, they see I'm parking nearby door on free place, didnt say anything and at 01:00h a.m.!!! wake up whole room security man and asked for moving the car!! He says he will wake up other 12 car owner too!! Staff leave me parking than on courtyard, but in the morning was my car deliberately blocked, morning staff says I cant park there (after I got permission!). On internet wrote no booking fees, but You are forced to pay it when You come, You are forced to buy their sticker, also if You dont need it, more services payable. Good breakfast. Dirty room. Long way to the city. Got wrong information about ways in Heidelberg from reception staff.
Boss of hostel says me I should go to other hotel, if I dont like. Stay 1 night, never more!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heidelberg hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. It was my first time to stay in a hostel. And it has changed my impression of a hostel. I booked a single room, which was very clean. The breakfast was wonderful. The facility was nice, but I have to pay for the internet which was only available in public area. And the hostel is a little bit far away from the city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is an institutional-looking youth hostel in the University complex. It's a 15 minute bus ride or 45 minute walk along the river bank to Heidelberg old town. The bus frequency is every 10 minutes, which sounds great until you realise that it becomes every 20-30 minutes during the evening and at weekends - so plan your evening trip carefully.

However, the rooms were spotlessly clean (although the towel I hired had seen better days) and it's a perfectly reasonable cheap option in a town which has high tourist demand and expensive hotels. The staff were really helpful and spoke excellent English. Breakfast was pretty unexciting - bread rolls, museli, yoghurt, jam - but there was as much of it as you wanted to have.

Other facilities include a bar that will provide you with a beer and a pizza if you don'f want to venture into town in the evening.

There were lots of families with young children there when I stayed. It would be an ideal place for them, given that there are play areas, a swimming pool and a zoo very close by, and a 4-bed family room would be pretty inexpensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romance_for_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCE
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

A one night stay in Heidelberg with a soccer team. Romms are clean, service excellent, food was really good. Rules (no noise after 11pm) were followed and i the youth hostel several groups so that our soccer tema had a great moment shared with a dancer group, girls group..
Always with respect for the othe other guests.
Breakfast was excellent and with a great choice, too.
Excellent adress I can warmly recommend !

Room Tip: Cheap but same level as a 3* hotel - try to be on the side on the the football field
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guyhebding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motta Sant'Anastasia, Italy
Level Contributor
346 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a work conference, and this was my first experience with a hostel. The rooms were clean with three beds and a trundle. The bedding was good but the pillow was lacking. The bed was also a foam bed, which I don't care for. The facility was very nice but Internet was on,h available in common areas. The food was good but I got tired of pasta every night. It was overall very carb heavy meals. Also be careful because if you get there late they run out of food. Since I was there with a big group I was surprised they did not plan for us eating. For the price I don't know if I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank mmccauley2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
1.2 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.1 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugendherberge Heidelberg International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugendherberge Heidelberg International

Property: Jugendherberge Heidelberg International
Address: Tiergartenstrasse 5, 69120 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Jugendherberge Tiergartenstrasse)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Jugendherberge Heidelberg International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing