We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Germany 2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
GuestHouse Heidelberg
Ranked #3 of 14 Heidelberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was a very quaint and neat B&B. We had a wonderful stay and also received an excellent last minute rate. The B&B was clean and quiet B&B. There was no breakfast; however, it is close to many many wonderful restaurants and shopping. This is also close to the city bus/taxi/transit center. The room was really neat with a little kitchenette and larger bathroom. A lot of the accommodations have small bathrooms with tiny showers so this was great to have more space in the shower. The building was secured and entry was made via your room key. The electricity for the room was also powered by your room key--we thought this was really neat. The room key is placed into a slot on the wall. We also enjoyed the double beds and the bed comforters. The bed is a queen but split into two twins, Each bed has its own linen and comforter. There was also an outside sitting area on the second floor where you can relax. The only thing that we were not accustomed to that is normal in the states are small washcloths. There only had large towels and large hand towels. Overall excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 77 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the GuestHouse Heidelberg for three nights during the hottest July on record. The double room was enough space for two people, and the bedroom and bathroom were very clean. Since it was so warm outside, we asked for an oscillating fan, which the hotel was kind enough to provide, and with the windows open at night, our room stayed cool. We liked that there was a small kitchenette, but wished there had been an in-room safe. The hotel is ideally situated, being close to the train station and old town, and the continental breakfast was more than satisfactory. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our fourth floor room faced away from the main street, and was fairly quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very conveniently located - close to both the train station and the altstadt (old town) which is also the city center!
Room was good - though curtains could use a bit of cleaning. The staff is helpful. The kitchenette was next to the bathroom door which could be off-putting for some people.
Internet was a bit slow and needed renewal of security certificate.
But other than that, it's a decent place. Despite there being no restaurant area in the apartments, they offer sandwiches, juice and coffee in the morning. That's helpful when you are on a business trip and don't have time for preparing breakfast or going for a leisurely breakfast.
All in all a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Not facing the street would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalCitizen_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at these apartments for 2 nights a couple of days before new years. These apartments are 15 minutes walking distance from the main Heidelberg station. The apartments are located about 500 meters Bismark Platz where most trams and buses stop. There are a couple of supermarkets around which is handy.

Sightseeing tip: At the end of the old bridge there are lots of steps going up to various view points. I highly recommend this for the fit and energetic people as the scenery from the view points is amazing. You will not be disappointed!

Pros:
Apartments are very clean, spacious, modern and comfortable.
Great double glazing on windows as the rooms were very quiet even though the apartments were on the main road.
Shower room is well designed with hairdryer and complementary good quality hand wash and shower gel.
The Kitchenette is clean and compact with kettle, fridge, cooker and sink.
A complementary cold breakfast is provided.

Cons:
Reception is not 24 hours and the instructions given by the receptionist to get into the apartments were very poor. On the right hand side of the main front door, there is a key sensor for the key card to get in.
No tourist information provided at the apartments. Not even a map so I suggest a trip to the tourist information center at the main train station before you get to the apartments.
No tea at breakfast.
Kitchen did not have enough pots to cook with.
No English Channels on TV.

Room Tip: Ask fro a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kanbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Reception was very helpful, and was English-speaking, probably in reaction to my poor German.
Our room was on the ground floor, looking out onto the main road, but there was absolutley no noise at all, thanks to the efficient double-glazing. The bedroom itself was spacious and well-lit, with a very comfortable bed and pillows, whilst the bathroom appeared to be new, it was so sparkling.
There was a kitchenette unit with 'frig, cooker, sink, and a good range of very clean utensils. You could self-cater quite easily.
Beakfast was offered 'gratis' in the Reception area, and it was topped up regularly for more than a couple of hours. It supplied everything that we needed, Yoghurts, pastries, filled rolls, juices, fresh coffee and tea. All delicious and fresh.
It is what is says, Appartments, and except for Reception that is all that there is. It doesn't pretend to be anything else.
Perhaps some people wrongly expect more from the name 'Guesthouse'.
We found that Reception was 'manned' (or 'personned') way outside the advertised hours of opening. We were given a key for access during night times.
It is situated only 2-300m from Bismark Platz, and there was an excellent Italian Restuarant immediately opposite.
A good hassle-free place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ski_Wrinkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rooms are big, but not very "usable". They miss furniture-e.g. table with chairs to be called- as they are- "appartments".
Quality bed, pillow and linen. Nice and modern toilet.
7-min walk from the city center (convenient), and with a big parking at 3-min walk.
Unmanned reception some long time periods does not help when you want some indications as just arrived in town. Also there are some rules (e.g. no daily room cleaning if you do not free the room by 11am) nobody will tell you about.
But in the times when there is someone at the reception, the staff will be most helpful, pleasant, and definitively will change your view of the place. Big bravo for the staff!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here in August and it was really really hot! We would come back to the room to rest and cool down half way through the day and I thought it was a great place. The room we had was quite big, the bed comfortable and the whole lot was very clean. We didnt hear any other guests while we were there and we thought the breakfast was really good, more than we had expected. I think its quite reasonable for a small, modest guest house to provide a breakfast but not to provide too much in case it is wasted. Its not too much of a hardship to get up and go and get some breakfast, especially when you know supplies are limited. Compared to prices I saw for other rooms in Heidelberg for the weekend we stayed, we were really pleased with what we got and would stay there again. The location was excellent, as we arrived by train to Heidelberg and we enjoyed the walk into the Old Town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngieWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.4 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#2 of 76 in Heidelberg
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
0.3 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#5 of 76 in Heidelberg
527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#9 of 76 in Heidelberg
892 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Heidelberg
Hotel Heidelberg
#15 of 76 in Heidelberg
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Heidelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Heidelberg

Address: Bergheimer Strasse 24, 69115 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Heidelberg
Price Range: $103 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Heidelberg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your GuestHouse Heidelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing