We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great town”
Review of Hotel Warteck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Warteck
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Freudenstadt
Certificate of Excellence
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great town”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very much enjoyed our visit in Freudenstadt and our stay at the Hotel Warteck. It felt more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. When we arrived, we were helped with getting our bags upstairs (no lift). We had dinner in the restaurant - one of the best meals we had in Germany. We had a corner room with wonderful light from all the windows. Would highly recommend the town and this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    35
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
30
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great hotel a block from the square in Freudenstadt. The rooms are typical German with feather beds. Appointments are very nice with leather chairs. I needed to have some chino pants cleaned, rather than relying on the local cleaners getting them finished in one day on Friday, they offered to launder and iron them

The real PLUS here is the restaurant. One of us had white asparagus with Hollandaise sauce and "bacon" which was Black Forrest smoked ham sliced paper thin along with boiled potatoes. The other had breaded veal with the same side dishes. These were among the best meals we have eaten anywhere in the world. I cannot think of a meal I have had anywhere in the past 70 years that exceeded this for taste, quality, presentation and the pure joy of eating it. Dessert for one of us was lemon sorbet with berries and champagne, and for the other chocolate ice cream over black cherries with Kirschwasser. We are in heaven!

The Wartek is at least a MUST for dining and in our book a must for lodging.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor room. They are away from other guests and noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB9MNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
455 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Lovely small hotel nestled in the town of Freudenstadt. We traveled to Freudenstadt to see the Black Forrest. We were not dissapointed. The hotel is charming with large and comfortable rooms. It is family run and all staff members were friendly and courteous. The hotel is only a couple of minutes from Germany's largest marketplace. If you tire of shopping and dining it is a short 5 minute walk and you are hiking in the forrest. BEAUTIFUL! The highlight of the hotel was actually dining in the Hotel Warteck Restaurant. Chef Glassel is amazing. The quality, freshness, and creativity of the food was unsurpassed. If I have the opportunity to travel in this region of Germany again I would not hesitate to stay at the Hotel Wartek. Only small negative is that the stairs were a little difficult for an elderly member of our party.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKTBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very good small hotel, well located. There is some traffic noise but the quality and size of the rooms more than makes up for this. The service is excellent - very professional, very efficient and friendly, too as you would expect from the best family run hotels. Excellent food. Good wine list - and Riedel glasses to make the most of the wine. Our room was comfortable and we had the luxury of a hotel bathroom with opening windows and natural light. Very good value. A particularly good oil painting by a local artist in the side dinning room and good drawings reminiscent of Lionel Feininger on the stair. Helpful owners carried our cases upstairs on arrival - extended check-out without hesitation or fuss.

Room Tip: Corner room 21 was big and airy and has natural light and opening windows to bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte Adresse
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I have stayed already twice in this hotel and will go back soon.
The owners are very friendly. I asked them if they knew any flat for rent and the next day they gave me the newspaper and looked at it with me (because it was in German abbreviations...) and they even called someone for me !!!
Location is also very good and the restaurant is fantastic. One evening I was a bit sick and the chef suggested the soup which was great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZigZag_On_Earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stumbled upon this hotel while we were wandering around the Black Forest. It was recommended by the TI in the town. The rooms were very clean, neat and functional. Beds were fine. There are stairs so you should be prepared.
The restaurant in the hotel was magnificent. Both the hotel and restaurant are run by the Glassel (check German spelling). Herr Werner Glassel is truly a magnificent chef. His pride in his work shines through with every course. Food was exquisitely cooked and presented. Desserts were also first class. Obviously a favourite with the inhabitants, the friendliness of Frau Glassel and excellent food made a warm nest for us in the unusually cold and miserable rain.
The room was reasonably priced. The meals were on the more expensive side, but well worth it. Without hesitation, we would go back there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chowatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Loved this hotel. Staff could not have been nicer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amf64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freudenstadt hotels
0.2 mi away
Adler Hotel Restaurant
Adler Hotel Restaurant
#6 of 25 in Freudenstadt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Langenwaldsee
Hotel Langenwaldsee
#3 of 25 in Freudenstadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#8 of 25 in Freudenstadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Teuchelwald
Hotel Teuchelwald
#10 of 25 in Freudenstadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Gruner Wald
Hotel Gruner Wald
#1 of 2 in Lauterbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Schwanen
Hotel & Restaurant Schwanen
#14 of 25 in Freudenstadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Warteck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Warteck

Property: Hotel Warteck
Address: Stuttgarter Str. 14, 72250, Freudenstadt, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freudenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Freudenstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Warteck 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freudenstadts charming ambience is set within a refreshing natural scenic location in the northern Black Forest. It is home to several well established companies which welcomes their clients and partners from all over the world. Leisure or Business – You will enjoy your stay in Freudenstadt!Experience the Black Forrest in the Hotel Restaurant WARTECK! WARTECK is the place to be for connoisseurs – centrally located – only 2 minutes away from Germany’s largest market place. The WARTECK offers beautiful designed bedrooms, equipped with facilities expected by today’s travellers, including free WLAN internet access, Sat-TV and everything which eases your business trip and makes your vacation comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Warteck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing