We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location/ Lovely Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Location/ Lovely Staff”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our trip this time was multi-purpose...business with a visit from our son who is living in DK. From the moment we arrived (early, we shouldn't have been able to check in till afternoon) the front desk staff was more than gracious! Our room was not yet available so we were invited to slip into the closed breakfast room and get coffees to tide us over till the room was ready. They took our bags and then delivered them to the room so we didn't have to be concerned about their safety while we explored the property. (The room was ready less than an hour after we arrived. They have a lovely work out room that is open 24 hours. A great pool/hot tub, sauna/ steam room area. It is always staffed, and you get two huge towels for using. There is a bar, lots of places for relaxing...not your standard hotel "pool" experience. Breakfast was International and for the American palate offers items you normally would never experience in the U.S. (While also providing made to order omelettes and other familiar foods.) Great for teaching your kids and letting them experience new/cultural differences. Wake up calls were great....we were asked during that first call if we wanted a 2nd call in ten min.s....for those of us who fall back asleep after the alarm goes off! We stayed nine nights. I walked the city center, looked for bakeries and shopped, drank coffee and marveled at the history and architecture. It was cold but certainly walkable! Especially with so many places to duck in and get warm and look at all the offerings the city has to offer. The staff was so nice. We asked a variety of questions and always got gracious answers...There is a business center with two nice computers set up for visitor use. That is one thing...no free wifi access. You will pay if you want computer access in your room. But I found the computers available everytime I wanted to check mail or send it. Lots of TV channels....CNN and BBC channels in English.
Our son joined us for 3 nights....he had a great time using the spa facilities and was treated well. As an 18 year old traveling alone he has been treated less than graciously...Here he was accepted and treated as the adult he is! After a few days stay we received a note from the general manager in our room with complimentary hand made chocolates as a thank you for staying....I think you will find this a great location for any and all occasions...Enjoy! OH, don't miss the big fluffy robes for your use....perfect for your trips down to the spa! Just bring slippers or flip-flops!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the city, ask for room with a view. We had a room that looked out over the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

To be honest I do not know where to start thanking my team for making your stay such a memorable one. Therefore I have just taken the liberty to print your comment and hang it into our canteen so that everybody can read it. It is always a pleasure to see that our staff make the difference and that our guests appreciate the efforts we take.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    456
    141
    21
    17
See reviews for
222
306
46
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
york
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husbandand I stayed here over Christmas and had a very relaxing stay. Food is consistently good and the breakfasts cater fo everyone' s taste. Staff are helpful and freindly. The location is perfect for the main shopping area and only a 15min walk from the old town.
Room service is quick and efficient. The rooms are clean and beds comfortable and reception areas /main dining room very pleasant.
There is a Lufthansa shuttle from outside Frankfurt Main airport which takes you to the hotel door....albeit the rear of the hotel ! It is 40 euros return and well worth it.
We stayed in a club room and had access to the club lounge. The food in the evening is good enough to dine on without venturing into town. Bar prices are good also.
Heidelberg is a lovely town with great shopping....have yet to find a nice park there but walks along the river are very pleasant. Food in general here is very good....and the atmosphere around Christmas time is lovely. Thoroughly looking forward to saying here again.

Room Tip: Try for a room that is not overlooking the bus station as a cobbled floor from reception exit to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patncath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

We are grateful to receive such a nice review from a regular guest. Our front desk team will give you information about places to go to in Heidelberg. My personal favorite: the castle garden in Schwetzingen, about 15 minutes from Heidelberg away. Beautiful regardless of the season and worth the trip.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many times as a couple, and in recent years we have taken the children with us too. Rooms are warm (in winter months), clean and spacious. Breakfast is buffet style and plentiful. Children had no problems filling their plates with sausages, hash browns, beans and mushrooms! Coffee is self serve. The swimming pool was a welcome retreat when we visited in April (2012) as the weather was unseasonably warm and a dip in the basement pool was the perfect ending to a perfect day. The children also loved their time spent in the pool on our last visit (December 12) avoiding the heavy downpours outside. Location is good, it is not in the centre of town but can easily be walked within 5-10 minutes. McDonalds is just a stones throw away from the Crowne Plaza making room only feasible if you are only in town for a day or two. Plenty of other good cafe, restaurants nearby too. We love Heidelberg the Vehicular is a must as is a river cruise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deva123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

Receiving such a good review from a returning guests feels very good. We are glad that your children enjoy our pool area. To make our spa even more attractive we have installed a completely new sauna in October.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
Level Contributor
342 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had zero complaints about this hotel. I had no problems finding it from the Abahn, reception was efficient and friendly. Room was well equipped and comfortable.. Location near the old town was very convenient, though it is on the far end of the old town from the sights and is by no means in the center of the old town. Breakfast was fine (though expensive as with all hotels). Did not try pool or sauna. Plenty or restaurants/cafes in old town

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biztrav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was a nice one and that you liked your guest room. Our location offers guests to opportunity to walk within 15 minutes to most of the sights in Heidelberg and many combine it with a shopping stroll along Germanys longest pedestrian zone.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is fine, but you do not get what you pay for. It is not in the center of town, rather on the edge of the fressgasse. While the area around the hotel is quiet, in the room you can hear EVERYTHING. Maybe our room was above a conference hall, but beginning before 4am staff seemed to be moving tables around a room, LOUDLY, which lasted til 6. Breakfast is overcroweded....does not seem the restaurant is big enough for how many guests can occupy the hotel at a time. We went at prime time, but that is still no excuse to have to wait 30 minutes for food to be refilled and to get cups etc. The facility was clean, simple, but not really a 4 star. The hotel should probably be priced at about half of what it is, and then I would say it was on par with other hotel of its class, and it would then get a better rating from me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kath91982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

We are sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. As we would like to get more details we will contact you separately.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, ENgland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived in the early evening and found that the hotel was not far from the station. The check-in was simple and we (my wife and I and 17 year old son) were able to get in to our rooms quickly so we could meet our daughter who is studyuing in Heidelberg. As part of our package we had one free drink each in the bar which was small and with very friendly staff. The hotel was busy witha conference while we were there, but this did not affect us at all. The rooms were good with high ceilings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timatheronwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

We are glad that we were able to make your family reunion a nice one. Our bar staff are delighted about your positive comment about their friendliness.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Embrach, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were 2 nights in this hotel.
Check In:
The Check In Procedure was complicated. 1 Reservation for 2 rooms we have to do check in separately. We have to wait for the room and after 30min i asked the front office about our room, they do not know about our reservation. When we finaly got our room key, we got another surprise, 1 room is smoking room even we ordered non smoking room, but the front office crew give us smoking room. When we complained the staf said the hotel fully booked, i saw him our reservation which writen "non smoking room" he finally give us non smoking room.

Restaurant:
On the 1st day when we want to get our breakfast, we have to pay directly and the waitress said that they can not charge our breakfast to our room. I ask her to check why we can not charge our breakfast to our room, after 1 hour she said that the problem was internal transfer system in the hotel.
At night we take our dinner in the hotel, the personal was great, when i get my meal, the french fries was cold, i ask the waiters to warm up my fries and they change my fries.

On the 2nd day when we want to get our breakfast, they can accept to charge our breakfast to our room but have to fill up only the bill, but all tables was dirty, when i ask 1 waitress if we may use the table, we got no answer, after a while we decide to use one table and ask the same waitress to clean up the table, again she do not say anything and clean up the table roughly, many cutlery was falling down the the floor and she said nothing and left us and let some dirty dishes there. Fortunately 1 waitress realize our problem and she clean up the table. When we take our breakfast on buffet and my mother in law sit and wait for us, the same waitress who received us ask my mother in law in English again our room number, event in the bill was written on which room we are staying!

Room:
Our rooms was clean and enough space. There are water boiler, 2 cups, coffee and tea available.
At about 17:00 when we get our naps, someone knock the door 2 times and enter our room without to say "Room Service". She said she want to controll the room

Swiming Pool & Fitness room availabe for free.

Parking: Hotel parking available.

We will not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPHeidelberg, Geschäftsführer at Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for rating the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Center, located in the heart of Heidelberg.

We are sorry to hear that you have had some difficulties while staying with us and we will contact you separately to get some more details. We do take your comments seriously.

We hope to have you as a guest with us again in the new future at the Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre.

Best regards,

Koren Yüksel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Heidelberg Suites
Heidelberg Suites
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
Address: Kurfuersten-Anlage 1, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Heidelberg
#4 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#7 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#7 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg is due to its excellent city location the ideal starting point for your visit in Heidelberg and the metropol region Rhine-Neckar making it a great place to stay.The world famous sights of the city of Heidelberg can be conveniently reached by foot. If you are visiting the city on business, local companies like SAP, Heidelberger Druck, ABB and HeidelbergCement are located only a short distance from the hotel. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg offers refurbished guestrooms and suites in various sizes making your stay a memorable experience. For dining you have the choice between the restaurant West coast and the beer and wine bar Gaudeamus .For hotel guests the use of our wellness area Kurfuerstentherme with pool, sauna, steam bath and whirlpool is complimentary. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Heidelberg is offering you the perfect location for your events. 7 function rooms with modern technical equipment combined with excellent service and the experience of our staff guarantee a successful event. The Lufthansa Airport Shuttle takes you conveniently from the International Airport Frankfurt to our hotel. Starting from 22nd May 2017 construction works will take place from Monday to Friday between 8 am and 8 pm. Occasionally noises could occur. We appreciate your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg
Heidelberg Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing