We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional hotel in the heart of Heidelberg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Traditional hotel in the heart of Heidelberg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Traditional hotels are not to everyone's taste these days, but this hotel is comfortable and very close to everything in Heidelberg. Stayed here for a couple of days on a business trip and it proved a pleasant stay. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast not outstanding but good enough. No bar or restaurant in the hotel, but plenty of places only a few minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Many rooms have good views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Synodita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitarbeiter H, Manager at Hotel Hollaender Hof, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your friendly review on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you soon back here in Heidelberg. Best wishes - the Holländer Hof team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    205
    45
    4
    2
See reviews for
94
210
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville VA USA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

TripAdvisor didn't steer us wrong here. We had 2 nights to recover from the redeye from US to Frankfurt. So we took the short train ride from FRA airport to Mannheim to Heidelberg. Once here, we walked everywhere we wanted to go in the city. It's a nice hotel literally at the foot of the Alte Bridge. The breakfast room is huge and has a very complete breakfast buffet by European standards. If you want eggs fried or scrambled, they're happy to do that in the back room.

It's a little tricky to drive to the hotel but you'll want to take a taxi for the short ride from the Bahnhof (train station) anyway. It's right on the boulevard that fronts the Neckar river but by car you have to veer off a block or so ahead (you'll know because you'll see the Bridge a block or two ahead) to get to the hotel because the hotel is up above the through roadway which passes under the bridge.

From here it's an easy walk around the corner for a couple of nice restaurants, or a slightly uphill 3-4 block walk to the main pedestrian mall.

Room Tip: We paid an extra E10 to get room #340 -- one of the most spectacular rooms in the hotel. The Old (Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitarbeiter H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hollaender Hof, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear JTworldtraveler,
Thank you very much for rating our hotel and services in such a postive way here on tripadvisor. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay , our substantial breakfast buffet and our location directly in the heart of historic Old Town Heidelberg. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Your Holländer Hof Team Heidelberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

A colleague and I stayed at the Hollaender Hof for business and we really enjoyed this hotel. My room was quite small but cozy and I was very pleased at how clean it was. I was very comfortable here. The staff was so friendly and willing to provide recommendations for restaurants, where to find ATMs, etc.

The breakfast buffet was very good - the fruit salad was by far the star of the buffet show. Thanks for having kiwi :)

For my first visit to Germany, I couldn't have asked for a better experience. Thank you, Hollaender Hof team!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwwtnwbnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitarbeiter H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hollaender Hof, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear kwwtnwbnw,
Thank you very much for taking your time to rate our hotel and staff here on tripadvisor in such a positive way. It is a pleasure to read that we could be part of making your first Germany experience a happy one. Thanks also for rating our breakfast buffet so high- we will do our very best to keep the kiwi in the fruit salad at all times. We are looking very forward to welcoming you again in the future. Your Holländer Hof Team Heidelberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

I've stay in this hotel every time I come to Heidelberg 3-4 times a year. The mountain view over the river is lovely with beautiful old mansions. It's locate right in front of the Old Bridge.

The staff is wonderful always welcoming and making sure my requests are taken care of promptly. There is an ample breakfast buffet with hot and cold choices.

The rooms are larger than many small hotels in the area that I've stayed in before discovering this gem. There are restaurants and bars all around and the main street is 2 blocks away with a mile long stretch of shopping and restaurants.

In general this part of Heidelberg is very busy with tourists and University Students so there is no place in the "Old Town" that is especially quiet so I bring ear plugs for weekend nights when bars are open late.

I strongly recommend this hotel if you want to be in the Heart of City Sites.

Room Tip: I always request a air-conditioned room in the summer as it can be very hot and leaving the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitarbeiter H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hollaender Hof, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Elizabeth H,
Thank you so much for taking your time to rate our hotel and services here on tripadvisor in such a positive way. This is highly appreciated. It is great to read you once more enjoyed staying with us and felt at home as a regular guest of the Holländer Hof hotel. We are looking more than forward to welcoming you again soon in beautiful Heidelberg. Your Holländer Hof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a two day city break. We were given third floor rooms facing the river which had beautiful views and a great location for exploring old Heidelberg. The rooms were reasonable and comfortable.

I have some suggestions for the hotel however because the management is a bit OTT which could spoil your stay:

There is this silly two-tier breakfast system - 6 or 13 euros. Nice breakfast if you pay the higher price but if you choose the 6 euros, you get given a mean plate of one slice of cheese and two meats and you notice a staff member closely watching you throughout breakfast to make sure you don't grab any extra food! I suggest one rate for breakfast and the same for everyone.

Housekeeping - cleaners gave no knock, just keys straight in the door at 0930, then cleaner in the room while I had breakfast about 1000, then another cleaner trying to get in at 1030 before I'd left. We're on holiday and we're the customer - just wait till we've gone for the day!

Silly 24 hr wifi system - free wifi but a 24 hr time limit - totally unnecessary rule that just makes the paying customer feel less welcome.

Flimsy pillows - will suit some not others.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitarbeiter H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hollaender Hof, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,
Thank you very much for taking the time to rate our hotel here on tripadvisor.
It is great to read you enjoyed your rooms and the views you had from there.

Thank you also for your suggestions regarding our two breakfast types.
We used to serve buffet breakfast only for over 20 years in a row but more and more
guests kept asking us if it was possible to have a much lighter breakfast option
in comparison to our substantial breakfast buffet containing a large variety of cold
and warm dishes. As these requests for a much smaller breakfast option
increased we created our so called business breakfast with the help of our guests.
Many of them thank us for this light breakfast option as they just can’t or do not want
to eat that much in the mornings. We were sorry to learn that our business breakfast
was not the right thing for you; however you could have switched to the buffet breakfast
option at any time for your convenience. As our business breakfast at EUR 6.00 is inclusive
of one pot of hot beverage besides the food our breakfast staff makes sure to come by the
tables in case a guest would like to order something in addition and so he or she does not feel
neglected by only having the small breakfast option.

As far as the housekeeping is concerned we deeply apologize for any inconveniences caused
if the cleaners forgot to knock on the door before entering your room. The reason they returned
while you were having your breakfast is that they wanted to clean the room without disturbing you and having your room ready upon your return. The last of our staff members entering your room later on was our head of housekeeping wanting to do her final check. In order make sure that no one from our housekeeping staff enters the room before you have left it for the day we equipped every room with “Please do not disturb” hangers for your convenience.

When staying with us every guest can use our free wifi internet connection as long as she or he is our guest – due to security reasons however, each wifi password is valid for an Operating Life of 24 hours only which means you can be online e.g. 8 hours at day one and 16 hours at day two. If you want to be online e.g. 48 hours in a row then you do need a second password which is also free of charge after the first 24 hours Operating Life has expired.

We were also sorry to read you were not satisfied with the standard pillows provided in the rooms. We know that every person has its own sleeping habit, that’s why we provide a variety of different pillows to choose from. In case our standard pillows do not suit your needs just contact the front office and our staff is more than ready to provide you with the pillow you feel most comfortable with.

We are very thankful for all your comments as they help us to improve our performance. I hope I have covered all your suggestions, if not please feel free to contact us again.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our beautiful city. Your Holländer Hof Team Heidelberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is realy a great place. We stayed on New Years eve with our daughter in a triple room, and what a room! Spacious, comfortable and with river views! The only downside of the room was the weakness of the wireless signal, probably due to the thickness of the walls - this is a very old building. The staff is very friendly and they realy know how to make you feel welcome - they call you by your name everytime! The location is great,just by the old bridge and at the entrance of the old town. We had the express breakfast and it was pretty decent, a larger breakfast is avalable for those willing to start the day in a stronger mood. We realy felt great and we are willing to return to Heidelberg in the late Spring or Sumer and this hotel will be our choice again.

Room Tip: Choose a river view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R-Almeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitarbeiter H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hollaender Hof, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear R-Almeida,
Thank you very much for rating our hotel here on tripadvisor in such a positive way. We really appreciate it. It is always great to read that our guests enjoyed staying with us and felt at home. Due to our unique location directly in the heart of Heidelberg's historic Old Town unfortunately the WLAN connection sometimes is not as stable and fast as in the more modern parts of the city due to constructional circumstances. We were also happy to read you liked our business-breakfast, the smaller breakfast option created for people who do not want to eat that much in the mornings. We are looking very forward to welcoming you again in the future. Your Holländer Hof Team Heidelberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensville, Missouri
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Spent several days here taking in the Weihnachtsmarkte (Christmas Markets) in Heidelberg and surrounding towns. We had a nice room facing the Neckar River with a view of the Altebrucke (old bridge). The room was very clean and well maintained. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. You can easily walk to the Hauptstrasse and all the Christmas Markets in Heidelberg as well as to the Schloss. There are many restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance. You can park your car in front of the hotel to unload luggage, etc. You then need to park in one of the nearby parking lots (Parkhaus P12 or P13). P13 is a little farther (1 block) away, but the hotel recommends it since they have a reduced price agreement with P13. P12 costs 12 Euros per day. P13 costs 8 Euros per day (with a paper you get from the front desk to give to the Parkhaus attendant).

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank techdir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitarbeiter H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hollaender Hof, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear techdir,
Thank you very much for rating our hotel on tripadvisor in such a positive way. We very much appreciate it and are always more than happy to learn that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Heidelberg is always beautiful of course but has a special charm during the Christmas Market season. Thank you also very much for explaining the parking situation in our historic Old Town. While reading it, however, I realized that you interchanged the "Parkhaus" numbers by accident. We do recommend P12 as we have an agreement with this parking lot as it offers reduced rates to our guests. It is totally correct though that P12 is approx. 1 block away from P13. P13 does not offer reduced rates to our hotel guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Heidelberg in the future. Your Holländer Hof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.2 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
1.3 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#12 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hollaender Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hollaender Hof

Property: Hotel Hollaender Hof
Address: Neckarstaden 66, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#12 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hollaender Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated directly in the heart of Old Town Heidelberg opposite the famous Old Bridge. Thanks to its unique location, all major Heidelberg sights can be reached on foot. Most of the 39 rooms offer a spectacular view over the Neckar River, the Old Bridge, and the Philosopher's Walk. All rooms are equipped with either bathtub or shower, toilet, hair-dryer, cable-TV, radio, mini-bar, safe, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi and soundproof windows. In addition some rooms also have air-conditioning. The front office is manned 24 hours. An elevator, rooms for the additional needs of handicapped people as well as a free business corner in the lobby including internet access and printer round up the services. The hotel is a non-smoking property. Pets are welcome upon request - additional charges apply. In the mornings you can either have a light business breakfast or enjoy our substantial breakfast buffet offering a variety of cold and warm dishes. For a couple of minutes, to load or unload your luggage, your car can stay directly in front of the hotel. Our front office staff will then show you the way to one of the public garages nearby (additional charges apply). At the restaurant Zum Spreisel in the same building but under separate management, you enjoy regional and international dishes. During warm weather your meal is also served outside on the terrace in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Hollaender Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollander Hof Hotel
Hollander Hof Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing