We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique and unique”
Review of Heidelberg Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heidelberg Suites
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed in Room 18 which is a fabulous room with a large balcony and the best view in Heidelberg of the Neckar and the Schloss. Definitely ask for this room if you stay here! The room is decorated immaculately as is all the hotel - in a unique and boutique style. Soft drinks are provided free as well as small coffee machine - but you need to ask for milk. We were given a jug of milk which kept well in the fridge. We stayed in this glorious room for 3 nights. We did not have breakfast in the hotel as it seemed overpriced - there are plenty of alternatives if you stroll over the bridge into the old town or take a drive along the Neckar to Neckargemund - 10 minutes away - and have breakfast at the Eis Cafe Roma (delicious fresh rolls and croissant). One downside - the pillows were not great. The staff are young and helpful but you do need to ask for what you want - it won't be automatically provided! If we had not had the room we were given, I would have said this is overpriced but as it was, we loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for room 18!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 917Sasha_D_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 447 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

Beautiful place - very friendly and helpful staff; suite was great - facilities great inc. rooftop balcony - view was fabulous ! Book the private Spa whennyounarrive ! Will go back again sometime ....
Heidelberg was a very nice place to visit for a weekend - just enough to do ... Walking, coffee bars and the Schloss.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank gdg84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a very elegant upscale boutique hotel. It is indeed like something from Architectural Digest, immaculately and tastefully decorated throughout. I arrived with high expectations due to the wonderful photographs on the website - and the cost. Our junior suite was 425 euros a night for the Saturday night, 325 for the Sunday. A lot of money, and considerably more than other hotels in Heidelberg but I assumed something very special. The location did not disappoint though the suite did, in size at least. Beautifully decorated but quite cramped, terrific views of the Altstadt, Castle and the bridge, but overlooked. Hence it wasn't a relaxing space without the curtains drawn. Soft drinks, snacks and warm beverages were inclusive in our room rate but this amounted to a total of 3 soft drinks, no snacks and no milk for the tea/coffee. And frustratingly no information whatsoever about either Heidelberg or the hotel itself. My husband tried to call reception to obtain some information but there is not even any info on the telephone and he reached another guest room instead of reception. When we mentioned this to staff they said they don't provide written info and that we should have been told everything when shown to the room. A golf cart shuttle service is also supposedly an inclusive service but when we requested a short run into town we were told the buggies were too wet. No suggestions or alternative options were proffered. Staff are pleasant but did not go the extra mile, they appeared to be understaffed. Indeed the hotel seems to have outgrown it's ability to service it's guests in general. This is particulary evident at breakfast as the room where the buffet is laid out is cramped even with as few as 3 people in it, and the rooms used to eat are tiny with tables too close together. I found it incredibly irritating, intrusive and unrelaxing. The buffet itself was nothing special and was not replenished. All in all a disappointing and unenjoyable stay, such a shame as the hotel has so much potential and is so aesthetically pleasing. That said, it is probably the most luxurious place to stay in Heidelberg and if you can visit at a time when rates are lower and they are less busy you may well have a glorious stay at this very handsome little hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The rooms are a study of style and art; each different and spectacular. Like staying at an Architectural Digest house. In fact, there are AD article reprints of the house / design laying about which make for interesting reading; but as for pictures, all you have to do is look around.

We are design subversives that like the idea of a few Ikea pieces in a high-end home, but you are not going to find that here. Everything here is high-end, custom, expensive. The chairs you’ll eat breakfast in are $5K a piece, gorgeous, and comfortable. As you look around, every mirror, every trim, every everything was custom picked or made. It is really staggering to consider how much time, money and effort went into this hotel. But if you like this sort of thing, it is well worth it to stay.

There were a few problems, but all solved to our satisfaction. Heidelberg Suites could use a handy-person to take care of the details that other reviewers have noted. Perhaps a manager or even bellhop with an eye for quality control?

The price is high enough to make you blink hard. But our approach is that for cities where even the lowest-end hotels are absurdly expensive (like Heidelberg), and where the top hotels are within 2-3X more, then time to splurge a little. Why have a lousy experience at medium expense when you can stay at one of the most interesting hotels in the world for not that much more, relatively? The prices here strain this model a bit, but still we thought it a good value compared to the other places we checked out in Heidelberg.

In short, it is incredible to be able to rent out a place at this level of design. If you are into interior decorating, this is best in class and will be a stay to remember.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean-Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel is lovely, but has a way to go to be top flight. The building and setting are lovely and the location is great. The air conditioning in our room did not work and we were told it would go off at 10 pm anyway due to complaints from the neighbors. It was the same story for another group that had booked four rooms. We overheard the manger tell them basically "tough luck this is Germany and we don't use air conditioning". Not the right comment for a service business! It was hot and humid and the rooms were not comfortable. For the prices charged the service simply does not measure up.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank JimWils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is probably one of the most beautiful hotels we ever stayed at. For a start we got an upgrade to 2 superior suites, and one of them had a balcony overlooking the Neckar and Old Town. Simply breathtaking!

The interior design makes you feel home away from home, and it is difficult to get out to explore Heidelberg with such a beautiful and coasy atmosphere.
The location coudn´t be better, in walking distance to the main attractions, but in a very calm and charming street, fllled with 19th century villas.
The breakfast buffet is not big, but has everything one could wish for.

However, during our stay we had the impression the hotel was clearly "understaffed" (hopefully temporarily), with the receptions girls (I believe they are called Kristina and Sabrina) doing most of the work alone, which led to some small issues. I know this is a Small Luxury Hotel, and one shoud not expect a big staff, but you have a strange feeling in a hotel of this category when the reception girls (which were great, by the way, and did everything possible to meet our expectations under these circumstances) serve you at breakfast, and check you in and out, and bring up the luggage...

To sum up, I really had a great time there, and I hope to be back one day, but I also hope the issues mentioned are temporary, since it risks damagins the image of this hotel in the long run.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camicasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I love this hotel, the location is prefect. The design is elegant from the lobby to the bathrooms. Excellent tasteful and a little quirky, and oh so hip, yet completely classic .. just the way I like it. Staff are helpful and considerate. And its located in the most beautiful city in Germany so it begs for a return visit. The name is my only complaint, To an American ear is sounds extremely low budget.. DONT BE FOOLED, its like stepping into a wealthily baron's home as a guest, replete with an outdoor garden rising up the hillside behind and stone great danes to guard the back door .. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshuaSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
1.3 mi away
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
Qube Hotel Heidelberg
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Der Europaische Hof Heidelberg
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#6 of 76 in Heidelberg
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
591 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Heidelberg
NH Heidelberg
#9 of 76 in Heidelberg
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Suites

Address: Neuenheimer Landstr. 12, 69120 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Heidelberg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Heidelberg
#3 Family Hotel in Heidelberg
#5 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range: $216 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heidelberg Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heidelberg Suites is your home away from home in the heart of Germanys most romantic town. Located on the banks of the scenic Neckar River adjacent the historical bridge, each suite is blessed with Picture Postcard views of the world renowned castle, bridge and river. The two uniquely charming 19th Century homes have been meticulously restored by an internationally acclaimed interior architect and designer. Perched within easy walking distance of all historical sights, it is a haven for travellers in search of beauty, comfort and peace, without compromising modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Heidelberg Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Hotel Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing