We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hollaender Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Western North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Hollander Hof has an unbeatable location right at the old bridge, and two short blocks from the cathedral and other attractions of the old city. We were there on the worst imaginable weekend, (cold, snow, and ice) and yet the hotel was warm and comfortable. The staff spoke excellent English and were most helpful. Because of the close proximity of the Hollander Hof to everything, we were able to brave the weather and take in Heidelberg's most important sites. I'd recommend it without reservation. (Well, maybe you should make a reservation - it's in demand.)

Room Tip: The Superior Rooms on the front with a view of the river and bridge are worth the supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchBroadCabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    203
    45
    4
    2
See reviews for
93
207
26
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our third stay at the Hollander Hof. It is well located and you can walk just about anywhere in minutes - there is excellent shopping, dining, drinking and the can't be missed castle on the hill. We have enjoyed lovely meals at many restaurants within a few minutes walk. The staff is welcoming and warm and incredibly helpful. They speak splendid English and probably a few other languages. The rooms vary but they are all pleasant in size and comfort as is the bath. And clean! The upper floors have air conditioning - a recent update. Other rooms have floor fans if you should need it. The windows are large and swing open to allow the evening air in. Our favorite rooms are any on the front of the hotel that look out over the river - but if you need real quiet, request a room over the courtyard. The breakfast buffet may seem a little overpriced but it is worth it - at least once during your stay. Excellent coffee, great assortment of breads, meat and cheese, juices, yogurt, cereals, fruit, soft boiled and scrambled eggs. The only negative for some may be no on site parking (there is a parking garage a few blocks away - less than 10 minute stroll). We will be staying again this summer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have air conditioning. Rooms overlooking the river make for a beautiful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

A little old but wonderful location. My window looked right onto the bridge. I could walk everywhere and it was a cheap cab ride from the train station. There were some beautiful little bars around the corner. A nice place at christmas time with beautiful decorations. Wifi was available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiemel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a historic hotel, and while it is old, the beds are really comfortable. The view outside our window was beautiful. We could see the Old Bridge and the Neckar River. The hotel is located very near pubs, restaurants, shopping areas.

The breakfast was plentiful and well-presented. Service was great. On Christmas Eve, we even got a lovely surprise with a little basket of goodies in our room. Nice touch! Most of the staff were really warm and hospitable, except for one in the front desk on a couple of late shifts. She didn't seem gentle in her ways unlike all the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marivic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed here last weekend in order to visit the Weihnachtmarkt. The Hotel staff were so welcoming and helpful. The rooms were delightful,clean and warm- which we needed after a delay and difficult journey in the snow from Frankfurt airport. The breakfast was very well presented and plentiful. The Restaurant, attached to the Hotel was so atmospheric ( the beef with dumplings was delicious) and they fitted us in, as residents, at the last moment. The Hotel is well situated-a ston'e throw from everything. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to face the river-it is a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is so lovely. The staff were brilliant, the rooms clean, large and warm and the breakfast lovely. I can't fault it. It was good value and is perfectly situated to walk everywhere into the Old Town. You are right on the river and by the famous bridge. It isn't a modern hotel in decoration etc but that doesn't matter - we need more places with some soul!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
218 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

A hotel with great view. We had a beautiful view of the river just by opening up our window. Close proximity to places of interest. All the places of interest in within walking distance to three hotel. Hotel is a little bit old though.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PCSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.2 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#11 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.3 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hollaender Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hollaender Hof

Property: Hotel Hollaender Hof
Address: Neckarstaden 66, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#4 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#12 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hollaender Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated directly in the heart of Old Town Heidelberg opposite the famous Old Bridge. Thanks to its unique location, all major Heidelberg sights can be reached on foot. Most of the 39 rooms offer a spectacular view over the Neckar River, the Old Bridge, and the Philosopher's Walk. All rooms are equipped with either bathtub or shower, toilet, hair-dryer, cable-TV, radio, mini-bar, safe, direct dial telephone, free Wi-Fi and soundproof windows. In addition some rooms also have air-conditioning. The front office is manned 24 hours. An elevator, rooms for the additional needs of handicapped people as well as a free business corner in the lobby including internet access and printer round up the services. The hotel is a non-smoking property. Pets are welcome upon request - additional charges apply. In the mornings you can either have a light business breakfast or enjoy our substantial breakfast buffet offering a variety of cold and warm dishes. For a couple of minutes, to load or unload your luggage, your car can stay directly in front of the hotel. Our front office staff will then show you the way to one of the public garages nearby (additional charges apply). At the restaurant Zum Spreisel in the same building but under separate management, you enjoy regional and international dishes. During warm weather your meal is also served outside on the terrace in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Hollaender Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollander Hof Hotel
Hollander Hof Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing