We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of lift a bit of a problem but otherwise decent enough hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Ranked #54 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Reviewed October 13, 2013

As we were on an extended trip round Europe, my husband and I had rather large and heavy suitcases so getting them up and down the stairs was a bit of a nightmare. Once we had, though, we were reasonably happy with our room, it was a good size and the bathroom was fine. We had a view of the river and bridge. It was too noisy to have the window open at night though, so not sure I would want to stay here in the summer. Also, the room was furnished from a well-known Swedish store so not the highest quality. But, we slept well on firm mattress. The breakfast was not fantastic, probably the most basic we had on our trip and the wifi wasn't free- not acceptable these days. Still, we managed to find free wifi at Starbucks to check emails.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaniel11176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 213 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent location right on the river....a bit noisy. Quad room was spacious enough for two couples. Not good to have a car...parked in a garage a few blocks away. All the pedestrian walkways made driving a nightmare. Yummy breakfast. Great value for the money in this pricey tourist town!

Room Tip: No elevator. We were on floor 2, which is really floor 3 to us. Travel light!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Heidelberg. The location of Vier Jehreszeiten was excellent & within walking distance of everything we wanted to see. The river views were gorgeous & the rooms were very nice & clean. The bed linens & pillows were some of the best we had on our almost 5 week trip. The men at the desk were very friendly & helpful with anything we needed. Room #1 was a great size for our 3 kids (19, 16 & 13) & we stayed in #22 upstairs, which has a very nice bathroom. There is no lift, but you deal with it. The breakfast was very good & they worked hard to make it nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeAnn1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for two nights on business. First room I was given was awful, split level, filthy stained carpet and furniture, worse can a student hostel. However I asked to be moved and my room was lovely, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and our hosts were friendly and charming. A great location close to university and restaurants. Would I stay again ......probably

Room Tip: Not room 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My mum an I stayed here in October, and loved the location! What a beautiful of the river! The girl on the desk was extremely friendly and marked off on the map all the great places to eat (mmmmm schnitzel) and the great things to see. Ok downside... No elevator, but we got over it, and no tea coffee making facilities - but that just made us go out in the evening to this beautiful city.... We loved sitting in the mall at the cafe's with rugs on our laps. The breakfast was perfectly adequate. I love love love Heidleberg.....

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very very disappointed with this hotel, it's more like a hostel.
Room very small and dank requiring modernisation on a major level.
My wife and I are very fit which is fortunate because there is no lift and the staircase is winding and steep.
No welcome brief, no hair drier, no ironing facilities, no tea or coffee facilities,no air con, no parking in fact the hotel should be called Hotel No!
Breakfast was poor and served on stained table cloths.
Beware that the bottom floor of the hotel is a Chinese resturant??
In summary the hotel is in a great location, if basic is your thing? This is your place.
You can get better accommodation for the price in Heidelberg so save yourself the awful experience and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THUMPER553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights. Beware, there is no elevator. We had to climb 68 steps up to our room with our luggage. The room was clean, but like staying in a shoe box. The only thing on the room was a tv and table. No clock, no hair dryer, no air conditioning, and it was perhaps one of the hottest days of the year at 95 degrees Fahrenheit.. The bathroom is very very small. certainly only one person could fit and you have to be careful not to bang your knees or elbows...When we arrived, the man asked for our name and handed us a key. Just like that. We were never told when or where the breakfast was, never given a map, or asked if we had questions. We had to climb down the stairs and ask where the breakfast was, what time it was and so forth...the breakfast was small, a choice of rolls and then a small plate of one piece of cold cuts each and one piece of cheese each. There was a small selection of yogurt cups and fruit as well. There was also cold cereal with milk. For the money I definitely would have expected more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelersRLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hecht
Hotel Goldener Hecht
#44 of 76 in Heidelberg
136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Goldene Rose
Hotel Goldene Rose
#25 of 76 in Heidelberg
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#11 of 76 in Heidelberg
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Falke
Hotel Goldener Falke
#23 of 76 in Heidelberg
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hip Hotel
Hip Hotel
#29 of 76 in Heidelberg
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Address: Haspelgasse 2, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Price Range: $106 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel
Vier Jahreszeiten Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing