We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful waterfall in a peaceful setting”

Triberger Waterfall
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Triberg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: At the cascades of the Gutach River, water tumbles nearly 600 feet over seven naturally created steps, resulting in a marvelous site for visitors.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
246 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfall in a peaceful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Entrance fee is reasonable for this beautiful waterfall in a very peaceful wooded setting just above the town of Triberg. We walked the trails through the park to a lake then down to a beautiful church just above the town. We wished we had stayed longer and headed back the next morning and were told we would have to pay the fee again so make sure you stay inside the park and see everything before you leave. If the parking lot is full park along the main street and walk up to the falls entrance.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Adventurers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    428
    184
    43
    25
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
129 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, entrance free if you stay in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We visited the Triberg waterfall on a Sunday, which was quite busy and it took us a while to find a parking space, so try to come at a less busy time.
The place is absolutely beautiful. there is some kind of tree climbing park about half way up the waterfall, which we didn't have time to do, but looked very cool.
The entrance is free if you stay in the area (we stayed in Schonach) and get the local konus card.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OritN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
139 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice walk and view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The price is right (3.50 euro) and the view is really good. I recommend to do the Culture walk, it will take about 1 hour to complete the course. If you are adventurist then walk all over the course (with a map). Do not park in the north entrance, unless you do not mind climbing up about 300 meters to the parking lot! The trails are well kept and around the water fall there are seats and diverse levels of view! Enjoy!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We turned up here and it was raining, so we thought it would detract from the visit - it didn't.

The waterfalls fell over quite a height and you can walk up alongside them. Really good day out, amazing views, and gives you a good workout climbing the steps and hills.

There is a cost fot this attraction, but well worth it.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Grahame S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is a great waterfall. However too many tracks and bridges detract from a great natural wonder. The directional signage is also poor not in English. Don't have to be fit just take time to soak in the atmosphere. Also there is a fee for entry which is not advertised anywhere. I got caught just walking in and had to go back to pay.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mannysnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triberger Waterfall also viewed

Triberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Triberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Triberger Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing