We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff and very pet friendly”
Review of Bayrischer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bayrischer Hof
Ranked #27 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We had a great experience at the Hotel Bayrischer Hof. It began with the staff placing a doggie water bowl and doggie blanket in the room. We take our dog all over the place with us and we have never had something like this.
The hotel was very bright and clean. Some of it is a little outdated but with every thing being so clean it really didn't matter. The room was large (especially for European rooms) as the bathroom was always large. The breakfast was very good. Large selection - the typical European food of lunch meats, cheese and bakery goods along with eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit and cereals. The cost was only 7euros per person. All of the staff where very helpful and pleasant. It was a little loud outside at night but we had our windows wide open so it was expected.
Great location, right across from the start of the Hauptstrasse (the main pedestrian road with all the shopping and restaurants). The Hauptstrasse runs parallel to the river.
Parking was near by in a secured parking garage and cost 12euros a day.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AsquareIU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
There are newer reviews for Bayrischer Hof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 378 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. This hotel is located in the heart of Heidelberg with good access to public transport and just a few minutes walk to the the main shopping / pedestrian zone.

If you arrive by train, you can get to the hotel via a short cab ride (about 10 euros) or if you don't have too much luggage the trams are very convenient and only a 7-10 minute ride. If you take the trams, the train station stop is directly outside the side doors to the station. As you enter the station from the train platforms, continue walking straight and out the side doors. The tram stop will be directly in front of you. Take trams 5 or 21 (going in the direction to your right as you face away from the train station) to Bismarkplatz. The fare is 1.20 euro and tickets can be purchased at the machine at the tram stop. Be sure to validate your ticket once you board the tram! At Bismarkplatz, exit the tram and walk to your right. The hotel is directly across the street.

I was warmly welcomed at check-in by a very personable young woman who offered me a welcome drink. She spoke English quite well, as did most of the staff I encountered at the hotel. After check-in I headed to my assigned room on the top floor of the hotel. The room was about 1/3rd larger than most other hotels rooms I had stayed in during my travels through Europe. The room contained a small desk, small flat screen TV, coffee / tea maker, and a large closet for clothes. Both the room and bathroom were immaculately clean. A nice benefit was the size of the shower which was about 25% larger than showers in single rooms I had stayed in at other hotels throughout Europe.

Every staff member I had contact with were uniformly friendly and helpful. I believe the hotel is associated with a hotel and food and beverage management school. There seemed to be a large number of younger (20 something) staff working in the hotel. All seemed to enjoy their job.

I did not use the restaurant or bar as there are so many food and beverage establishments outside of the hotel within a very short walking distance.

For those who seek a self service laundry, there is a laundrymat ("Waschsalon") just a 7 minute walk from the hotel. As you leave the hotel, go right and walk about 5-7 minutes. When you see the Crown Plaza Hotel across the street, cross the street and walk another 300 feet. The laundrymat is on your right and is managed by a very nice woman. You can do your own laundry for about 10 euros (wash and dry) or pay a little more and leave it with the manager and come back later to pick up your laundry.

I highly recommend this hotel for its location, product, value, and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelstuff0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

The hotel gets 9.5/10 from me(and my family which traveled with me)
Location : Just perfectly situated ..bang in the centre of the town. You can walk to most of the old city attractions and the philosophers weg and the river is also a 5-10 min walk away. You have infinite public transport possibilities right outside the hotel door. You can reach the castle cable car in 5 min by bus or 10 min if you walk. You can find the Hauptstrasse (main street) starting a few meters from the hotel door and have infinite possibilities of shopping and eating. There is nothing far from this hotel.
Also very easily accessible from the train station. 10 EUR max.
Hotel & rooms : It is very well maintained and beautiful. Each of the rooms have a different theme and they match with the furniture and fittings. The bathrooms are really well equipped and the quality of toiletries is really outstanding. Each room also has Tea-Coffee making facility which is very convenient. Many rooms have views of the busy square but you cannot hear a sound due to the good quality windows.
Staff : Very courteous and welcoming staff.Extremely efficient and helpful. They managed to get a large taxi for us to travel to Frankfurt at a great price. Also, many of the staff are students and hence they are very enthusiastic and the atmosphere is lively.
The hotel welcomes you with a glass of champagne when you arrive...really nice when you come back tired from some travel. Simple thing.. but very nice.They provided a wonderful baby bed as we had requested for one.
Breakfast : The breakfast is an extra but very very good value for money. You are pampered with loads of stuff and all of excellent quality.The variety and quality of stuff at breakfast is way more than the small price for the breakfast.
Only one negative - The room carpet was not completely clean and had some stains in one of our rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shremu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We chose this hotel online because it sounded like good value for money and we were not disappointed. Our friendly experience started with a welcoming glass of wine as we were escorted to our room. We had plenty of space with an adjoining room with casual seating, little table and refrigerator. The room decor was fresh and bright.
Location is fantastic if you want to go shopping along the Haupstrabe (appeared to be main street). Trams and buses leave from Bismark Platz adjacent to hotel. There was a bit of noise on the Saturday night from Bismarck Platz below (we had a front room) from people out and about late. But shutting the windows sorted that and we had a good nights sleep. Maybe an issue on hot nights if you have to shut windows to block noise as there is no air conditioning.
Free and reliable WiFi was a great bonus.
The hotel staff recommended Cafe Rossi for breakfast just a couple of doors along. Fantastic breakfast options.
No hesitations in recommending this hotel if you want a comfy pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwis-two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Just a single night stay on our drive home from Stuttgart. We picked a couple of locations we wanted to see and we chose this hotel for the evening in Heidelberg.
It's a cool little hotel with young but very friendly staff. It's situated right on the edge of the main shopping district but a little way from the historic sights.
Our booking didn't include breakfast but we paid 12euro each for it anyway which was reasonable.
The hotel has parking which they charge 12 euros for, the public car park nearby costs only 10.
Not much else to say because we didn't stay long. It was nice, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prokurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed for one night in this lovely hotel. The staff were tremendous and very welcoming. We were offered a glass of wine on arrival and then we went next door for dinner at the Cafe Rossi as recommended.

The room was large and well decorated. There was no air-con but as the weather was very wet we didn't need it. The hotel is in the middle of a busy part of town but with the windows shut there wasn't too much noise.

We didn't bother with breakfast but walked round the nearby streets and picked up a snack from one of the many cafes.

Worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Stayed one night as part of a motorbike tour - hence the secure underground parking was essential. At 12 Euros per night a bit expensive, but worth it, as there's very little decent parking nearby. Location, at one end of the main shopping street through the old town, is superb. Don't bother paying for a breakfast, as there are plenty of eateries around. Hotel is spotless, staff friendly & accomodating. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane_UK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg City Center
0.5 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#42 of 76 in Heidelberg
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
0.3 mi away
Exzellenz Hotel
Exzellenz Hotel
#18 of 76 in Heidelberg
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayrischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayrischer Hof

Address: Rohrbacherstrasse 2, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range: $91 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayrischer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayrischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayrischer Hof Heidelberg
Bayrischer Hof Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing