We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adler Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Freudenstadt
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Had a very clean room looking out the front of the hotel which got good sun in the morning. Next door was a room with TV, game console, books and beer, wine and coffee available on the honor system. Heard no noise from this room in the evening despite some guests playing video games there. Only stayed one night but got great tips from the hostess for sights to see in Freudenstadt and on route to our next destination. Enjoyed a very good lunch of regional specialties in the hotel restaurant and the hostess patiently translated the entire menu into English for us. All staff we encountered were friendly and smiling. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rikk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 64 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

We booked at this hotel after reading reviews on TA.

The hotel is on top of a restaurant and you walk into the restaurant to checkin - this is common in Germany.

After checking in we were led to our room through the back staircase. As the kitchen is nearby, the smells of fried food permeated the stairwell right up to the top. By the way, there are no elevators in this hotel.

Our room was not too bad, newly redecorated. The bathroom was modern and had lights on the wall in the shower cabin and a complicated light/heating switch which I never figured out.

Breakfast was, after having been spoilt on our trip, a little bit of a disappointment although basically everything was there.

Would I stay there again? I think not because of the food smell in the staircase and the breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franinmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and used it as a base for exploring the norther Black Forest. We had a really large, bright modern bedroom and a FABULOUS bathroom. We had the corner room overlooking the street at the front. The room and the bathroom were both spotless. We ate dinner in the restuarent both night, really lovely tasty food for reasonable prices and lovely atmosphere. Restuarent was very busy both nights which suggests that popular with non-residents as well. Lovely clientele in the hotel as well. Free wifi and parking. Owners and staff were all very nice, friendly and helpful. Overall we would definately recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: I think nearly all of the rooms have been renovated but definately request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was my second stay in this hotel as it in a good centre. With your stay you get the 'Konus card' that allows you FREE, yes FREE travel in the Black Forest area on trains and buses, which can save you alot of money! The rooms were clean and comfortable and modern. Chef and owner Armin Gaiser and his wife are wonderful hosts and speak perfect English. His cooking is excellent. The hotel is perfectly situated about 200 yards from the Stadt railway station and the market square, the largest in Europe. It is a hotel that I would and have recommended to friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Not sure what to say - nothing wrong with the hotel apart from being really dated, we obviously had 2 older rooms, very large but poor decor. Bathrooms were terribly dated very 70's style. The room had the worst pillows we have ever experienced - just filled with nothing! The room was clean and had wifi. Breakfast was fine - typical German continental breakfast. Location good - near the market place. I think this hotel is fine but it was not really to our taste.

Room Tip: Not rooms 4 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfchic46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel. We stayed 4 nights in August, two rooms and found the hotel and restaurant exceeded our expectations.
The owners, the Gaisers were so friendly and accommodating and made our stay so much more enjoyable. Rooms were comfortable and spotless, the staff helpful and charming.
Armin Gaiser is an excellent chef and food in the restaurant was first class.
We were impressed with the way the Gaisers treated all their guests conversing effortlessly in English and French.

Additional benefits included free WiFi internet access in rooms, free parking and the Konus travel card was a bonus.
It’s location is perfect, quiet and close to the Stadt railway station and Marktplatz . Would highly recommend and hope to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel, husband and wife run hotel and restaurant and give you such a warm welcome. Rooms are spotless, modern and charming and the food was of the best we had in Germany. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and we personally will definitely return at some point.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gusterheys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freudenstadt hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Warteck
Hotel Warteck
#3 of 25 in Freudenstadt
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
DORMERO Hotel Freudenstadt
DORMERO Hotel Freudenstadt
#25 of 25 in Freudenstadt
71 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Langenwaldsee
Hotel Langenwaldsee
#4 of 25 in Freudenstadt
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Krone Igelsberg
Krone Igelsberg
#6 of 25 in Freudenstadt
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#10 of 25 in Freudenstadt
53 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Gruner Wald
Hotel Gruner Wald
#2 of 2 in Lauterbad
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adler Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adler Hotel Restaurant

Address: Forststr. 15-17, 72250, Freudenstadt, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freudenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Freudenstadt
Price Range: $116 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adler Hotel Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adler-- we`ll make you feel at home´is our slogan and our promise.The Hotel is situated right in the middle of Freudenstadt, even then You will stay quiet. We have the hotel car park just behind.-3 min walk to the largest market square in Germany-3 min walk to hundrets of shops and so many cafésAll rooms are equipped with shower, toilet hair dryer, cable-tv, rradio-clock, telephone, free w-lan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Adler Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing