We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Freiburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caritas Tagungszentrum
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Freiburg”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A very good value hotel about 10-15 minutes walk outside Freibug Altstadt. Very reasonable rates, breakfast and wifi included. Bathrooms ensuite. Caritas is a charitable organization and this appears to be a training center so it has a good campus feel as well. Staff are very helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
18
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Only 15 minute walk [uphill] from Old Town. Good training after a night out! Lovely green environment and super view of city from hillside. I understand main building dates from early C20. Our single rooms were small but we had excellent beds, en suite facilities and we were pleased to have no TV. Very good breakfast and nice 'honour' system to pay for late night drinks and food. Staff friendly and helpful.
If you want noisy night life, traffic,boring concrete buildings, late night drunken students etc don't come here! If you want peace and quiet, great views, more than adequate rooms, good breakfasts and very good value then it could be for you! We stayed three nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at this spotlessly clean, comfortable hotel. An excellent location for both discovering the city as well as hiking in the nearby hills. Great breakfast. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

High value for your euro/dollar. The rooms are small, but clean. The breakfast was very nice. Free Internet. And a nice, easy walk to the city center with directions courtesy of the staff. Only downside was that my room was on the top floor and there was no elevator access.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Even though we stayed only a short time, after travelling several days around Europe, it was lovely to arrive at this quite and comfortable place. We didnt have much interaction with the staff, but the ladies at reception were very warm and friendly. We arrived Sunday night after 8pm and stayed until Tuesday, so there werent many people around.

It was a 10 minute walk out from the center of town, but we like that as its quieter with no noise.
The breakfast was great - good selection and better than some other hotels we've stayed in previously. The "pillow bar" was also a hit, being able to choose what type of pillow you wanted. I enjoy places with window shutters that block out the light- so it was a great nights sleep!

They were doing expansion work on one of thier buildings so there was some construction going on, but that was only during the day- working hours. It will be a lovely addition when its completed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I have stayed there only 1 night, but this is what I can say so far:
Positive:
Excellent breakfast. New and nice bathroom. Different pillows to take your favorite one.
Neutral:
Many people praised in the reviews the location of the hotel because of the city view from the top. However I didn't see any view, because in the evening it was dark already and in the morning was a heavy fog. So please consider the time you stay.
Negative
Very small room. The room of very plain style, nothing special.
Very short reception open hours (please check them before you come!)
The hotel is quite far from the train/bus station (3km). It gets especially inconvenient if you have to reach the station couple or more times per day and if you are in a hurry to catch the transport.
4 or so buildings belong to the hotel. My room was in one, and breakfast was in another - not much of pleasure to pass the cold weather in the morning with still wet hair after the shower.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveInLoveVLNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.4 mi away
Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hotels and Resorts
Stadthotel Freiburg Kolping Hote...
#29 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
179 reviews
2.5 mi away
Green City Hotel Vauban
Green City Hotel Vauban
#10 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
116 reviews
3.2 mi away
Gasthaus zum Kreuz
Gasthaus zum Kreuz
#32 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel Freiburg
Central Hotel Freiburg
#15 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
604 reviews
0.6 mi away
Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel
Schwarzwaelder Hof Hotel
#11 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caritas Tagungszentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caritas Tagungszentrum

Property: Caritas Tagungszentrum
Address: Wintererstr. 17-19, 79104 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caritas Tagungszentrum 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caritas Tagungszentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caritas Tagungszentrum Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing