We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city!”

Altstadt (Old Town)
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.44*
and up
Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt
More Info
$143.19*
and up
Private Tour: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt
More Info
$123.13*
and up
Frankfurt Combo: Heidelberg Half-Day Trip and Frankfurt City Tour
Ranked #2 of 91 things to do in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Old Town of Heidelberg starts from Sofienstrasse and brings you to the castle. In the middle there is the University Area (the oldest university in Germany), the main shopping street (Hauptstrasse) and it includes to famous Karl-Theodor-Bridge / the Old bridge.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great city!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went to Heidelberg because my husband was stationed near there in the mid-sixties and had fond memories. We were lucky enough to visit during the Old Town Festival on a lovely fall day. The streets were closed to motorized vehicles which made it so nice to wander around on foot. There was entertainment, food, sightseeing and shopping. It was safe, clean and the people were friendly. It was a wonderful and fun place to explore.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HaveOmaWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,379
    769
    111
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Altstadt HD”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have spent a lot of time in HD as I spent time here in the military and worked for the US Division of a company based in the HD suburbs. It has great sites, great restaurants and wonderful shops.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tongeren
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surprisingly impressive although the bad weather”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The way to the castle through the shopping area is impressively beautiful although it was raining cats and dogs.....beautiful buildings above the shops ....the street ends in the main square with the cathedral and a little further we had the view on the impressive castle which is under renovation.....of course we wll return on a beautiful day to look closer to it all so so we will be even more impressed I think.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank hlde p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“UnterStrausse”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The UnterStrausse is the street in Altstadt where all of the students from the university go bar hopping. This was one of the best spots for drinking during our trip. Do not go here if you do not like crowds, becuse the two best bars were extremly crowded. Also be careful about pic-pocketters in these crowded places, because I caught someone try to steal my wallet.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wayne1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The feel of Heidelberg are memories I will treasure forever. Enjoyable walk, great food as I sat with my family right in front o the building pictured. Actually went in July of 2011 but TripAdvisor won't go back further than November 2011.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank JCPB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altstadt (Old Town) also viewed

 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Altstadt (Old Town)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing