We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel by any standards is one of the best for the price, very comfortable room, clean and well maintained. The food is excellent whether having breakfast or dinner. Staff always pleased to help. I very good experience in a lovely part of Germany.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 251 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice big room. Very cofortable bed. Very clean.Nice decoration of the room. Big nice bathroom. Excelent breakfast with big choice. Stuff very polite and tries to help in everything. The hotel has a very pleasent atmosphere. Very convenient for tours with a car in the the Black Forest, Basel and Strasburg. Room's view to other houses.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menashebarnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Nice hotel, good (but pricy) breakfast, Unexpected charge for parking, polite staff and reasonably well located. Would recommend but not wholeheartedly. It lacked charm and personality but if these things don't matter too much, it would be a good hotel to stop over in.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Dan_m_chest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We used this as a base to visit Freiburg (very quaint town) and the Black Forest. The hotel is a bit outside the town, but is close to a tram line which takes you to the town centre in 12 minutes. Leave the car at the hotel! The rooms are very nice and of a good size, and well equipped. This is the only hotel in Freiburg with an outdoor swimming pool. This is a good size pool in a quiet garden, ideal to pass a warm summer afternoon between sightseeing trips.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiskers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We only wanted a place to stay the night after a longish drive, but we got a lot more than we bargained for: a huge, irregularly shaped, very original bedroom with an excellently appointed bathroom; spectacular views in the morning from the breakfast room and a mind-blowing, all-you-can-eat German breakfast. The staff was kind and professional and the bill wasn't at all dear given the class of the hotel. Very recommendable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank opossumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Good hotel. Good Staff. I was there for business meeting and I have to say my company was very well catered for, we were a large group and I never felt we got a reduced service. Very nice rooms and a very nice setting with a terrace and pool.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back get full sun for most of the morning, however there are full stutter/blinds fitted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRMacLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at the Hirschen for one night on our recent trip through southern Germany. We found the experience quite pleasant - the room wasn't all that large, but we learnt that while travelling through the Black Forest hotel rooms in more modern hotels were small and the rooms in guesthouses were much bigger.

We did find the room stuffy and hot and the a/c didn't appear to do much of a job, but once the window was opened it wasn't too bad. But then again this was our experience for the whole trip. The hotel itself is out of the main area of Freiburg, but I believe a quick trip into the city via the tram - we drove in the next morning to visit the sights. We didn't eat at the hotel, but probably should have. Instead we walked about 1km to where there were a few restaurants - ended up in a just ok greek place.

The bed was comfortable and the shower good. The only complaint I probably have is that we left something behind in the room and getting the hotel to respond to our emails about retrieving this item was a little tiresome and long-winded. Suffice to say in the end we got our item back, but we drove back through to pick it up as we didn't trust that it would be posted as just trying to ascertain they had the item was tricky enough.

Okay - not sure I would stay there again to be honest.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
3.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
637 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Freiburg
Dorint Resort An den Thermen Fre...
#18 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
299 reviews
2.3 mi away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
391 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Best Western Premier Hotel Victo...
#4 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
372 reviews
3.1 mi away
Green City Hotel Vauban
Green City Hotel Vauban
#10 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Hirschen

Address: Breisgauer Str. 47, 79110 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#5 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#6 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range: $104 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Hirschen 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Freiburg Im Breisgau
Freiburg Im Breisgau Clarion
Clarion Hotel Hirschen Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing