We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way Off the Mark!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Schaefer

Cafe Schaefer
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Triberg
Cuisines: German, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Way Off the Mark!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

How this cafe is rated #1 in Triberg is a mystery to me. My wife and I decided to try out their "world famous, original recipe, Black Forest Cake."

To be fair, I am not an expert on Black Forest Cake, but I have eaten it many times; both in restaurants and in the homes of various friends and family. This was, for me, the worst I've had!

The portions were half what they should have been for what we paid. The taste was bland and uninteresting (there was almost no cherry filling, kirsh or chocolate). The cream used to make the whipped topping was not heavy whipping cream such as one would expect in a confection of this class (more like skimmed milk). And, what's more, someone left a pit in one of the few cherries. I almost lost a tooth. The waitress simply said, "It happens. I'm sorry." then walked away. WTF?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jawneelogik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    68
    28
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
166 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Black Forest Cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is where they say the Black Forest cake originated...not sure about that, but it was delicious here. Perfect place for coffee and cake or even lunch!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
553 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Expect Miss Marple at the table opposite, fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Not a tourist trap in any way. A small tea-shop cafe with elderly German ladies sipping their coffee and mostly eating the most amazing REAL Black Forest Gateau made by Mr Schafer who you may meet. From the original Schwarzwalder Kirschtorte recipe it differs in subtle ways from others offered in the area. It has a crisp thin biscuit base for a start.The cherries (or is it the cream) are soaked in Kirsch and you can buy chocolate coated cherries at the cake counter.
A really memorable experience and the cherries tasted just as good back home.

It is some distance from the centre down the hill beside the car park.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lizandianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best original black forest cake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

You shouldn't choose wrong black forest cake (Schwarzwaldkirchtorte), because only this cafe has original black forest cake from its creator. You could see a writing about this in its glass window. I've tried also black forest cake in another cafe/restaurant in Triberg and it tastes not like a black forest cake. If you visit Triberg, Cafe Schäfer is a must! I've tried their Cappucinno cake and fruit cake, they were also very delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank veronica_vania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Black forest cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

One of my goals for our trip in southern Germany was to eat the famous cake and I was not disappointed. The restaurant was a nice spot for a cup of coffee and cake. It felt like a local bakery and not a tourists place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Schaefer also viewed

 
Triberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Triberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Cafe Schaefer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing