We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel & Staff”
Review of Heidelberg Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heidelberg Suites
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel & Staff”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here in July, for a family holiday. The hotel was excellent and in an ideal location. The suites are all beautifully presented with a lovely touch of having a small kitchenette in each room. Breakfast was lovely (very good coffee!).
You felt at home here and not actually in a hotel which was lovely. The staff are excellent and cannot do enough for you. We asked for recommendations for dinner reservations which was all arranged efficiently and at lovely restaurants.
Our suites were at the rear of the hotel which was lovely and quiet.
If we come back to Heidelberg we will definitely stay at Heidelberg Suites

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the rear portion of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    72
    24
    17
    7
See reviews for
78
234
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stopped here on a family trip. The location is ideal - very close to the Altstadt, but across the river in a quiet part of town. The service could not have been better, and we felt well taken care of. It is pricy, but you get elegant well appointed rooms, a delicious breakfast and the spa/health club is very nice (the views from the workout room across the river are tremendous). Some of the other reviews were critical of the service, but that wasn't our experience at all. It is run like the small boutique hotel it is, and a little patience and friendliness goes a very long way. The staff were always there to help, to answer questions, to suggest restaurants or shops or anything else, and we liked how the quickly and thoroughly cleaned our room each morning while we ate breakfast. There is a lovely roof deck, though it was scorching hot while we were there and so didn't make use of that. There are plenty of hotel choices in Heidelberg, of all ranges of price and quality, and though as this was our first trip we have nothing to compare it to, we would certainly return here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our stay in the Heideberg Suites was everything we wanted. The position is fabulous, just outside of the busy and very touristy old part of town, but close enough to reach in 5 minutes. Our room overlooked the Neckar across to the Old Town and the Schloss Castle (see photo) set into the hill. We took advantage of the outside spa which was heated and made ready for us. The suite was beautifully appointed, and especially appreciated was the Nespresso Machine in the room! Breakfast is more than adequate and served in a gorgeous breakfast room. There is no restaurant for dinner but our only suggestion is to not eat in the main thoroughfare through the Old Town as meals seemed too rushed, too cheap and too big. We suggest you turn right as you leave the hotel and wander to the first restaurant on the right for a very nice meal. We did one beautiful evening, dine on the boat associated with the hotel and very much enjoyed the trip up the river through the little towns set beside the water. The staff at the Heidelberg Suites were extremely helpful and very friendly, particularly Sabine. We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

These suites are new and very boutique-hotelly. Which afficionados will know means white towelling robes, an in-room nespresso machine, an Italian desgneri and charming, pretty young ladies running reception (well, that's what they all seem to have in common to me)
The location - just over the river from the old town - is very good. There are bikes available and parking which is another couple of plusses.
It did feel very new and as if it hadn't quite settled yet and it is pricey, as you would expect but overall we enjoyed our two night stay. Breakfasts are rather dainty (which is a good thing or not, depending on your style). There is a garden seating area behind the hotel but it isn't mentioned and does need some work - maybe that's next of the list. But if I had an outdoor jacuzzi pretty much overlooking the town, I'd make more of a feature of it. Maybe they dont need to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saranLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed in Room 18 which is a fabulous room with a large balcony and the best view in Heidelberg of the Neckar and the Schloss. Definitely ask for this room if you stay here! The room is decorated immaculately as is all the hotel - in a unique and boutique style. Soft drinks are provided free as well as small coffee machine - but you need to ask for milk. We were given a jug of milk which kept well in the fridge. We stayed in this glorious room for 3 nights. We did not have breakfast in the hotel as it seemed overpriced - there are plenty of alternatives if you stroll over the bridge into the old town or take a drive along the Neckar to Neckargemund - 10 minutes away - and have breakfast at the Eis Cafe Roma (delicious fresh rolls and croissant). One downside - the pillows were not great. The staff are young and helpful but you do need to ask for what you want - it won't be automatically provided! If we had not had the room we were given, I would have said this is overpriced but as it was, we loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for room 18!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 917Sasha_D_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful place - very friendly and helpful staff; suite was great - facilities great inc. rooftop balcony - view was fabulous ! Book the private Spa whennyounarrive ! Will go back again sometime ....
Heidelberg was a very nice place to visit for a weekend - just enough to do ... Walking, coffee bars and the Schloss.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gdg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
826 reviews
219 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a very elegant upscale boutique hotel. It is indeed like something from Architectural Digest, immaculately and tastefully decorated throughout. I arrived with high expectations due to the wonderful photographs on the website - and the cost. Our junior suite was 425 euros a night for the Saturday night, 325 for the Sunday. A lot of money, and considerably more than other hotels in Heidelberg but I assumed something very special. The location did not disappoint though the suite did, in size at least. Beautifully decorated but quite cramped, terrific views of the Altstadt, Castle and the bridge, but overlooked. Hence it wasn't a relaxing space without the curtains drawn. Soft drinks, snacks and warm beverages were inclusive in our room rate but this amounted to a total of 3 soft drinks, no snacks and no milk for the tea/coffee. And frustratingly no information whatsoever about either Heidelberg or the hotel itself. My husband tried to call reception to obtain some information but there is not even any info on the telephone and he reached another guest room instead of reception. When we mentioned this to staff they said they don't provide written info and that we should have been told everything when shown to the room. A golf cart shuttle service is also supposedly an inclusive service but when we requested a short run into town we were told the buggies were too wet. No suggestions or alternative options were proffered. Staff are pleasant but did not go the extra mile, they appeared to be understaffed. Indeed the hotel seems to have outgrown it's ability to service it's guests in general. This is particulary evident at breakfast as the room where the buffet is laid out is cramped even with as few as 3 people in it, and the rooms used to eat are tiny with tables too close together. I found it incredibly irritating, intrusive and unrelaxing. The buffet itself was nothing special and was not replenished. All in all a disappointing and unenjoyable stay, such a shame as the hotel has so much potential and is so aesthetically pleasing. That said, it is probably the most luxurious place to stay in Heidelberg and if you can visit at a time when rates are lower and they are less busy you may well have a glorious stay at this very handsome little hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
563 reviews
0.7 mi away
Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
497 reviews
1.3 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
433 reviews
1.6 mi away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Suites

Property: Heidelberg Suites
Address: Neuenheimer Landstr. 12, 69120 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Heidelberg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#3 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#5 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heidelberg Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heidelberg Suites is your home away from home in the heart of Germanys most romantic town. Located on the banks of the scenic Neckar River adjacent the historical bridge, each suite is blessed with Picture Postcard views of the world renowned castle, bridge and river. The two uniquely charming 19th Century homes have been meticulously restored by an internationally acclaimed interior architect and designer. Perched within easy walking distance of all historical sights, it is a haven for travellers in search of beauty, comfort and peace, without compromising modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Heidelberg Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing