We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff made this 5 star for me.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed one night in Heidelberg in July - normally go for smaller, private hotels, but this was well priced and centrally located, so booked on line. Good location for the old town, although Heidelberg was a bit bigger than expected, so we walked a lot!
The reception staff were extremely helpful - and probably the reason I give this review 4 stars, otherwise hotel was certainly up to standard and did not disappoint. Car park a bit expensive, but we arrived early and left late the next day and still only got charged for 24 hours - so again no complaint!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wemwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed at this hotel for the Formula 1 race. It was very comfortable and well appointed. The front desk staff was helpful with local activities and reservations. The indoor pool is a nice touch. The only negative was the Internet . You have to pay where a lot of hotels are free. It's a nice location close to restaurants and shops

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Easy walking distance of all the sites, shops and restuarants. Sat nav took us directly to the secure underground car park.
Rooms were large enough clean with free wifi if you have IHG membership.
Bathroom was OK but in need of a refurb. The whole hotel is in need of a update soon.
Breakfast was average.
Staff were very nice and attentive.
Bar had no unique selling points.

Room Tip: Do not stay by the service elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdy907, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Richard,
first of all thank you very much for taking time to write a review about your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center. We are very pleased to hear that you were staisfied with the services, location and rooms. I regret to hear that you found breakfast avarage but the staff nice and attentive. Thank you also for your kind hints with regard to breakfast and hotel product,
We look forward to welcoming you back at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg soon again.
Kind Regards, Koren Yueksel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The hotel was located in a great location if you want to walk around central Heidelberg. The staff was lovely and very helpful. These are the positives. The breakfast buffet was quite nice too. There were a few negatives.

Rooms: The rooms are on the small size. They could use some updating as could the hallways. The bathroom was roomy enough but also could use some updating. There was not a complementary bottle of cream rinse in the bathroom.

Internet: we were extremely disappointed that in this day and age, there was a hefty charge for wifi-€13,50 per day! We were told that we could use the computers in their "BusinessCenter" to access the internet but the keyboards were in German and the characters did not match the English keyboards very well. If wifi is complementary at Starbucks, it should be complementary at the Crowne Plaza!

Our stay in Heidelberg was quite nice but the hotel was a just ordinary.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdy907, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Carol B, thank you very much for taking time to write a review about your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center. I regret to read that you have found your room small. Our standard rooms have 22 sqm which is over standard in hotel business. We also offer Club Rooms, they have 28 sqm. You can book this category for a an extra charge.
Indeed we charge for internet. Our internet services are secure and in this regard not comparable with others in public Cafes or Pubs. We are also investing year on year for speed and security. Please bear in mind if you use IHG hotels for the future you can become a member of worlds largest loyalty program called IHG Reards Club. Members of IHG Reward Clubs get WLAN services free of charge up to 3 devices during their entire stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in Heidelberg again.
Kind Regards, Koren Yueksel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I booked my stay here months in advance, taking advantage of some special offer that IHG had. I am sitting in my hotel room right this minute, and I have to say I wish every hotel stay could be as good as this one.

I am an IHG "Gold" member, which generally means nothing. However, this hotel offers all Priority Club members free, reasonably fast WiFI for up to two devices. Gold members get a free-drink voucher(s). We were upgraded to a "Club" room, which appears to be larger in size than normal and includes two comfortable chairs and a desk. Oh, and shortly after we checked in there was a knock on the door offering me a free bottle of some type of lemonade as a Gold member. I'd love to see what these folks do for a platinum!

The mini-bar is stocked with seven items and you can just buy them all for 8.50 euros: two beers, one Diet Coke, one orange juice, one sparkling water, a bag of peanuts, and an apple juice. There is a pod style coffee maker with several pods available; only two sugars, though. There were plenty of outlets for our electronics: four European, one American, and one British.

We enjoyed our free drinks in the little outdoor area in front of the hotel. It's really not all that nice, but the best the hotel can do. Also, there is a barber shop connected to the hotel that does a booming business. The summer heat was giving me sweaty hair so I got it cut fairly short for 12 euros.

There is a large department store not far from the hotel, and the Old Town starts on the other side of the department store. The castle is probably about three-fourths of a mile.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone. Good for businessmen, and if you can get a deal with an advance-purchase rate it can be a decent splurge for leisure travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crack-O-Noon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdy907, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Crack-0-Noon,
thank you very much for taking time to write a review about your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay, facilities, location and as well as our Club Rooms. We hope to welcome you back in Heidelberg one day again. Kind Regards. Koren Yueksel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Perfect location. Decent rooms, although bathrooms need some renovation. Clean hotel. Superb breakfast. Nice pool area too. You can skip their parking fee and park your car in the alley behind the hotel, specially if you are coming for a weekend. Nice staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank designative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdy907, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Designative,
thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center. It is great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the hotel, facilities, cleanliness of hotel facilitites as well as friendliness of our staff members. We hope to welcome you back at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg soon. Kind Regards. Koren Yueksel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great stay, professional staff, nice reception, comfortable air conditioned rooms with tea & coffee facilities, excellent breakfast, pleasant pool and hot tub, has a sauna as well and private parking 22 euros/day, free WiFi if you join their club which you can do on the spot. 100 meters from old city and shopping street and walkable distance to river and castle . Very nice Italian restaurants few minutes walk from the hotel. Bar , restaurant at hotel are good but you can pay much less outside specially if you are a family. Worth the price, I will go again

Room Tip: Ask for a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Shaheer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
1,032 reviews
0.5 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
478 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#9 of 76 in Heidelberg
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
0.2 mi away
Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre

Address: Kurfuersten-Anlage 1, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Heidelberg
#4 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#5 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#7 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range: $112 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg is due to its excellent city location the ideal starting point for your visit in Heidelberg and the metropol region Rhine-Neckar making it a great place to stay.The world famous sights of the city of Heidelberg can be conveniently reached by foot. If you are visiting the city on business, local companies like SAP, Heidelberger Druck, ABB and HeidelbergCement are located only a short distance from the hotel. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg offers refurbished guestrooms and suites in various sizes making your stay a memorable experience. For dining you have the choice between the restaurant West coast and the beer and wine bar Gaudeamus .For hotel guests the use of our wellness area Kurfuerstentherme with pool, sauna, steam bath and whirlpool is complimentary. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg is offering you the perfect location for your events. 7 function rooms with modern technical equipment combined with excellent service and the experience of our staff guarantee a successful event. The Lufthansa Airport Shuttle takes you conveniently from the International Airport Frankfurt to our hotel. Starting from 22nd May 2017 construction works will take place from Monday to Friday between 8 am and 8 pm. Occasionally noises could occur. We appreciate your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg
Heidelberg Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing