We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Standard Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg City Center
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Pretty Standard Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Luckily I checked AlyxPD's review as we'd booked the the wrong Leonardo hotel. This was a one night stop and proved more than adequate: the receptionist was very friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and clean, and the secure garage perfect if a little expensive at 17 euros. We didn't bother with the expensive breakfast as there are loads of cafes around to eat at a fraction of the price. The only downside was that the air con wasn't very effective.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmg513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    140
    88
    31
    9
See reviews for
33
116
11
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Make sure you go to the right Leonardo Hotel. Heidelberg has two. This one is a beautiful building right in the middle of town. It's walking distance from the river and walking distance from the main shopping area and Schloss Heidelberg. My room was located in the front, so I had a lovely view of the street. Decent continental breakfast. One negative-- the weight room is just that-- a room smaller than a hotel room, with only three pieces of equipment inside of it.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front have either a private balcony or access to a balcony next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlyxPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lima
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was a one night stop for us on our European vacation. We walked from here to the castle and the main pedestrian area. There were no major complaints, Except that the breakfast was 18 euro each if you choose to eat there. There are so many deli/bakery places right outside this hotel that it would be a shame to settle for an overpriced hotel breakfast. Other than that, the staff was nice, we didnt have any issues with noise level, or cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel is not by most standards a four or five star hotel. The room was a little small and the bathroom had something to be desired, but the location - just five minutes from the old city and walking street - and service of the staff made it worth returning to. The hotel is an easy one stop on a city bus from the train station, which saves the traveler 10 Euro for a taxi. One can either walk to the Altstadt (an easy stroll) or catch a bus and drop off at Bismarck Platz. Breakfast was excellent and we chose to sit outside one cool morning in the garden. The staff are attentive and very helpful to get around.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the main street and buy a day pass for the bus and tram
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in June and have both praise and criticism to report. To start with the good things: The hotel is well situated within walking distance from the old town and with plenty of restaurants and coffee shops in the neighborhood. The room we got was surprisingly spacious and had even a balcony, which was a nice surprise. Everything - room and common areas - were clean and in a good state of repair. The breakfast room was nicely decorated and had even an outdoor area, which you could use in nice weather. The breakfast itself contained everything you expect to find on a breakfast buffet nowadays, but we noticed more than once that the staff was a little slow in replenishing the buffet and in making table ready for new guests.
Now to the criticism: internet connection cost 15 euros a day which is expensive, but the connection speed was moreover sooo slow. Definitely not worth the price.
Conclusion: If an internet connection is not important for you, you can choose this hotel as well as other similar hotels in the area, but if a fast internet connection is important for you - choose something else!

Room Tip: The rooms at the backside of the hotel had balconies and were probably quieter also
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andand49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyertown, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Strange place. Clean room, friendly staff--but wacky key operation. I quote: "Insert (plastic) key into door and turn knob away from the nearest wall." Being in the center of the hallway presented us with a frustrating challenge, let me tell you. The floor of the bathroom was quite slippery as was the tub. This needs to be addressed because access to the tub is difficult for folks not over 6 feet tall--add the slippery surface and you have a formula for disaster. A fellow traveler had the balcony door fall in on them when they attempted to open it. No one was hurt, but, had an elderly person tried this, it could have proven problematic. The food was just awful. Breakfast was palatable but not restocked quickly. Dinner was terrible. Thankfully we stayed there only one night.

Room Tip: If you are on a group trip and the dinner is included--pass and eat elsewhere. You will find you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceKBoyertown_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heidelberg hotels

Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed for four nights at the Leonardo on a business trip. The location is perfect with short walk to the old city. Many restaurants and coffee houses around. Following reading some of the comments from other guests on the Leonardo I had some hesitation choosing the hotel. However, it was better than expected. This is not a modern hotel, but it is clean and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoav_Rehovot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#8 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Heidelberg - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg City Center

Property: Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg City Center
Address: Bergheimer Str. 63, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg City Center offers excellent service in a modern atmosphere. It is located only a few steps away from the city centre and the railway station, allowing you to enjoy not only a high standard in living comfort but also remarkable views of the idyllic Rhine plains and the romantic Old Town. Whether for business or leisure - your stay at Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg City Center will be a relaxing and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg
Best Western Heidelberg
Heidelberg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing