We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly harmless”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Markplatz

Markplatz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Freudenstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mostly harmless”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Apparently Europe's biggest marketplace. Freudenstadts only claim to fame. Water attractions on one side. End of story.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pingwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    117
    37
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice walk in Markplatz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

In our trip to black forest, we tasted the authentic Schwarzbaldtorte, a chocolate cake really delicious. The place is calm, and paceful, and an attraction is the corner church. Really nice and really typical black forest.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jator-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathrow, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful town square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lots of shops to explore in the town square. Most shops I've ever seen in a small town. Apparently the most in all of Germany. Family friendly area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank timotoole426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“More hype than meat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Big markpklatz, but not many vendors. The stores around it were much more interesting. I don't think there were 20 vendors when we went, but it was a Tuesday, maybe the other market day is bigger.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Troy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quaint market square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We spent the night in a local hotel. The next morning we took a tour of this famous marketplace and found it fantastic. A visit to the church is a must! The first church stone was laid in 1601 (city founded in 1599) and finished around 1608. It began with renaissance influence with gothic touches. Unfortunately, the church was destroyed during WWII. It was rebuilt but the stone sculptures were lost in the rebuild. There are pictures of what it looked like before the destruction though. The shops around the square offer many goods. Many specialties of the region are available. We had some Black Forest cake in the konditorei near the church....sooooooooo good!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Markplatz also viewed

Freudenstadt, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freudenstadt, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freudenstadt, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Markplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing