We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty German grub”

Landgasthof zur Lilie
Ranked #6 of 24 Restaurants in Triberg
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Hearty German grub”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The manager at Hotel Adler, where we stayed, recommended Pfaff and Lilie restaurants as we wanted to try German food instead of visiting one of the Italian restaurants in the town. The menu at Pfaff seemed quite touristy and I'm glad we ended up in Lilie. They have a cafe part which you entered from the entrance on the main road, but we had to enter via the side of the building.
The place is amazing inside, like a chalet/grotto. The ceiling is painted like a sky with lights, and there are various stuffed animals and skulls hanging on the walls. We went on a Sunday night and it was not busy and the service was good. The waiter was very friendly and was speaking to us in German even though we couldn't understand.
He brought us an appetiser, which was like pork rillette, but it was quite cloying and dried up the inside of your mouth. It was really tasty though as it seemed to be made of smoked pork.
The food was reasonably priced and the portions were quite big. They were cooked well and were very tasty.
Having had our fair share of cake at Cafe Schaefer ealier on, we skipped dessert but finished with a round of schnapps. It was a really nice place to go to unwind and have dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank futomaki79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    124
    48
    27
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Patio by the Falls”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is the best place to have lunch, a great dunkel bier, and watch the people passing by. The Landgasthof has a patio right on the creek that comes out of the falls above. The walkway to the falls is just on the other side of the creek from here. I walked the falls while several others in our group waited here and had lunch. When I returned about an hour later, I joined the group for one last beer before heading out of town. This is a great anchor location for a group to use as a meeting place.

The one negative about this place is the service. These people really are not service minded. They have their own time frame and you get served when they find the time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyMac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Had lunch here after visiting the waterfall. Because it's right in the middle of all the souvenir shops and attractions, I imagine that it's probably considered "touristy." However, I thought the meal was one of the best we had on our trip around the Schwarzwald. Most of the restaurants in the area had English menus, including this one, so that was helpful. I ordered the sausage with sauerkraut, which came with fried potatoes. Everything was delicious. Service was good as well. There was also a case filled with baked goods, which we didn't try, but everything looked great. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rb913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had the half baked chicken and salads which were great. Service was also very good. Restaurant is in middle of town by the falls and Ollie's clocks. There are a lot of tourist shops nearby.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RanandVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cozy Place”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

It's a nice restaurant in Triberg, one of the obvious choice to go. The restaurant is quite big, with lots of nice lights outside. The food was quite good, and the desserts were just okay. I wanted to try their 'original black forest cake', but was dissapointed with the look and the taste. It has 3 layers of cake with light color in the middle (in the menu card, the picture showed dark colored cake as I know of a normal black forest cake), and it soaked with rum. I couldn't even finish it because all I can taste was the alcohol. Maybe that was the original taste of black forest cake, I don't know, but I don't like it. The food were okay though, and it was quite cozy inside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itaviborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landgasthof zur Lilie also viewed

 
Triberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Schonach, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Triberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
Triberg, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Landgasthof zur Lilie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing