We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funny place - won't go back”
Review of Perkeo

Perkeo
Ranked #103 of 497 Restaurants in Heidelberg
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Funny place - won't go back”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I went late at night and ordered a Jameson as listed on the menu. They were out of this drink, which seemed a bit odd, though it isn't their specialty I'm sure. I have no idea what their speciality could be though. It has an interesting traditional atmosphere, but it is neither well-kept nor well-preserved. Maybe better in the morning.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kgustaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    95
    61
    31
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Huge Bug in My Salad!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We saw this place while walking around Heidelberg. It looked good and had a large menu. My husband ordered pork and I ordered a salad. The waitress took a ridiculous amount of time to get us our drinks, take our order and then bring our food. When my salad finally came, after a few bites I noticed something strange. It was a huge green caterpillar in my salad. I was sooo disgusted, my stomach was turning. This thing was the size of my pinky finger! The people sitting next to us saw my reaction and asked what happened and when I told them, they were also disgusted. They called the waitress over and spoke to her in German about it. The waitress apologized and spoke to the manager. He never came over to apologize or see if there was anything he can do. The waitress said that I could either get another salad or whatever else I wanted off the menu. After seeing this huge bug in my food, you really think I want more food from this disgusting place? My husband lost his appetite and couldnt eat anymore. We asked for the check. The waitress informed us that the manager said we would not have to pay for the salad but everything else we have to pay for. YEAH THANKS.
DO NOT GO HERE. It is a waste of time and money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qtpie815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good food and attractive location”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We enjoyed another very good meal here, having dined here tow years ago. The food is delicious and served very hot and fresh. The service was very nice, efficient and quiet. This is our favorite place to pop into while enjoying an evening in Old Town!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GOarmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Interior stained glass worth a visit!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Perkeo is conveniently situated on the Hauptstrasse in Heidelberg. It has a large sign with the famous "guardian of the giant keg" Perkeo beckoning you entry to the restaurant! Right inside the entrance you will find a smallish seating area with the nice looking bar directly ahead of you. Venturing further into the restaurant it expands into a larger and much lighter part with more seating. The stained glass ceiling and windows in this area are quite lovely. Though obviously not centuries old, the stained glass is still quite beautiful and lovely to look at while you dine. The food in Perkeo is good and the menu quite large with weekend/daily specials advertised. It is in german and english so easy for the non-english speaker to peruse. They have a large breakfast menu as well as all manners of appetizers/salads/meat/fish/duck, etc. The regular menu is mostly what you would expect in a german restaurant and then they have the daily/seasonal menu. The staff were attentive, humorous, and spoke english well. My salad with chicken was large and came with fresh bread. My spouse's "special of the day" of duck with pineapple sauerkraut and croquettes came with a side salad was quite tasty! The wine was a nice chilled, dry pino grigio. The meal ended with cappuccinos. All in all, a pleasant experience. We have visited this restaurant in the past and have had various items on the menu and each time we left satisfied. For those wishing for a good meal without worry of a language barrier then I can heartily recommend Perkeo both for it's food and atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank serene4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“great place for brunch”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Outside seating on the Haupstrasse or an inner courtyard. Good breakfasts. Inside full of fun pictures. Have eaten there several times and always have a good meal. Menus have English.

Helpful?
1 Thank loving_midlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perkeo also viewed

Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Perkeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing