We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star Boutique Hotel”
Review of Heidelberg Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heidelberg Suites
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“5-star Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Heidelberg Suites is a 5-star boutique hotel. Our room was gorgeous: it had a wonderful sitting area, comfortable bed, unique bathroom. Everything in the room was spotless. The staff were extremely helpful whenever we had any questions, buffet breakfast had a nice selection, and the included wi-fi was an added bonus. Make sure you request a room facing the river - what a wonderful view! Heidelberg Suites has convenient parking. This hotel is a 5-minute walk across the pedestrian bridge to the old city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    74
    25
    17
    7
See reviews for
80
238
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Heidelberg Suites is a perfect combination of elegance and fine attention to esthetic detail without being "precious" or stuffy. I was in the hotel for nearly a week with a film development workshop. I stayed in room #8. I was able to do private consultations in my very spacious living room or lounge. It was also easy to write and work at the generous desk provided. Coffee, tea, and other beverages were nearby in the efficient kitchenette (hidden behind a length of beautiful armoire-type cabinetry that concealed a fridge, burners or hob, and coffee-maker).The library-breakfast room was also a very peaceful meeting space during the afternoon hours. As others have said, the hotel is ideally located-- very near the bridge and old town but also very quiet (especially in the back building where I stayed). The owner is extremely gracious and the staff is very pleasant and accommodating. It was like being in a stately but intimate home in the midst of a relaxed but elegant house party. My only complaint is the wireless service which could be very slow when all the media obsessed filmmakers logged on at once.

Room Tip: The back building and room #8 where I stayed was very peaceful and had two nice balconies and was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieStory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Chose this hotel from other reviews.

Location is perfect. Right across the river from the Historic old town of Heidelberg via the Alte Brucke Bridge.

We had the back cottage during our 2 day stay and it worked out perfect since we were traveling with our 4 year old. We had a private room to ourselves and we set her up in the sunroom in the back.

It felt very private and would be perfect for couples of course. Very romantic.

The workout facility is a bit small but the location makes up for any shortcomings. It's in a seperate pavilion with windows on all sides and has views of the city of Heidelberg and hills beyond. It was more enjoyable working out in this room than in a basement gym without windows.

The staff were all pleasant and very friendly during our stay.

The breakfast was included in the rate and had a good variety of local cuisine.

We would stay here again and recommend to anyone we know that are going to be in the Heidelberg area.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy choose the back cottage room. If you want easy in and out without stairs th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in mid-September 2012 and absolutely loved it. We didn't want to leave! The location is perfect for anyone who wants to see the best view of the Old Town, and be in close walking distance to the Old Town and castle. But the best parts of staying at Heidelberg Suites are: (1) very well maintained and well decorated property, including the rooms; (2) high-quality breakfast; (3) amazing views of city and river from their beautifully-maintained roofdeck; (4) friendly and helpful staff. The quickly upgraded us to a larger room (at no extra charge) when we expressed concern over being in a room that was too close to the elevator. We have stayed in many European hotels in recent years, and we can adamantly recommend that you definitely stay at this hotel when you visit Heidelberg!

Room Tip: rooms in the main "house" are right on the road, which also affords a great view of the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycTaveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here in July, for a family holiday. The hotel was excellent and in an ideal location. The suites are all beautifully presented with a lovely touch of having a small kitchenette in each room. Breakfast was lovely (very good coffee!).
You felt at home here and not actually in a hotel which was lovely. The staff are excellent and cannot do enough for you. We asked for recommendations for dinner reservations which was all arranged efficiently and at lovely restaurants.
Our suites were at the rear of the hotel which was lovely and quiet.
If we come back to Heidelberg we will definitely stay at Heidelberg Suites

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the rear portion of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stopped here on a family trip. The location is ideal - very close to the Altstadt, but across the river in a quiet part of town. The service could not have been better, and we felt well taken care of. It is pricy, but you get elegant well appointed rooms, a delicious breakfast and the spa/health club is very nice (the views from the workout room across the river are tremendous). Some of the other reviews were critical of the service, but that wasn't our experience at all. It is run like the small boutique hotel it is, and a little patience and friendliness goes a very long way. The staff were always there to help, to answer questions, to suggest restaurants or shops or anything else, and we liked how the quickly and thoroughly cleaned our room each morning while we ate breakfast. There is a lovely roof deck, though it was scorching hot while we were there and so didn't make use of that. There are plenty of hotel choices in Heidelberg, of all ranges of price and quality, and though as this was our first trip we have nothing to compare it to, we would certainly return here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our stay in the Heideberg Suites was everything we wanted. The position is fabulous, just outside of the busy and very touristy old part of town, but close enough to reach in 5 minutes. Our room overlooked the Neckar across to the Old Town and the Schloss Castle (see photo) set into the hill. We took advantage of the outside spa which was heated and made ready for us. The suite was beautifully appointed, and especially appreciated was the Nespresso Machine in the room! Breakfast is more than adequate and served in a gorgeous breakfast room. There is no restaurant for dinner but our only suggestion is to not eat in the main thoroughfare through the Old Town as meals seemed too rushed, too cheap and too big. We suggest you turn right as you leave the hotel and wander to the first restaurant on the right for a very nice meal. We did one beautiful evening, dine on the boat associated with the hotel and very much enjoyed the trip up the river through the little towns set beside the water. The staff at the Heidelberg Suites were extremely helpful and very friendly, particularly Sabine. We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
504 reviews
1.6 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Suites

Property: Heidelberg Suites
Address: Neuenheimer Landstr. 12, 69120 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Heidelberg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#3 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#5 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heidelberg Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heidelberg Suites is your home away from home in the heart of Germanys most romantic town. Located on the banks of the scenic Neckar River adjacent the historical bridge, each suite is blessed with Picture Postcard views of the world renowned castle, bridge and river. The two uniquely charming 19th Century homes have been meticulously restored by an internationally acclaimed interior architect and designer. Perched within easy walking distance of all historical sights, it is a haven for travellers in search of beauty, comfort and peace, without compromising modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Heidelberg Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing