We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Central Garni
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Triberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

When we ordered we thought we would get a lousy place but close to main attractions. When we arrived we were welcomed by a super friendly staff. The place was very nice and clean. We got a great room.

And for the location. It is even closer then we imagined. 2 min walk to all main attractions. Highly reccomended!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Alon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 191 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were skeptical because we'd paid less than 70 EUR for the night. This is a very well run surprise. The room is a decent size and the bed is very comfortable. The internet works reasonably fast. The balcony overlooks the main street which is very pretty at this time of the year. The location must be the best in town. Steps to the waterfall entrance and the cuckoo clock shops and several restaurants. 70 EUR includes breakfast, wifi and entrance to the falls! Most of our other hotels on the trip were in the 200 EUR range yet this one delighted the most.
No made-to-order eggs in breakfast but still a very nice spread with amazing mini-waffles that are super-crunchy when toasted.
Warning: the elevator stops working from the outside at night. You can go up by stairs and bring it down from the inside. We had to do that because we had a stroller.
Pinocchio - the pizzeria next door is pretty good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AksNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We are glad that we made the choice to stay here.It is indeed a very good hotel,close to all the attractions.The hotel is right in the marketplatz stop.As you get down from the bus, you will see pizzaria pinnochio.Its just there.We had booked a triple bedroom which was a pretty nice size,clean beds,and a nice clean bathroom.It had a fairly big balcony and you get a beautiful view of the mountains..Breakfast was good too.Overall we loved the hotel and would recommend it.
If you are using the public transport to go around the blackforest region,you get a konus card on arrival and checkin which allows free travel in blackforest and free entrance to the waterfalls.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank roonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Bit of a stretch to call this a hotel - more of a boutique hostel. But great location; friendly, helpful staff; clean, well sized, comfortable if a bit basic room; and very well priced. As others have stated it's on the top floor of a commercial building above a bank in the centre of Triberg. Free parking around the back. The elevator is a bit rickity but once upstairs it is a very comfortable space. Enjoyed the breakfast - good fresh selection - and the breakfast room is bright and cheerful. Our room only had a shower, no bath, but it was clean. Take your own shampoo and shower gel. Our room was at the back and looked out over the parking lot to the hills and was very quiet. The biggest negative was that there was coffee making or kettle in either the room or the public areas for an evening drink. Water and pop is available on an honesty bar basis from the fridge in the reception.

The Triberg train station is about a mile out of town. It's too far to walk with luggage and the bus schedule on a holiday Monday was sporadic. The hotel gave us a Schwarzwald pass that was good for all bus and trains within the forest. Terrific value. We had to take the train to Villingen to get a rental car, but after that Triberg was a great location from which to explore the Black Forest.

For the price, definitely a great choice.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back, away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank al500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Indeed, figuring out how to get into this hotel caused a few moments of anxiety, but after getting past that everything was very good. The location couldn't be better, walking distance to everything we were interested in visiting in Triberg, and within walking distance of three nice restaurants.

Due to some problems with a rental car in Freiberg, we arrived after the designated last check-in time of 8PM. I called ahead and the proprietress was very gracious about our late arrival.

The interior of the hotel is very clean and neat, with several nice pieces of German/Swiss furniture scattered about the public areas. Our room with it's mountain facing window and frim bed was very good and breakfast was outstanding.

At 68 euros per night, this hotel gets and extra star for its value.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeattleBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel is on the top floor of a commercial building. That was okay with us but it may be hard for some folks to find.

Pluses - Location; Easy parking. Two blocks walk to the waterfall. Restaurants nearby. Nice and efficient staff. Good value. Clean rooms. Breakfast was okay.

Minus - Location. It can get noisy in the morning if you want to sleep in. Towels do feel a bit old.

Room Tip: Tell the receptionist upon checking in that you want to go to the Waterfall. She gave us a coupon an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Highly recommended!!
I was travelling solo for the first time in Germany this past December. I arrived in Triberg with no room previously booked (I was nervous!). I went to the Tourist Office, and they picked out three hotels for me to check out. The first one I came upon was Hotel Central Garni. It was located right in the center of town! It was inside a corporate-type building, and up a few floors, but when I opened the door to the hotel, I instantly felt at home! The lobby was cozy, cute, and comfortable and decorated for Christmas. I was greeted by two women who were very friendly. One spoke English well and told me all the details, but then she left me with another woman who didn't know as much English, but made an obvious effort to communicate with me (and I made an effort to talk to her in German, too!). I decided to stay right away!
The room was very spacious for one person, which was nice! It had a private bathroom with a shower, and a beautiful view of the town!! (Triberg has very steep hills that make for gorgeous views!) There was free parking behind the hotel building. Breakfast was included, and it was a delicious buffet spread! I felt very safe there. I would definitely return to the Hotel Central Garni, and recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NYCLady90504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Triberg
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Schwarzwald Residenz
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Wehrle
Parkhotel Wehrle
#3 of 7 in Triberg
185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berghotel Tannenhof-Schwarzwaldblick Triberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Adler
Adler
#4 of 7 in Triberg
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Ketterer am Kurgarten
2.4 mi away
Hotel Adlerschanze
Hotel Adlerschanze
#2 of 8 in Schonwald
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Garni

Address: Hauptstr. 64, 78098 Triberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Triberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Triberg
Price Range: $69 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Central Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Garni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing