We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel of the past 30 years!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
255 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Best hotel of the past 30 years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is the finest hotel that I've stayed in, in any country for the past 30 years. Everything we were looking for was there and several things that we didn't even think of were also there. Leather sofas, fine furnishings, masterful management all surrounded by luxury and amazing history. It didn't hurt at all that there is an amazing castle just across the river and old town is just a short walk away. We got up early one morning and walked along the river and watched the sun come up. The light here is as amazing as it is in Paris. The old houses in the neighborhood that surround this hotel are also amazing. The restaurants in this hotel were also fantastic. Another couple was eating at a table just a table or so away and they started up a conversation with us. When they found out that we had just flown all the way from Alaska they nick-named us "Alaska" and we ran into them at a couple of other locations and you could always hear "Hey Alaska!" whenever they saw us somewhere. Of every hotel that we've stayed in I would say that the Jan Brito in Bruges and the Die Hirschgasse in Heidelberg are the two hotels that are the most memorable hotels we've stayed in. We've decided that you can stay in a hotel and then forget the experience just a few days later or you can spend a little more time researching to find the absolute best hotel in the area and pay a few extra dollars and find a spectacular hotel that you'll remember forever. This is how we do it now. The venison was as amazing as the restaurant was. This is the ONLY place we will stay now when we are in Heidelberg. Mark Twain was absolutely right!

Room Tip: I'm not sure that you can find a poor choice in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Sigel,

30 years of professional traveling experience are hard to beat - and you award us such a fantastic accolade. A very big THANK YOU for such a devoting statement.

Not all guests nowadays understand anymore, that one has also to pay adequately for enjoying hotel and restaurant life, so in return maintenance and new investments are possible. Of course, there are also economy hotel and guesthouse solutions and downsized bargain offers, but it is only half the fun isn’t it?

Your clear and generous commitment reminds me again on one of my favourite quotes (apart from Mark Twain) which is said to be of John Ruskin:

“It's unwise to pay too much, but it's worse to pay too little. When
you pay too much, you lose a little money - that's all. When you pay
too little, you sometimes lose everything, because the thing you
bought was incapable of doing the thing it was bought to do. The
common law of business balance prohibits paying a little and getting a
lot - it can't be done. If you deal with the lowest bidder, it is well
to add something for the risk you run, and if you do that you will
have enough to pay for something better.”

We look forward to welcome you again in the Hirschgasse Heidelberg

Best regards,
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    51
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
30
97
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

not enough staff. too relaxed .too unprofessional. too pretentious.

rooms : i'm sure some people like the "dead grandmother" look; sorry I didnt know

I would expect a bit more polish in a town as cosmopolitan yet charming as Heidelberg. Oops, wrong again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Well, “grandfather”, I think you missed to study our website properly, which does not hide our historic roots, nor the English design of the country style suites.

How strange to visit a historic hotel from 1472, the oldest hotel of Heidelberg, which even Mark Twain stayed and wrote about and expect a modern Hilton.

Heidelberg stands for a broad range: from the mediaeval times (the ruined big house on the hill, some call it also castle…) to also very modern times.

Alone over 30.000 students leave their imprint on the hectic busy city life, together with day visitors and other tourists. When you had enough of that, you feel really good to retreat to the Hirschgasse Heidelberg and relax on our terrace or sample our latest Gourmet dishes, or also to withdraw into the soothing atmosphere of the individual suites with luxurious old world charm.

Cosmopolitan, as you claim, comes also from being open minded. Oops, locked perhaps?

Best regards,
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

I was visiting the town on personal reasons and spent 2 days at this hotel. The hotel is small, great location but the management is as OFF as it gets. After ordering a taxi, the lady at the reception started complaining about her period pains to us. Later the TV didnt work and they asked me to watch TV at the next room and sleep at my room . Finally I wrote a complaint to the manager Mr Kraft, who replied to me that "I need to relax, and that clearly I was jealous because the receptionist was talking to my father "! PUKES !

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Judging by your sympathetically answer, our suggestion to relax has worked out very well as we see. Thank you, that you were our guest. It is so hard these days to meet really nice customers.
Best regards
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in a quirky and cozy little suite with plenty of room for our family of four. The hotel offers great parking and everything in tourist Heidelberg is a scenic walk away. Breakfast was not included in our rate and it was pricy, but worth it as we all agreed the delightful service and presentation was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cherry-street
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear cherry-street,

Thank you for your very positive comment. We alway love it when we can welcome families in the Hirschgasse Heidelberg. Especially for them we have a friendly rule: Children up to 18(!) are having complimentary breakfast! So, we hope we could extend this courtesy to you.

But also in our restaurants Mensurstube and Le Gourmet we prepare special dishes to the taste of children (Kids happy - parents happy!) One cannot adapt children early enought to appreciate good valuable quality food.

Looking forward to your next visit.
I remain with very best regards,
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is as wonderful as the Four Seasons Las Vegas, at which we recently stayed. Everything was perfect. When we arrived, our name was on our door as if the room belonged to us! A personal note tied to a bottle of wine waited for us inside. The room was the most beautiful I have seen. The bed was very comfortable, we had a jacuzzi bathtub, amazing antiques, leather sofa and chair, and the list goes on. You will have to discover it yourself! We had dinner that night in the smaller restaurant and the food was beautiful and very tasty. The next morning we had the brunch which was memorable, as much as the Mat Hatter Tea at the Sanderson Hotel in London!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Sue,

Thank you ever so much for such a staggering positive critic. We are very honored that you hoist the flag so much for us. You did visit the historic restaurant Mensurstube - make sure that you do not miss the next time our culinary flagship Le Gourmet Heidelberg with award winning 16 Gault Millau points.
Have a Merry Christmas - hope to see you soon in the Hirschgasse Heidelberg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Level Contributor
189 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Classical vintage hotel with great atmosphere and short walk to city center. Quiet and confortable...needs airconditioning in summer though! Late night entry information is critical...since it is likely that you will be out after midnight and the front desk will be closed on your reentry!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westmauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear westmauian,

Thank you for your good comment. To air conditioning..., well we Germans are tough and can cope with occasional hot days;-)

We probably would agree with you, if our hotel would be in Maui ( I wish, it would be...). But that is a very old issue, which always existed, that Americans love their air conditioning, since they have been brought up with it, and often miss it when in Europe.

The Hirschgasse has the big advantage, that it is embedded in a little side valley and surrounded by the woods from the Holy Mountain, with a regulating micro climate, which brings coolness during the night. Our quality of fresh air from the woods is hard to beat in Heidelberg.

As to the cryptic remark of reentry, we show the night entrance to our guests and explain the procedure carefully. Everybody comes in or out - never a problem! Since your stay was wonderful as you state it, I presume that reentry to our hotel was not affected. If you have despite that suggestions, or specific information, please let us know, so we can evaluate how to improve -which is our permanent aim.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the Hirschgasse Heidelberg.

Aloha, Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The impression gained from the moment of the greeting on arrival does not waiver. Staff at the front desk were always very helpful and overall there is a high standard in this hotel that is quietly and expertly maintained. It really is good value for money. My room was excellent, although in many other cities, for security reasons, would not want my name available for all to see at the side of the door, but here its OK. The food in the two restaurants is very good and the waiters attentive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PietreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
1.1 mi away
Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
2.0 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg

Property: Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg
Address: Hirschgasse 3, 69120 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hirschgasse Heidelberg, which is a listed building and over 540 years old, was the place for student fraternities and clubs to fence and celebrate - the oldest in Germany.Now 20 Laura Ashley suites offer a luxurious country house style, all in different design and layouts, which are offered in three categories such as: Junior | Deluxe | Salon. For the ones who do not like identikit chain hotels we are providing the right antidote with a private and familiar ambiance. Check our own official website for daily best rates and offers with growing rewards.Only a short scenic walk along the river Neckar across the Old Bridge (Alte Brücke) brings you into the heart of the Old Town. Retreat to our peace and quietness once the hustle and bustle of the city is too much for you. The nearness to the famous Philosopher’s walk and the holy mountain starting behind our hotel is a paradise for jogging and hiking.Two restaurants offer unique character and quality. The Mensustube with lots of historic memorabilia of the bygone studentic times serving local authentic Food. The Le Gourmet awarded with one Michelin star and 16 points in the Gault Millau accompanies with very charming French service and large wine selection onto a fine culinary expedition.An outstanding luxurious Butler’s breakfast served individually, without having to "fight" on a big buffet for the last piece of sausage, is an experience to start the day relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Die Hirschgasse Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing