We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Designhotel am Stadtgarten
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
292 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed November 12, 2009

For years and years we stayed in a nice 3 star hotel and this time I decided I want to up grade myself to a pampering 4 star new hotel. I booked 4 nights, I knew the price would be 119 euros per room without breakfast, plus 12 euros for the garage (you can park on the street on your own risk, very small or scarce parking possibilities and you have to run and pay every few hours).

The room was new, modern, very much like the picture. The picture, though, was taken in a much larger room. Our room was tiny. Not enough space to hang clothing for two people, no place for our 2 suitcases. We felt cramped in. When we asked to change the room to a bigger one they wanted an addition of 20 euros per night which would be 139+12 euros for parking = 152 euros or $227 - definitely much too much for this kind of hotel.
No tea and coffee making facilities, and nothing on offer from reception, except a water which you have to pay for. No small refrigirator. A good quality flat screen TV in the room, with mainly German programmes and CNN.

No bath in the room, and no place for our toiletries near the shower. They economize on toiletries by supplying a bottle of all-purpose bodywash/shampoo which is fixed to a wall. You have to squeeze a dose on to your hand to wash or shower.

The Hotel is an easy ten minutes walk from the pedestrian zone.

The stuff at the hotel was correct but not very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    79
    31
    13
    9
See reviews for
18
88
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

The Hotel am Stadtgarten is well situated just outside the ‘old town’ of Freiburg. We have stayed twice at this hotel, not in the main hotel building, but in the apartments directly across from the hotel. Parking in the street is difficult, but the hotel has safe parking under the hotel, and another area just round the block, costing 12 Euros per day. The apartment was clean and spacious, but some small areas in the room required upgrading. The apartment comes with a small kitchen area with a sink and a fridge. The room did not have air conditioning, but there was a balcony with a sliding door to allow the room to be aired, along with a Velux window.

Breakfast is expensive at 14 Euros, but it is worth the experience. Lots of fresh rolls, buns, cooked food, and even a Black Forest gateaux. Breakfast service was excellent.

The reception staff at the hotel are efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silberhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

The hotel is well located for access to old town and it has a very pleasant terrace outside for drinks and food. The breakfast represents good value. We were dissappointed with our room, which was extremely hot and stuffy (even though it was not a warm day in Freiburg). The hotel has no air con and non-existant air circulation in the roon we were in. Additionally the ensuite smelt very bad (again due to lack of air circulation, I think). The room was clean. There was no tea/ coffee or refridgerator in the room and charging for the bottled water seemed rather steep considering the high tempreture of the room. Disappointing as it looked great on the net. It did not represent good value for money (£100/ night).

  • Liked — Outdoor terrace bistro area
  • Disliked — smell in the ensuite
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BristolWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

There are two parts to this hotel. A new four-star 'Design' hotel and a three-star 'Guest House' which is across the street from the hotel. My review is for the Guest House. We stayed in room 34 for two nights over the weekend. Though the building for the guest house is old, they have tried to spiff up the rooms to give them a modern, sleek flare. The carpet was new and the walls were painted a bright yellow with no scuffs or marks. A flat screen TV was mounted on the wall directly across from the bed. The linens were fresh and crisp and the bed comfortable. The bed and other furniture in the room was old, worn, and dated.

The bathroom has not been updated at all and was not very clean. There was crusty stuff in the crack where the sink meets the wall and the shower stall doors had crusty limescale in the corners and one panel had black mould all over it!!

There was some sort of water heater hanging over the toilet with a little sign in German saying that after the first person showers, you have to press a button in order for the water to be heated again for the second person to shower. Any guest who does not speak German wouldn't know to do this! Despite pressing the button after my shower, my husband had cold water at the end of his shower. We then turned the water temperature up on the heater, hoping that we wouldn't have the same problem the next morning but he still ended up with cold water towards the end.

The street was pretty noisy all through the night. Yes, it is a university town and was a weekend so noise is expected but considering the room has no air condiitoning, you have to open the window during the warm weather. Perhaps there are quieter rooms at the back of the hotel.

I also wasn't very happy with the building security. The entrance door to the guest house was always unlocked or left wide open. We came back to the hotel once at almost 1am to find the entrance door wide open.

We thought that all of this was pretty unacceptable for 94Euros per night plus 8Euros for parking and 12.50Euros each for breakfast. So we went to reception and asked for at least free breakfast. But they said that we knew the price of all of things when we booked the room so they couldn't do anything for us. To which my husband replied that we couldn't have possibly known about the mould in the shower when booking!! Still, they wouldn't budge. So, we went off angry and ate breakfast somewhere else. When we got back to the room that night, the mould had been cleaned away. When we went to check out Sunday morning, they told us that because of the mould, they would like to give us two free breakfasts as an apology, which of course we took. Why didn't they do that the previous morning when we complained? They would have spared us the angry feeling and the confrontation! Anyway, the breakfast was really good. I don't know if it was a little bit more because it was Sunday or if the breakfast is like that every morning. There was everything you need to start your day and a very big selection.

Due to our experience, I wouldn't recommend staying at the Guest House. I am sure there are nicer places to stay at in Freiburg for the same money.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty bathroom, indifference of staff, price for value
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2008

We stayed just one night in the guest house. The best thing about it was the price 64 Euros. Had I not been so tired when we arrived late at night, I would have gone back to reception and asked for a room in the new part of the hotel for 30 Euros more--I suspect it would have been worth it. The lobby of the new hotel is really sleek and modern--and since that is all new, I suspect the rooms are sleek and modern too. Staff was nice.

The furnishings and lines of our room were dirty and old (and not quaint old, just dated). The fabric of one of the chairs and a throw pillow were even stained. I think the bed linens were just old and worn more than they were dirty really--so we slept there --but as I said, had I not been so tired, I would have asked for another room. The bathroom was average--but could use some updating, the shower was tiny. We had to laugh when we heard a loud cat fight (not women, 2 cats!) as we were falling asleep. Breakfast was not included in our rate, nor was parking but we paid 12 Euros for their underground garage (they were out of the 8Euro parking lot in front of the hotel --even though I had requested one).

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ChocoholicTimeTrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sourdeval, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2007

The Hotel is newly opened and "funkelnagelneu" as they say in the Black Forest, "brand spanking new", so they are still getting used to running it, and (I think) a bit overstretched. Staff are young, enthusiastic, and very helpful. The hotel seems busy, with a young clientele, though we weren't the only "oldies", and weren't made to feel out of place.

We stayed two nights, one en route to the Italian Lakes, a second night on the way home a week later. Our first room (on the 1st floor) was a little larger than the last, both were well appointed and comfortable. Our second room was on the 4th floor, slightly smaller and with a sloping roof that I hit my head on when getting up from the bed. Double bed soft and with "his" and "hers" separate duvets. No tea and coffee making facilities, and nothing on offer from reception, except a cold drink. No written guidance on anything in the room: fire instructions in German only. A good quality flat screen TV in the room, mainly German programmes but we found CNN on Channel 18.

No bath in either room, but a roomy shower. They economise on toiletries by supplying a bottle of all-purpose bodywash/shampoo which is fixed to a bracket. You have to squeeze a dose on to your hand to wash or shower. On our second visit we had to telephone for towels, as they hadn't supplied any, but they were very apologetic and brought some up at once. The floor seems to be heated from below, as the floor of the shower dried very quickly after use.

Breakfast is served from 0700 until 1100 am, and checkout is at 11.30. This was a very agreeable arrangement. We found the breakfast to be superb (it was included in the price). There is a very wide selection of fruits, juices, yoghurts, cereals, seeds, nuts, plus cooked meats, 'pork medallions', scrambled eggs, tomatoes, radishes, gherkins, with several different types of cheese, a range of breads and rolls, honey and preserves, in fact the selection and presentation was faultless, and the ambience absolutely marvellous. Commonly in hotel breakfast rooms there is a stolid silence as people munch gloomily. At Hotel am Stadtgarten there was a lively buzz of cheerful conversation and laughter, testimony to how relaxed everyone felt, and how well looked-after. There is no restaurant for an evening meal, but the bar is open.

If you travel by car (we did) there is a secure underground garage for a daily charge of Euro 12.

The Hotel is an easy ten minutes walk from the Innenstadt, the shopping high street, the Minster and the usual sights. The Stadtgarten is a few minutes walk, a truly impressive hillside park, well worth stepping over the road to see, and with a mini-gondola to take you up the mountainside to take in the view.

The Hotel deserves high recommendation, and when the early teething troubles are sorted it will be a top-notch budget Hotel worth seeking out.

  • Liked — stylish, modern, food, service
  • Disliked — no tea/coffee facilities, no written guidance on services etc
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pgoble6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
227 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

we stayed there for 2 nights in April 2007, price was 79 Euro/double room incl. breakfast. They are building a new hotel ooposite the street which will be finished end of April 2007. Therefore there was some noise and trouble at the street. Breakfast was different kind of German sausage and cheese, boiled eggs, no warm meal. It's 3 min to the pedestrian zone. Nearly no free parking, hotel parking is 8 Euro. We recommend this hotel for this price.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank kroeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Post Meier KG
Park Hotel Post Meier KG
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#9 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colombi
Hotel Colombi
#3 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Designhotel am Stadtgarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Designhotel am Stadtgarten

Property: Designhotel am Stadtgarten
Address: Karlstr. 12, 79104 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Designhotel am Stadtgarten 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Designhotel am Stadtgarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stadtgarten Hotel
Designhotel Am Stadtgarten Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing