We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Charming gem”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were welcomed in morning by gracious staff and tea, she showed great hospitality, maps and directions. Our room overlooked the bridge and around the corner cafés and shops.great location. Room clean and nicely appointed. Our evening experience less warm with no water for tea, short response about using coffee machine, maybe he was tired. Next morning breakfast choices very good and gracious helpful staff.
Coffee machine in lobby is out of character for this gracious, interesting place.

Room Tip: All rooms have view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitarbeiter H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hollaender Hof, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear TravelerMinnesota,
Thank you very much for taking the time to place a comment on our hotel here on tripadvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked your room and the location. We were sorry to read one of our front office staff members did not come up to your expectations as far as his services are concerned. We are deeply sorry and can assure you this will be discussed with the employee in question so it will not happen again. We would be happy to welcome you in beautiful Heidelberg again! Your Holländer Hof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    210
    46
    4
    2
See reviews for
96
216
26
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic hotel in the number one best location in all of Heidelberg. It is right across the road from the river and old bridge. The staff are fantastic and were lovely to deal with and our room was perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bambino0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitarbeiter H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hollaender Hof, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear bambino0,
Thank you so much for your fantastic comment on our hotel and on our staff! We really appreciate it! It is always great to read that our guests enjoyed staying with us and felt comfortable. Thanks again! We would be more than happy to welcome you again in the future! Your Holländer Hof Team Heidelberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was a Christmas season we stayed in this hotel. The entrance hall and every stairs were decorated by Christmas ornaments and they were so bright but solemn.

The rooms were so nice and cozy, so we could stay comfortably. And more, the location is good. So we could go walk around in the town and go shopping easily. We could see nice view of the river. Especially in the early morning and late afternoon, beautiful sunrise and sunset always made us happy. I will never forget exciting Christmas market and this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holms11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitarbeiter H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hollaender Hof, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Holms11,
Thank you very much for rating our hotel on tripadvisor in such a positive way! We are always happy to read that our guests enjoyed staying with us. This Christmas is still some months away but I am sure our housekeeping staff will once more do their utmost to decorate the hotel very nicely this upcoming Christmas season. Thanks again for such a positive comment on our hotel! We would be glad to welcome you again in beautiful Heidelberg! Your Holländer Hof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked late and had a room in the roof (because they were otherwise fully booked) but it was a great room with cracking views particularly when the fire work display occurred. The en suite bathroom was a bit cramped if you are a big fellow like me but for a short stay no problem. Excellent breakfast next morning and what I really noticed was the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff - even when enduring a visiting American's photo album of her extended family (why do they think people are interested?). And its in a good position in terms of the old town and all its restaurants so definitely worth a visit - we are going back in November!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitarbeiter H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hollaender Hof, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Simon J,
Thank you very much for your positive comment on our hotel. Our staff does its utmost to make a guest's stay with us as pleasant as possible. That's also why we do have many regular guests who come back to us on a regular basis for vacation or during their business trips to to enjoy our familly atmosphere. It was a pleasure looking at the album as we know many of the people shown on the pictures. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in November! Your Holländer Hof Team Heidelberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great staff helps with luggage gives 110% and the entire staff acts like they really enjoy there jobs. The rooms are very clean and a nice size. The hotel is located right in the middle of the old town area and on the Necar river. The parking garage is close to the hotel and you get to walk through old town on your return. The breakfast is excellent. So many choices and so little time. I think I had enough to last 2 days and everything was gourmet. We stayed at other Hotels in Heidelberg that were good but they can not compare to Hotel Hollander Hoff.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first 3 floors since the elevator does not go to the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EarlyBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitarbeiter H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hollaender Hof, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear EarlyBirder,
Thank you so much for rating our hotel in such a positve way! We are always happy to read such good comments showing that our guests enjoyed their stay with us in beautiful Heidelberg. We would also like to thank you for your comment on our breakfast buffet. We try our utmost to offer our guests a big variety of different breakfast foods to start the day positvely. As our hotel is a historic building dating back to 1745 it is unfortunately not possible to have the elevator go up to the very top floor. We would be very happy to welcome you again in the future. Your Holländer Hof Team Heidelberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hollander Hof offers reasonably priced clean rooms in the heart of old town.if you get the upper floors Neckar view you will be rewarded w a room well beyond its price. The view of the old bridge and Neckar is fabulous.walking distance to everything you want to see.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kclud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitarbeiter H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hollaender Hof, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for taking the time to place a comment on our hotel, and of course thank you for placing such a good one! We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Your Holländer Hof Team Heidelberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was one of the best located in the old town. It is right at the base of the bridge and within walking distance of the castle and other attractions. Unfortunately our room (basic double) didn't have air conditioning and the fan provided didn't work. When we called the front desk to get a replacement, we were told that one was on it's way but it never came. As others have mentioned, the car park is only 8 EUR but it is fairly far away. When checking out you would be better off leaving your luggage at the hotel, walking to the car and come back to pick it up rather than trying to walk down the cobblestone streets with all your bags. The front desk also requires that you give them the key every time you leave which is a bit odd. This hotel was fine but their main advantage (and likely why it's rated so highly on Trip Advisor) is the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CANTravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitarbeiter H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hollaender Hof, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for rating our hotel.
We would like to inform you that 16 of our 39 rooms do have air-condition.
However they are in a higher price category than the room category you booked.
If you would like to have a room with air-condition please mention this while doing the booking. As our hotel is located directly in the heart of Heidelberg's historic Old Town being a historic building itself, unfortunately we do not have a garage onsite. However most of our guests do leave their luggage at the front office, then get their car at the garage, pull the car in front of the hotel where it can stay for approximately 15 minutes for loading /unloading it.
Yes, it is correct that we kindly ask our guests to leave their keys with us when they go out. We do this out of security reasons. Imagine a room key being lost in town, every one could enter your room and take your valuables out. Furthermore our front office is staffed 24 hours per day so you can get your room key whenever you want. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Heidelberg and would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel. Your Holländer Hof Team Heidelberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
555 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
1.3 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#9 of 76 in Heidelberg
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
408 reviews
1.7 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hollaender Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hollaender Hof

Property: Hotel Hollaender Hof
Address: Neckarstaden 66, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#4 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#12 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hollaender Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated directly in the heart of Old Town Heidelberg opposite the famous Old Bridge. Thanks to its unique location, all major Heidelberg sights can be reached on foot. Most of the 39 rooms offer a spectacular view over the Neckar River, the Old Bridge, and the Philosopher's Walk. All rooms are equipped with either bathtub or shower, toilet, hair-dryer, cable-TV, radio, mini-bar, safe, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi and soundproof windows. In addition some rooms also have air-conditioning. The front office is manned 24 hours. An elevator, rooms for the additional needs of handicapped people as well as a free business corner in the lobby including internet access and printer round up the services. The hotel is a non-smoking property. Pets are welcome upon request - additional charges apply. In the mornings you can either have a light business breakfast or enjoy our substantial breakfast buffet offering a variety of cold and warm dishes. For a couple of minutes, to load or unload your luggage, your car can stay directly in front of the hotel. Our front office staff will then show you the way to one of the public garages nearby (additional charges apply). At the restaurant Zum Spreisel in the same building but under separate management, you enjoy regional and international dishes. During warm weather your meal is also served outside on the terrace in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Hollaender Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollander Hof Hotel
Hollander Hof Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing