We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”

Zum Weissen Schwanen
Ranked #145 of 488 Restaurants in Heidelberg
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
South Carolina
Level Contributor
342 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Very welcoming with a classic old wood interior. Good German food with large portions. The beer selection was neat and central european. I had a daily special of what was fried noodles in cheese with red cabbage, excellent. Since it was raining I sat inside with a window to the pedestrian street. I Highly recommend this place and it was very reasonably priced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorkon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    47
    23
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
148 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“So good, so German!!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

If you are ever in Heidelberg, this is a great option to eat local food. The veal schnitzel, with fries....so good. Try the one that has the sautéed onions on top, a great variation of a classic. The service was great, the ambiance so welcoming. Definitely one restaurant to enjoy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiPiMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dällikon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It has been nine years and counting”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have been going to this wonderful establishment since spring 2005 and have been there at least two times a year since. It is a highlight each time we visit this beautiful city. The service has always been excellent, the food very good and the atmosphere a whole lot of fun. High praise especially to Markus for his ever lasting patience and ability to make the whole table laugh and feel comfortable, and to Manfred for sharing his wonderfully dry and very witty sense of humour. Thank you to the entire staff for always showing us a time that leaves fond memories. We shall be back very soon (especially for the French onion soup…YUM!!! The best we've ever had!!)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sybil37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a place for couples to eat.”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have to been to the White Swan every time we have visited Heidelberg for the Christmas Market, but the experience this time was not good. Nothing to do with the food but the attitude of the staff. We tried to book a table at lunchtime on Sunday for the evening as we really wanted to eat there and Saturday evening was so busy we could not get in. However, we were told by the waitress that they did not take bookings for couples as they didn't want to save a table for only 2 people only. We were quite taken back by this as we would have thought that there were many couples in Heidelberg and it seemed to me not a good attitude to take. We were quite pleased however when we walked past the restaurant in the evening after enjoying a meal at another establishment to notice that they had several empty tables - so maybe they should have taken our booking! We will not be going to this place when we next visit Heidelberg and would not recommend it because of the attitude of the staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Christmas Tradition”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We've been going to Heidelberg for the Christmas market with friends since 2009 and part of the tradition is Sunday lunch in "Zum Weissen Schwan".

We all love it there, the atmosphere is great, you can look out at all the shoppers going past and the interior of the restaurant is very traditional.

Service is always excellent, as a starter, I would recommend the French Onion soup which is served with cooked cheese on toast on top; delicious!

We had the Wienerschnitzel, "Jägerart", which has a delicious mushroom sauce on top and is served with chips, or fries in American English....:-)

The Christmas beer is extremely tasty too.

We love it here and hope to make it back for next Christmas!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GNeuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Weissen Schwanen also viewed

Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Zum Weissen Schwanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing