We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Schnitzel !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heidelberger Schnitzelhaus Alte Meunz

Heidelberger Schnitzelhaus Alte Meunz
Ranked #35 of 473 Restaurants in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Schnitzel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

With the temperature drop and light dusting of snow it was time to go to the Heidelberger Schnitzelhaus, as always this was not a disappointment, place was full, lots of folks turned away w/o reservations. I'm a schnitzel purest so just schnitzel, pommes and salad with half liter of pilsner and I'm all set. Price was modest @ 12.50e for what I got, 2 nice portions of schnitzel perfectly pan fried (not deep fried), steaming hot pomes but yet crispy on the outside, great way to end a day of travel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    67
    20
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“So many choices, so little time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We went to the Heidelberger Schnitzelhaus on a Sunday afternoon, and even though we had made reservations based upon other reviewers' recommendations, we really didn't need to. The choice as to which of the 101 different schnitzel dishes was very difficult; there were so many that sounded so good! I chose the Schwetzingen Schnitzel with green asparagus and cream sauce. Everyone in our party very much enjoyed their choices. I also had the Käsespätzle instead of the fries, whcih was an excellent decision. If you are a lover of schnitzel, as I am, this is the place for you!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brown09096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Expat in Heidelberg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you're in the mood for a great schnitzel, this is the place to go, but if someone in your party has a hankering for something different, don't go! They only serve schnitzel, about 100 different varieties! During the summer, outdoor seating gives a great view of the river, if the tour buses are blocking it. Seating indoors is very limited so recommend making reservations.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ghostwriter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Schnitzel Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I highly recommend this restaurant for a casual dining experience at lunch or dinner. The Alte Muenz (Old Coin) Schnitzelhaus is the stop for good schnitzel in Heidelberg. As other reviewers noted, they have 101 different styles of schnitzel. You will inevitably find a favorite amongst the various delicious sauces, toppings, and fillings the restaurant serves. You have the option to choose from either pork or chicken schnitzel. The default portion is large (two slabs of meat); however if you ask for the "kleine" portion, they will serve you a single piece of meat at a reduced price. I find the small portion sufficient, as all the choices also come with either Pommes (french fries/chips) or Spaetzle (egg noodles). They also have wine and good beer on tap.

The restaurant is small inside and can be crowded at times, so reservations should be made during peak times. During good weather, the outdoor seating is also a very nice place to dine and enjoy the view of the Neckar river. The staff is efficient/friendly and can speak English.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Schnitzel and Prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Alte Meunz (aka House of 101 Schnitzel) Is in a perfect place for dining while visiting the altstadt and castle in Heidelberg. The menu is daunting the first time, but happily, they have a schnitzel for every palate. Whether you have a sweet or savory type of tooth, there is sure to be something tasty. (I love love love the "Provence" schnitzel.)

The portions are quite large with a salad and fries included & prices are very good. The beer is wonderfully priced as well.The service is usually quite even-paced for Germany, and the location couldn't be better to sit and look across the Neckar river after a day of shopping and sightseeing. All that being said, I do recommend reservations on the week-ends and on major Euro-Cup nights, as it fills up with locals.- which is a sure sign of something special in a tourism mecca.

Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZylahO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heidelberger Schnitzelhaus Alte Meunz also viewed

Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Heidelberger Schnitzelhaus Alte Meunz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing