We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
Certificate of Excellence
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel. Room was very clean, and the staff was very accommodating. I thoroughly enjoyed breakfast, food was excellent! Minus for this hotel is its location, as the hotel is a little bit far from the old centre of Freiburg. Additionally, rooms at the ground floor are bit noise and window is facing street directly so you don't really have much privacy, especially if you like to wide open window and enjoy the fresh air.

Room Tip: Don't take room at the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SailorNGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    93
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
50
83
12
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aquitaine, France
Level Contributor
451 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Hirschen met my 4 key criteria for a business hotel.
It was clean, had a comfortable bed, had 4 good pillows and a great walk-in shower. Beyond my top-4 criteria it was not expensive for the standard it provides.
Staff were friendly and helpful and restaurant was very good (not expensive and a well earned Michelin bib gourmand) particularly for breakfast. Menu and wine list extensive enough for lots of choice, and I would readily recommend the restaurant for dinner even if you are staying elsewhere.
Hotel is in a quiet part of town but well located for freeway access.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LesH211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurigo, Svizzera
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is 4/5 Km circa outside the downton in a not busy area. That's good for how like to sleep during the night time. The hotel looks nice, and inside is quite new and clean. The service is absolutely friendly and realyl professional. I cannot say anything about them, they have been really good. We rentend a double room to the 3th floor . I found it nice , clean and silent . What I did not liked was just the heating system. Was a bit noisy so at certain time I hade to shut it down . But was not really a problem .
What we really loved was the restaurant, is really good, quality of the food def. high like as well the service. The morning breakfast is on the same level , is wide , you have a big choice and all is fresh , we loved it.

Room Tip: I would not take any room to the ground floor . One side of the hotel has the room front of the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trozzonik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
159 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We received an upgrade for the room when we arrived and had a very spacious room. In general I did like the hotel, unfortunately there where a few things we did not fully like. The Bathroom: Either have a big shower and no bath or have a big bath where one can also stand in for a shower. The tub was a bit to small. The beds are far to hard and for me with 1.96m to short same as the blankets. The breakfast is ok, but I had far better for this kind of quality hotel. The bar prices and restaurant prices, same as room service are really fair and we did enjoy our stay. Hotel personal was friendly and had a smile on their face when talking to them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Clarion Hirschen is a discovery! Excellent location not too far from to the highway. Clean rooms, although not too spacious. And not with our preferred decoration style, but “de gustibus et coloribus non disputandum”. Anyway, it makes you feel in the “Schwarzwald”- mood.
Parking place available, inside and outside.
And the restaurant! Is this Germany? A Michelin bib-gourmand, and worth it! Even better. Excellent three course menu for dinner. Excellent wines. And all affordable.
And the breakfast! Although we are quite frequent-travelers, and although we experienced a lot of buffet breakfasts, the Clarion buffet beats the standards!
You know those warmed up scrambled eggs, to which you need to add a lot of salt and pepper to get some taste in it?. Not so in Clarion! You taste eggs! Same for all other food. Tasteful, fresh, abundant, varied. So even the breakfast in Clarion Hirschen “vaut le voyage”.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozef_of_Antwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel turned out to be a good choice for us as we were travelling by car so good parking facilities and easy access from the main motorways were benefits. The situation in a quiet village outside the city centre is an advantage as Freiberg is very much a green city catering to pedestrians and cyclists and encouraging the use of public transport ( purchase a 24hr tram ticket for 5 persons even if you are a couple).
The hotel rooms are small but well equipped and designed. Breakfast was excellent.
The walk to the tram stop (Paduallee) is an easy 400 metres. We noticed that umbrellas were available had it been raining.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel by any standards is one of the best for the price, very comfortable room, clean and well maintained. The food is excellent whether having breakfast or dinner. Staff always pleased to help. I very good experience in a lovely part of Germany.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
3.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victoria
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#9 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Colombi
Hotel Colombi
#3 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Freiburg
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Fre...
#13 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Hirschen

Property: Clarion Hotel Hirschen
Address: Breisgauer Str. 47, 79110 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#5 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#6 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Hirschen 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and HRS so you can book your Clarion Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Freiburg Im Breisgau
Freiburg Im Breisgau Clarion
Clarion Hotel Hirschen Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing