We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic, just right for our 1 night stay”
Review of Hotel Classic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Classic
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean, basic, just right for our 1 night stay”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family of 5 plus our little dog stayed one night during our road trip travels this summer. We needed a place with parking which is provided here. We all stayed in one room which was large with comfortable beds and duvets. The bathroom was large and clean. We had difficulty connecting to the wi-fi and not being able to really communicate with the reception staff made this part of our stay a bit frustrating, but since we were only there one night - it wasn't that big of a deal. If we had been there longer, it would have been a problem for us since we work from the road. The room and hotel don't really have a personality or character to speak of, but this was fine with us as this wasn't what was important for us during this stay. The center of Freiburg is just about a 5 minute drive away and there is plenty of parking located throughout on the street and in parking garages. There looks like there is going to be a tram line that will eventually run by the hotel which is a straight shot into the center and that will be useful for guests of the hotel who don't want to drive their car into town.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaatTheBeehive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    37
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
15
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

First of all, Forget the swimming pool : there is no swimming pool even if that's written on Tripadvisor for the hotel's services. So i had choosen the hôtel for it and the girl at the réception just made as if i did not read good...

Also call to know if the breakfast is offered before going there as it is again noticed on tripadvisor hotel's services because they made us pay for it... So we had to pay something about 128€ (104€ +12x2) instead of 104€.

The room was ok so as the hôtel's name, this hôtel is a suburb classic hôtel.
The inside pictures are as you would see it. Large room and bathroom.
The outside pictures do not show the train Line behind the hôtel or the rental car area just in front of it.
The breakfast is ok even if it could be bigger

Room Tip: Not noisy because the double windows make the room safe and calm
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francois F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a very large room in the annex for our family of 4, and it included a kitchenette. It was bright, quiet, and airy, and a door gave us access to a ground level patio and garden (a great place to enjoy some wine at the end of the day).
Breakfast was delicious, and interesting. As we walked in, we got the idea that breakfast wasn't being served anymore, because almost all the food trays were empty. We were shocked to see a family finishing their breakfast and packing up the food in their bags. The sweet lady working the kitchen / breakfast room motion us to sit down, and immediately started to arrange meats, cheeses, juices, etc, and cooked us soft boiled eggs. Despite the rudeness of those guests, she continued on and took great care of us, it was awesome !
We loved the city and the people of Freiburg! It's true that the hotel is located way from the city center, but don't let that deter you. We drove to town, and it wasn't hard to find parking. The comfort and good service we found at the Classic was way more significant for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyblue25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Pros:
1. good price
2. a big grocery store across the street

Cons:
1. wifi was too slow to do much on the computer
2. far from the city, not very convenient (free parking though)

For the most part, it was very good value for what we paid. It was clean, but didn't have much amenities. The biggest disappointment was that our 4- person room was converted by laying out a sofa - it was comfortable enough, but I wish I knew this when booking the hotel The comforter was nice and fluffy. The hallway did not smell very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serpinb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Pros:
1) The hotel's manager, Christina, is very nice. We arrived at the hotel at 9pm and were starving. She called the restaurant nearby and made us reservation. Great food!
2) Rooms are big, clean and quiet. We stayed in a room with 3 beds, big enough for us.
3) Breakfast is very good as well.
4) Free wi-fi.
Cons:
1) Location: the hotel is far away from the city main station. Taxi rom Freiburg's mainstation to the hotel took almost 20 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaSa0Paul0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. You are a little out of the centre but there is easy access by tram. The tram terminal is a short walk from the hotel. Very good breakfast, lovely room, great service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights (Jan 2012) for a weekend in Freiburg. The hotel was very easy to find (by car) and the staff there were very nice and tried hard with us non-German speakers. The room was perfect - there were 4 of us in one room and there was plenty of room for suitcases etc. Extremely clean and modern with good soundproofing. Beds were excellent with adjustable headrests. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment - we grabbed some bread from the petrol station just in front of the hotel. There is also a large supermarket opposite.To get into the city centre we decided to leave the car at the hotel and to walk 10 minutes to the nearest tram stop (line 2) then a short tram ride into the centre. Nice enough walk along a main road. So it is possible without a car but I suppose if you have a lot of luggage it might be a little far out of town. Only downside might be that the hotel is next to a car dealer and a petrol station so not exactly the most romantic of locations!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmel221105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
2.6 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#9 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,613 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Freiburg - City Centre
Holiday Inn Express - Freiburg -...
#43 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
9 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Loewen
Hotel Loewen
#40 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Green City Hotel Vauban
Green City Hotel Vauban
#11 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
115 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#6 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
894 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bischofslinde
Bischofslinde
#17 of 55 in Freiburg im Breisgau
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Classic

Property: Hotel Classic
Address: Gundelfinger Str. 27b, 79108 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Classic 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Classic Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing