We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Surprise”
Review of Phuket

Phuket
Ranked #158 of 497 Restaurants in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Vail, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Lovely Surprise”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just next to our hotel, the Hollaender Hof, is this very nice Thai restaurant with excellent food and good service. We love thai cooking and this restaurant has good variety and large portions. Suggestion is to go early. There was one waitperson on the Sunday night and as it filled up things slowed down considerably.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamelavail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    43
    16
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oberoflingen
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ok Thai, fooled by the restaruant name”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Well with the name Phuket, I was thinking it was a Vietnamese restaurant. We must have come around there afternoon closing time as they were quite rushed to get out of there. Food was ok. Not any better then other Thai places. I am torn on the location. We sat outside right next to the old Heidelburg bridge near the must see "Monkey". When the tourists subsided it was nice but for a while there was crowds and they were pretty loud to all get photos. I wouldn't go again but it was ok.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCLoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Location - Authentic food”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I ate here with a colleague whilst working in Germany, I had been recommended this place by another colleague who is in Germany a lot. The location of this restaurant is perfect, its right next to the bridge that goes across the river and gives you beautiful views across Heidelberg and the castle. Each time I have walked past this restaurant there is a lot of people sat outside, so its good to see it seems popular.
We just chose our own seat outside, the tables and chairs are on cobbles and a slight hill so nothing is quite flat, although this didn’t bother me I did see one table spill drinks because if it.
Lots of choice on the menu, and we were served quickly even though the restaurant was busy. All the food arriving piping hot. It was VERY tasty and authentic Thai food. Also to add to the authenticity you are only given a fork and spoon, as you would be served in Thailand.
Would recommend a visit here if in Heidelberg, food is delicious, location is perfect, service is good and the price is reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HannahBWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Okay Thai, base of Old Bridge.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stopped in for a late lunch ~ 1330, and there were only a few peeps scattered among the 10 tables outside and nada one person inside; more arrived as 2pm rolled closer, however. Service [to order] was slow in fact we hunted down owner inside to order [and eventually pay] but food came after within 10 minutes (had a train time back to Frankfurt so as not to miss last river cruise so couldn't dilly-dally too much). Nothing special about menu, all the standard Thai stuff. I ordered Pad Sie Iew Neua (wide rice noodles with egg/beef) and wife got Lad Na gai (wide rice noodles with chicken in gravy) and they were both okay but not especially noteworthy. Great people watching area and view of bridge and across river (with a little effort) were nice; corner location meant we weren't crammed by neighboring resties or pubs. Ate off lunch menu although larger menu available: 18e with the water. Bathrooms clean, 1e for non-eaters; push hard on Men's room door--thought it was occupied first time I searched but turns out I'm just a weakling. Thai TV on inside which probably means the place is authentic...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goog_and_Pooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Below average”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I ordered Pad Thai, and it was probably the worst I've ever had... Very little seasoning, and small, rubber shrimp. My husband's dish was a little better, but a very small portion. It's on a very busy pedestrian street, and was practically empty. I wouldn't go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyinSilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phuket also viewed

Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing