We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not at this price”
Review of Bayrischer Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayrischer Hof
Ranked #28 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“not at this price”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent a night in this hotel in July, it was hot and we would not search a room for longtime, so we reserved the room (2 adults and 1 child) at 13.00. First bad surprise; the room was not ready and we have to wait untill 16.00!! Nowhere in the world a room is not ready till 4p.m. The staff was very polite but also at 4p.m. we have to wait they finish. Second bad surprise; the room is large and good but it lacks air conditioning (more than 30 C outside) and the window are just on the chimney of the kitchen!! Breakfast so so, it costs 104 euro per night wit h a special auction (?) for such a structure, which claims a 3 star rating is definetely too much, there are other structures in the area and also inside the old town, Avoid it in summertime.

Room Tip: not on the kitchen!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gioele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    163
    53
    21
    15
See reviews for
66
139
27
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was one of the best value hotels we found on our German tour. However, it was during a very hot spell, and there was no aircon. They did provide us with an extra fan when requested, though, as charmingly as every other service provided. The staff were exemplary - all requests met with polite and efficient responses. Our room was big, well-furnished (including tea and coffee making facilities) and spotless, with a lovely big en suite shower room. Excellent location near public transport and right on the doorstep of the old town. Highly recommended! Cafe Rossi (see separate review) around the corner offer a Sunday brunch to die for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here for a week long business trip in Heidelberg. The hotel has a great location on Bismark Platz, very close to the main shopping street where many restaurants are located. It's maybe 20 minutes walk to the station, and a similar distance to the Castle. The location can also be a downside - I had a small suite overlooking the street which was quiet with the windows shut but pretty noisy with the windows open trying to keep cool in the summer heat. They provide ear plugs and they were necessary. I'd recommend asking for a room without a view! Other aspects of the hotel were good to excellent: very pleasant staff, decent sized rooms, and somewhat patchy but serviceable free internet. I'd stay there again in autumn / winter / spring, but might look elsewhere on another summer trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. The location is perfect - right at the edge of Old Town, providing easy access to all the best parts of Heidelberg, and only a 15-20 minute walk (or 5 minute taxi ride) from the main train station. The rooms are generally small but well-furnished. The beds are on the hard side but are exactly as expected for a 3-star European hotel, and are comfortable enough for easy sleeping. The breakfast is excellent, with daily specials complementing the standard everyday buffet. The staff is friendly and helpful.

The only downside is the lack of A/C, which can make for some uncomfortable evenings. Rooms that face the interior courtyard get very little breeze, making it extremely difficult to cool down the rooms even hours after sunset. Small fans are provided, but if you're visiting in the warm months and have difficulty sleeping when you are too warm, you may have trouble here.

Room Tip: Interior, courtyard rooms are quieter but harder to cool in summer. Exterior rooms are noisier but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Bayrischer proved to be a very wise choice.

Right at city's heartbeat, just where the main pedestrian area starts.

The staff has been extremely helpful, the room was really clean and the bathroom renovated.

Ideal for your Heidelberg visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandrosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed one night while visiting my daughter who is studying at the university in Heidelberg. Hotels here are expensive and rooms not very large, so this property is a nice find and just a short streetcar ride from the main train station. Rooms are fairly spacious, very clean and quiet; newly installed windows do a great job of blocking noise from busy Bismarckplatz. There is no air-conditioning because of historic preservation rules, so on a hot evening this could be a drawback, though a portable fan is provided which should be OK. The bathroom was very well-equipped

Excellent breakfast is available, with something special every day (pancakes on Monday, freshly squeezed juice or smoothies on Tuesday...). A glass of sparkling wine was offered at check-in (a nice surprise), and ice cream was available in the afternoon. The hotel also has a restaurant about 20 min. walk away from this location, serving traditional Swabian food with a view of the Neckar River. Hotel guests are offered a coupon for a free soft drink at the restaurant - not a big bonus, but for a family with children this might be a useful extra.

For me the highlight was the staff, very friendly and helpful, not always to be expected in a busy property in a major tourist attraction like Heidelberg. I arrived very early, and was cheerfully given a wifi password and offered coffee while waiting for a room to be ready. Service in Germany is often more efficient and "correct" than friendly, so I found the staff at the Bayrischer Hof a very nice change. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Warm welcome with a glass of champagne. Large room with hardwood floors, modern decor, and full bath. No in-room coffee. Great location close to all city attractions. Would suggest taking a tram or taxi from the train station with luggage.

Room Tip: Room 221 was large and faced the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg City Center
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exzellenz Hotel
Exzellenz Hotel
#19 of 76 in Heidelberg
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayrischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayrischer Hof

Property: Bayrischer Hof
Address: Rohrbacherstrasse 2, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayrischer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HRS, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayrischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayrischer Hof Heidelberg
Bayrischer Hof Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing