We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Designhotel am Stadtgarten
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I've stayed here regularly over the last 5 years. Its only a 5 minute walk to the "Munster platz" or cathederal square so really close to the city centre. They have a good bar and breakfast area and breakfast is good with croissont, cerials, cold meats, breads, musili fruit, eggs and sausages etc.

Its great in the summer when you can sit outside with some drinks under the umberellas.

They also have an underground parking garage.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main hotel as the rooms are better than in the "guest house" adjasant t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarrieS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 278 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I have been to Freiburg so many times but this is my first stay at this hotel. The reviews on it were pretty good and it's location was convenient which made my decision easy. I was happy that I chose this hotel. The rooms are small but cozy and very comfortable. Comfortable bed and clean tasteful bathroom. The rooms are sound proof so no noise from the street. The staff were so nice and helpful and all of them spoke good English. The lobby is so cozy with fire place at the evenings and always have juice and apples for guests. The hotel serve breakfast with good selection but not very big one. I enjoyed my stay and infancy reserved for my next stay at the end of November.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falsaqri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Everything from check in, wifi, finding our room in the annex building, breakfast and comfort was just right. No hassles and everything worked a treat - just what you want whilst on holiday.

A quick walk towards the forest and you find yourself at a lovely park complete with duck pond and blooming flowers - perfect for afternoon reading! And walk up to the Schlossberg for some magnificent views over the town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Staff were friendly. Hotel was central. I booked a single room but received a double which was comfy, clean and well catered for. The room was in the main hotel but I believe they have apartments opposite also. The wireless internet was free and worked well. I noticed at reception that they offer bicycle hire (€8) and also use of fitness first gym at the end of the road (€10). Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinosaurnothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed one night on business trip. Main hotel was almost full (a good sign) and they gave me a room in their building across the street. Room was quite large, with big shower room. Everything immaculately clean.
WiFi was included, but the signal was weak and tended to drop out. Much better in the main building.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, and were happy to give directions to restaurants in the town (only 10 mins walk away).
Breakfast buffet was quite extensive, with loads of fresh produce, and selection of bread & rolls.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWinster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have been travelling across Germany for 2 weeks and this was by far the most expensive hotel. The reception staff are friendly and speak good English. The rooms are clean, comfortable and wifi works! A great location for the old town. Overall a nice stay but be prepared to pay for extras eg breakfast, parking and internet.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJGNLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel has a very modern lobby and reception. Loved the design of the bar, lounge and breakfast room. Staff was friendly.

I had stayed here some years ago around Christmas and it was nice but some summer comforts are definitely missing.

The rooms are also fine, clean and adequately equipped. BUT there are a few things missing in order for me to call this a comfy hotel: firstly, there is no air-condition and we had a room with evening sun so it was really warm; secondly, there weren't sufficient toiletries for a design hotel (no hand lotion, bar soap, nor hair conditioner), there was no mini-bar or fridge to place cool drinks.

Even though everyone was friendly enough one thing didn't work out. We had asked for some tips for the evening and the receptionist was friendly enough to say she would prepare something for us - but when we returned she wasn't there and no tips were left.

Breakfast cost 13.50 and was worth the price.

However, all in all - this hotel is over priced and there isn't enough luxury for me to call this a real design hotel. As I have stayed at design hotels all over the world - I can truly say this one can hardly compete.

Room Tip: We had room 207 - DONT TAKE THIS ONE IN THE SUMMER - it is too warm and directly above the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristySPEAKUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
368 reviews
2.1 mi away
Green City Hotel Vauban
Green City Hotel Vauban
#10 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
124 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
938 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Designhotel am Stadtgarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Designhotel am Stadtgarten

Address: Karlstr. 12, 79104 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: $113 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Designhotel am Stadtgarten 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Designhotel am Stadtgarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stadtgarten Hotel
Designhotel Am Stadtgarten Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing