We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over 100 Menu Items Should Have Been Our First Clue”

Ristorante Pizzeria Milano
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Over 100 Menu Items Should Have Been Our First Clue”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This "Italian" restaurant has a very comfortable, with a nice airy atmosphere. The food was a big disappointment. I had pizza...was thin crust and when first serve had a very satisfying crunch...but within 5 minutes it became a soggy mess. My son was hungry and ordered three types of pasta....they were tasteless and congealed....was awful....nothing Italian here! We should have been suspicious when the menu came and there were over 100 menu items. How can anyone in the kitchen make that many dishes well? To top it off the waiter serving us seemed to ignore us and wasn't very attentive. And it wasn't that we were unpleasant, $60 euros for the 2 of us!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nkrannitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    38
    21
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice people/good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has everything from good food to a good location.first of all you have a lot of choices and the problem is that there is no English menu but don't be wrong there are pictures.The food is great!
The service is great and with an Italian atmosphere you can't miss.
You should go to this restaurant when your in Freiburg.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aviv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mollkirch, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would probably last two days if this were in Italy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Depending on who serves you, you might get a warm welcome or one where the waiter stares at the horizon while addressing you.
Opening the menu, you are confronted with a huge choice, always a bad sign, and the meal images don't make it more appetizing, but rather give it a cheap fast-food feel. The small superscript numbers next to some dishes indicate the presence of food additives. If you're passionate about cooking at home, you certainly don't want to go out to spend money on something that came out of a jar, tube, or tin.
We choose from the suggestions, primarily to increase our chances of getting something fresh and actually loved and endorsed by the chef. We got a dry overcooked Tagliata beef, with lots of fat, and rucola that appeared to have been on life-support for a while, probably at the bottom of a plastic bag, to finally die in agony on our plate, along with the love it should have been served with. The vegetarian lasagna had an interesting sauce. Little more can be said.
From the terrace you face the wall of a department store, but if you're into people spotting, the street will do. Enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Domus_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I ate here whilst sightseeing in Freiburg. The food was delicious and was served quickly. It's great value for money too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BriWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collonges-sous-Saleve, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“In the past it was better, slow service and prices goes p to mchuu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The lamb cotelettes very excellent, the pizzas had too much chess and was too heavy. Italian pizza is different, I counsel to est some thing different that pizzas, my neighbours had the same objections

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ralf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Milano also viewed

Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing